Playing weapon, spells, and ally cards


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

201 to 250 of 268 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

I have read the Wrath of the righteous rule book and it is surprisingly easier to understand than the core set but I am going to make a house rule to include hero points.


I noticed that in Wrath you only pick one scenario based on the amount of characters instead of 3 or 5 locations.


I was wrong------of course you start with one scenario--you pick locations based on how many characters are in your party.


When I have my decks set with what they should start with can I trade cards before the game even though I may end up with 6 weapons rather than 4 which was supposed to be that characters limit?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

No


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
When I have my decks set with what they should start with can I trade cards before the game even though I may end up with 6 weapons rather than 4 which was supposed to be that characters limit?

You can trade cards, but you still have to start the scenario with the right number of each kind of card for each character.

(You can give away cards during the scenario without concern to card types, though. You'll just have to reset your decks at the end of the scenario.)


So during the game my barbarian can give 4 spells to my arcanist and the arcanist can give my barbarian 4 weapons to use for the game(but at the end of the game I have to make sure that both of those characters have the specified amount that they start a brand new game with! Am I right?


What if my barbarian needs a weapon and my sorcerer has a sword? Can the barbarian take the card and reveal it to attack? If so won't the barbarian have too many cards in his hand? Or does he discard a card to make room for the card being "LENT" to him??


You have to start the game with the correct set of cards (when the first player starts his first turn).

Each turn, the character whose turn it is can give ONE card from their hand to a LOCAL character (that adds it to his hand).
So indeed slowly and progressively during the scenario you can end up swapping several cards. But note that you must have the cards to give in your hand at the correct time so it's not like if you could search your deck to make a trade.

You can also give cards using specific powers that allow you to (e. g. using the Merchant ally).

Anyway at the end of the scenario, during the rebuild you deck phase, you neeed to get back to a correct game for your next game.


Yeah but when the card is given does the receiving character have to pitch a card to keep his deck up to it's amount(say 4 cards is your hand and I give you a card-------------do you have to discard to take the offered card?


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
Yeah but when the card is given does the receiving character have to pitch a card to keep his deck up to it's amount(say 4 cards is your hand and I give you a card-------------do you have to discard to take the offered card?

No when you receive a card during the "give a card" step of anither character, you do not have to do anything. GOLDEN RULE: Never assume you can or have to do something if it's not written in the rules. If it's not in the rule you don't have to do and you cannot do even if you wanted to.

This said, since the last thing you did was to replenish your hand at the end of your last turn, unless you already played some cards during another character's turn since ten, you now have more card in your hand than your hand size.

By the time you get to the end of your next turn, you will have had many opportunities (before or during your next turn) to remove cards from your hand (by discarding/recharging/displaying/giving a card...

But in the evnt that you reach the end of your next turn (the reset your hand step) will still more cards in your hand than your hand size, well you will have to discard cards from your hand to get back to your regular had size (this can also be the case even if no one gave you a card, but just because you added more cards in your hand than you removed since your last turn - e. g. you acquired boons).

When you end the scenario, you usually (because you acquired some boons) have more cards of each types than you should and have to get rid of some to rebuild deck. The fact that those cards come from you acquiring them or drawing them because you were asked to or because they were given to you by another character makes no differnce. Cards have no memory.

Now of course, it can be polite to let go of the card you were given during the scenario to allow the previous owner to take it back; but by rule you do not have to.


Thanks so much. That makes a lot of sense-----it IS possible to have 8 cards in a hand meant to be 4 IF it happens during play am I right? You just need to get it all together at the end of that scenario and build your deck back to accurate according to that character!!


One more thing----If Judy is playing Enora and I am playing Valeros and I need to make a combat check but have no decent weapon card in my hand she can lend me a greatsword and I can use it and give it back?


Oh, can you bless a dexterity check to attack a monster(or does the card need to have DEXTERITY on it)?


Does getting a cohort mean you have to discard a card?


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
Does getting a cohort mean you have to discard a card?

Do any rules or cards say that you need to discard a card?


Can I use a mythic charge(I am playing wrath of righteous) to check off a new feat?


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
Can I use a mythic charge(I am playing wrath of righteous) to check off a new feat?

Do any rules or cards say that you can use a mythic charge to check off a new feat?


Ignore all the above questions:I HAVE FIGURED THEM OUT MYSELF!! WHOOPEE!


I can't find in the WRATH rule book where using blessings to add a die roll. But it's on the cards.


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
Thanks so much. That makes a lot of sense-----it IS possible to have 8 cards in a hand meant to be 4 IF it happens during play am I right? You just need to get it all together at the end of that scenario and build your deck back to accurate according to that character!!

