Playing weapon, spells, and ally cards


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 100 of 267 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Exactly that. This is a rule sometimes new player miss: you die only in three cases:

- you need to draw a card from your deck and there is none (see below).
- a card tells you "if.... you die." (very rare)
- the scenario tells you "if... you die." (very very rare)

Now a common mistake is to think that when your deck is empty you get to reshuffle your discard to create a new deck. Nope. Actually the cards remaining in your deck somehow represent your Hit Points left. The only way to get some more are:
- if playing a power clearly allows you to reload or recharge or heal(=reshuffle in your deck) some cards
- if a power tells you to "heal" some cards (= reshuffle them in your deck)


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Frencois wrote:
- you need to draw a card from your deck and there is none (see below).

Not quite right. You die if you need to do anything with your deck and there aren't enough cards left to do that thing. All of the following will also kill you:

  • A power that tells you to discard the top 2 cards of your deck, but you only have 0 or 1 cards in deck.
  • A power that tells you to recharge the top card of your deck, but your deck is empty.
  • A power that tells you to examine the top 3 cards of your deck, but your deck has less than 3 cards in it.


Not sure it will help, but here's a list of easily missed rules:

Click here.

Good luck!


I died playing six locations so I took the liberty of trying again using 3 locations!! That isn't cheating--------I am still a novice


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:

I died playing six locations so I took the liberty of trying again using 3 locations!! That isn't cheating--------I am still a novice

How many characters are you using? If you've only got one character playing, then 3 locations is usually the correct answer (occasionally 2). The scenario setup will tell you which locations to use depending on how many characters are in your party, usually you use 6 locations only if you've got a party of 4 different characters.


I was going to play 3 characters to 3 location(after I lost on 6 locations with 2 charaxcters.


Is one paladin, one fighter and one sorcerer too much for 3 locations? If so how may for 3 characters?


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
Is one paladin, one fighter and one sorcerer too much for 3 locations? If so how may for 3 characters?

If you look in the scenario book, it will tell you for each scenario how many locations (and which ones) you should use, based on the number of players.

So it'll have a table that shows something like this:
LOCATIONS
1 Boat
1 Fishery
1 Reading Room
2 Alley
3 Docks
4 Office
5 Storehouse
6 Spider Nest

This shows the number of characters, followed by the name of the location to use. So if you have 1 character, you use the Boat, Fishery, and Reading Room. If you have 2 characters, you use those three plus the Alley. If you have 3 characters, also add the Docks. And so on down the chart.

So for this scenario, if you have 3 characters you'd have 5 locations (Boat, Fishery, Reading Room, Alley, and Docks).


Well thank you I will make changes(I haven't started my game yet)!!


I have played several games but I am getting better and better.


I am playing scenario 1A. There is no villain just a COLLAPSE and 4 monsters. Do I defeat all the monsters or just get through the danger---collapse?


Since there is no villain do I just outmaneuver the barrier?


I am waiting until tomorrow for my next game. If thee is no villain but there is a barrier in it's place what is my goal? Defeat the barrier AND it's 4 henchmen?


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
I am waiting until tomorrow for my next game. If thee is no villain but there is a barrier in it's place what is my goal? Defeat the barrier AND it's 4 henchmen?

If there's no villain then the scenario itself will tell you what your goal is. Look under the text that says "During this Scenario".


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

If there is no villain and the scenario doesn’t include any special rules to win, you win by closing every location


If I kill a henchman I can close the location? And to close I do what? I forget how to officially close a location.

I guess I am asking, how do I close the locations? defeat any one henchmen?


You need to read your notes better, that one's already been answered. ;-)

JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
Sorry but I have another question----how do you close a location? Do you have to kill all the monsters or just the bandit and henchman??

When you defeat a "Closing Henchman" (labeled as such in the scenario setup), you can attempt the "To Close or Guard" text. If you succeed at whatever it asks you to do there, the location is closed. Banish anything that was left in it (unless there's a villain there, then put him back under, banish the rest, and the location stays open).

