Does a 2nd PC provoke an AoO from an NPC while grappled with a different PC?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Situation:

We have a PC grappled with an NPC and currently has the NPC pinned and handcuffed. A 2nd PC attacks the NPC with a ranged weapon at melee range.

Questions:

1) Is the NPC considered helpless or, since the NPC's feet / remainder of body is not bound, the NPC is not helpless.

2) Assuming the NPC is not helpless, a 2nd PC (not grappled with the NPC) shoots a gun from 5ft point blank range using a called shot to the NPC's head. Does the NPC get an AOO for the the 2nd PC using a ranged weapon in melee range?

3) Should the standard -5 penalty to attack role for called shot to the head still be applied seeing that the NPC is grappled + pinned + shackled?

4)If the NPC does get an AOO in the above scenario, can she attack/ cast a spell or can she only attempt to escape the grapple? (Please include any other factors/ options I may be leaving out here)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
TheBlackSwordsman wrote:
We have a PC grappled with an NPC and currently has the NPC pinned and handcuffed. A 2nd PC attacks the NPC with a ranged weapon at melee range.

"Handcuffed" seems like the NPC has the Helpless Condition, not the Grappled Condition. Unarmed Strikes can be made with a variety of body parts, not just hands. But I'm inclined to think the whole point of Manacles is to give your opponent the Helpless Condition due to being Bound. If the GM said otherwise, I'd just Tie Up my victim with Rope as well.

You are saying the NPC is Pinned in addition to being Handcuffed, so

TheBlackSwordsman wrote:
Does the NPC get an AOO for the the 2nd PC using a ranged weapon in melee range?

The NPC does not get any Attacks of Opportunity. When you are Grappled, you can't make Attacks of Opportunity. Pinned is a more severe form of Grappled, and this NPC is Pinned and handcuffed!

TheBlackSwordsman wrote:
Should the standard -5 penalty to attack role for called shot to the head still be applied seeing that the NPC is grappled + pinned + shackled?

I think the GM should use the Coup de Grace game mechanic: a Full Round Action; automatic critical, sneak attack damage applies, and the victim must make a Fort Save or die if he doesn't die from the Damage.

TheBlackSwordsman wrote:
can she attack/ cast a spell or can she only attempt to escape the grapple?

She can cast a spell that has no somatic components while Pinned. She has to make a Concentration Check.

Casting Spells while Pinned: wrote:
The only spells which can be cast while grappling or pinned are those without somatic components and whose material components (if any) you have in hand. Even so, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + the grappler’s CMB + the level of the spell you’re casting) or lose the spell.

Pinned and Handcuffed really seems like bound and therefore Helpless to me, and should not be able to cast a spell. If she is bound, she can easily also be bound and gagged, so unable to cast spells that have either somatic or verbal components.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Awesome. Thank you for the response Scott.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does a 2nd PC provoke an AoO from an NPC while grappled with a different PC? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.