Possible, though unlikely - remember that you must reset your hand at the end of each of your turns, which includes discarding down to your hand size as well as drawing up. (Actually, you can discard any cards you don't want as well prior to drawing.)

But because you don't rebuild your deck until the end of the scenario, it's perfectly feasible to add five or ten cards to a fifteen-card deck - I've played characters (Cogsnap) that consistently nearly double their deck size.

(By the way, since I don't think anyone explicitly said it here, prior to rebuilding your deck you re-collect your cards by processing displayed boons and recovery, then gathering up your hand, discards, and bury pile and adding them to your deck. So everything that wasn't banished or given to another character should return to you.)


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
I can't find in the WRATH rule book where using blessings to add a die roll. But it's on the cards.

When blessings say "add a die", that means the same thing as "bless" in Core: add one die of the primary skill you're using.

It does not mean reroll. (Unless the particular blessing you're looking at actually says reroll, of course.)

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
Wrath of the Righteous rulebook, p19 wrote:
Assemble Your Dice. The skill you’re using and the cards you played determine the number and type of dice you roll. For example, if you’re attempting a check using your Strength skill, and your Strength die is d10, you’ll roll 1d10. If another player played a blessing to add a die to your check, you would roll 2d10.


Thank you for all your feedback. I had thought that we had to keep our decks at fifteen at ALL TIMES.

Well you sure helped me out ------now I know I don't have to keep discarding to keep my deck at fifteen.

And at the end we all reset our decks!!


QUESTION: I bought the add-on deck for WRATH so I could play ADOWYN (who is already my favorite character) but I won't have it for a couple of days.

Why are their 110 new cards for the 4 new characters?? Are there more cards that benefit the 4 characters?


I also bought 28MM FIGURES to put on locations----I have Adowyn and her wolf, Seelah the paladin, Kyra the cleric and Enora the arcanist.

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:

QUESTION: I bought the add-on deck for WRATH so I could play ADOWYN (who is already my favorite character) but I won't have it for a couple of days.

Why are their 110 new cards for the 4 new characters?? Are there more cards that benefit the 4 characters?

Some cards may be included specifically for the new characters. But the main reason for the character add-on decks is to increase the number of characters that can play simultaneously from four (the maximum using just the base set) to six.

(This is explained in the Wrath of the Righteous rulebook, on page 6, under the heading "Card Sets")


Thanks John


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
One more thing----If Judy is playing Enora and I am playing Valeros and I need to make a combat check but have no decent weapon card in my hand she can lend me a greatsword and I can use it and give it back?

It is very very unlikely that she can give you a weapon once you know that you have a combat check to do. First of all, if Valeros has a combat check to do, you are definitively not during the "give a card" step of Enora's turn.

Then during a check (see p. 11 of rulebook), you can only play cards that affect the check. Playing a card the Merchant Ally (to give a weapon) doesn't affect the check (the weapon would, but when you give you do not play the weapon, you play the Ally, which you cannot do because the Ally itself doesn't affect the check).

In fact if at some point Valeros doesn't have a weapon and knows that he will have a combat check to do (because for example you know the next card you will encounter due to some "examination" previously done), the best way to handle it is:
- If you know that you still have a lot of weapons in Valeros' deck, skip the rest of Valeros' turn, discard a number of card at the end of Valeros' turn when resetting his hand. You have a pretty good chance he will draw a weapon for the next turn.
- If you are short on weapons in his deck or if the remaining deck is too small to afford drawing vcards (and risking death), then move to Enora's location and skip the rest of Valeros' turn. At the beginning of Enora's turn, during her give a card step, she gives one.

And if you are short on time on the hourglass and cannot afford any of these previous ideas, just fight without weapons. Losing a fight isn't that bad most of the time.


I thought if you drew a monster or villain or henchmen you had to fight(didn't realize he could skip a turn)


I didn't mean skip I meant I didn't know that Valeros could ditch one location to go to another to evade a battle.


On page 8 of the WRATH book it says if you explore and encounter a bane you have to try to defeat it


You do need to try to defeat a bane that you encounter, you can't just "skip" it. What Frencois was referring to was that if at the start of Valeros' turn you don't have any weapons in hand, then maybe you shouldn't be exploring at all. Skip your turn, discard some stuff you don't need to clear hand space, and then draw some more cards in hopes of drawing a weapon into hand. If that fails, Enora can give you a weapon at the start of her turn (if you started at the same location).

Basically, if you want to be ready for battle make sure you're ready for battle before you "kick down the door", or just don't explore. It requires some real time strategic decision making to figure out what the best way is to spend your turn. Don't kick in the door, find a monster on the other side and then say "Oh shoot, I left my sword in my other belt!"


Oh that makes sense. I am so used to drawing a location card I forgot I could choose not to do anything(skip my turn).

Question: If Valeros is down to his 4 card limit in his hand and have nothing left in his draw pile he can just skip his turn? That is awesome. Thanks for telling me!


I am playing 4 heroes solo. But I make the game easier--instead of 6 locations I am playing 1 location per character. So I will play 4 locations per game.


FOXOFTHEASTERISK-----How do you get more cards in your deck than fifteen?

When you pick up a new card you don't have to discard a card to make it up for your hand size?


If you skip your turn do you flip an hourglass card?


I like that there are no Proxies in WRATH. It always confused me!


Do you guys think I should play more fair and play 6 locations like the rules say? Or make it easier by limiting the locations? Do you think that is cheating?


I think I will try playing all 6 locations. If it is too difficult I will change things.


IMPORTANT QUESTION: Can a cleric heal a character or get rid of a barrier from a different location?

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
IMPORTANT QUESTION: Can a cleric heal a character or get rid of a barrier from a different location?

What power are you using to heal the character or to banish the barrier?

What does that power say it does?


I mean if the card says "recharge to heal another character from any scourge".


I notice that nowhere in the adventures, scenarios or location does it tell you to put a check mark in a box for a feat. Where do my characters get feats in WRATH?

This is IMPORTANT because I need feats and I need to know how to get them


Never mind-I looked it up---------cards will tell you when to gain a feat. Thanks for all your help!

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber
JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
I mean if the card says "recharge to heal another character from any scourge".

There is no card that says that.

No card from Wrath of the Righteous will mention scourges, as scourges first appeared in the Mummy's Mask Adventure Path.

No card from the Core set will say that, because "Heal" is a very specific game term (explained on page 9 of the Core rulebook) that means to shuffle one or more randomly-chosen cards from your discard pile into your deck.

The card that comes closest is the Staff of Minor Healing, which says:
"Recharge to heal a local character a card".

That doesn't mention scourges at all (and specifically limits its effect to local characters).
The way to get rid of a scourge is generally called out on the scourge card itself, although there are some cards that have a power to remove a scourge.


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
If you skip your turn do you flip an hourglass card?

You CANNOT skip your turn, let alone skipping flipping the hourglass.

Whatever you decide no to dot, you MUST go through all mandatory steps in your turn.
For example, if a power in the scenario or at the location you are at says "at the start of your turn, discard a card" or "at the end of your turn, bury your hand", you HAVE to do it. Skipping turns would be WAYYYYY too easy.
Nice try.

Altogether out of the 200 questions you asked, I guess 90% comes from the fact that you are wondering about things that aren't in the rules. If it says NOWHERE that you can do something (e. g. skipping your turn), you just cannot. You can use that answer for the vast majority of your questions starting by "can you...."


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
I thought if you drew a monster or villain or henchmen you had to fight(didn't realize he could skip a turn)

Sorry if I wasn't clear. If Valeros somehow already knows what is coming (e. g. someone examined - not explored - the top card of his location before) then he can decide not to explore and directly end his turn (going through all the end of turn steps) and way unitl his next turn (when he would have received the weapon to explore.

However once you encountered the card, you cannot skip it unless you use an "evade" power (which by default Valeros doesn't have).

So if Valeros do explore without a weapon or other cards having a "for your combat check" power (though guy) and encounters a monster with a combat check to defeat, he has to fight it using only his Strength or Melee skill. He will certainly use Melee. He can (as well as other characters) can still play cards to help, but other characters cannot play "for YOUR combat check powers".

Note that Enora could use a weapon to help since Valeros did not you one, but only if that weapon has a power for that. Example a Dagger has two different powers saying : "1) For your combat check, reveal to use Strength, Dexterity, Melee, Ranged, or Stealth + 1d4.
2) On a local combat check, freely recharge to add 1d4".
So Enora could had 1d4 to Valeros check using the second power (if she is on the same location) but not her own Dexterity+1d4 since the first power can only be used on HER combat checks.

Hope that helps.


If I encounter the main henchman or villain and defeat it do I still shuffle him back into the locations to hide yet again?


Does a cohort in your hand count as part of your hand size? So if you hand size is 4 and you pick up your cohort and want to keep him? Do I discard a card to let the cohort into my hand?

201 to 250 of 268 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Playing weapon, spells, and ally cards All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.