If you defeat a Villain at a location, the location is automatically closed (banish anything that was left there).
If you empty out the all of the cards in the pile without having closed it already (if you failed your check to close after defeating the henchman, or there was no closing henchman there), then once your explorations are complete for the turn you can attempt the "To Close or Guard" text to close the location.


But Maelwys0 on one location card it says to succeed at an intelligence or craft check. How do I do that(perform a craft check)?


JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
But Maelwys0 on one location card it says to succeed at an intelligence or craft check. How do I do that(perform a craft check)?

Craft is just another skill, like Melee, Disable, and Perception.

If you have the Craft skill, roll it and try to get equal to or higher than the target number.
If you don't have it, you can roll a d4 as untrained Craft, or just make an Intelligence check instead.


Maelws0, I just read in the rules and making a craft check is like making a saving throw in D&D!


You just roll the suggested die and add any special circumstances and if you succeed you are good. If not try it again next turn!!


Sorry for writing while you were writing.A craft check is like a saving throw!!


Now that we are talking D&D I understand better!!


Am I right Maelwys0??????????????


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Every check requires you to roll one or more dice, and add any relevant modifiers. You are trying to get equal to or higher than the difficulty of the check (think of the check's difficulty as its DC). If you succeed, apply the reward for success. If you fail, apply the penalty for failure.

There is no such thing as "trying again" on a check. You may encounter a monster or barrier you failed against again in the future, but it's a separate encounter and remembers nothing about the first encounter for it. It doesn't have "damage" or anything.

You may be required to make checks every turn for being at a certain location, but each of those checks is taken in isolation.

Also, you really need to slow down on your posting. Making 17 million posts in a row only serves to clutter up the thread and make it harder for people to read through it to see what you actually want. Consider what you want to ask, then ask it. If you think of something afterwards, use the "edit" feature to add it to the original post.


Well sorry for posting excessively. I must say that I have learned a HUGE amount since I started asking questions! Thank you------ALL of you!!


Wow I just closed 5 locations and won a game! The next one is 1b(the blood vow). Do I need to defeat all 3 henchmen(closing) and the Kobold sorcerer villain AND the danger(kobold poison dart trap)????????

If not then what do I need to do? Thank you


Do I just close a location if I encounter one of the henchmen, the villain or the kobold dart trap and beat i?

And if I fail it gets shuffled the henchmen back into the location deck, right?

I know how to deal with villains already(not henchmen).


Frencois wrote:

Exactly that. This is a rule sometimes new player miss: you die only in three cases:

- you need to draw a card from your deck and there is none (see below).
- a card tells you "if.... you die." (very rare)
- the scenario tells you "if... you die." (very very rare)

Now a common mistake is to think that when your deck is empty you get to reshuffle your discard to create a new deck. Nope. Actually the cards remaining in your deck somehow represent your Hit Points left. The only way to get some more are:
- if playing a power clearly allows you to reload or recharge or heal(=reshuffle in your deck) some cards
- if a power tells you to "heal" some cards (= reshuffle them in your deck)

Thanks for your help. I am playing a scenario where there are 3 henchmen and a villain and a trap. If I defeat any of these can I close the location?


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Defeating the villain automatically closes the location, and then the villain escapes. If the villain has nowhere to escape to, you win.

Defeating a closing henchman allows you one to attempt to close the location by fulfilling the To Close or To Guard requirement. If you fail, you’ll have to either chase the villain there or empty the location to be able to close it.

Defeating anything else doesn’t let you close, but you may attempt to close an empty location once per turn.


so if I kill the villain but have 3 locations open then I hide him in one of those locations?


Skizzers, I have the Crimson expansion and plan on getting skulls and shackles but right now I am just playing. I am really doing well. I am playing Amiri, Seoni and Valeros at the present in the green dragon book! This is a game like I have never seen!


How do you know when you have encountered a DANGER?


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Read the rules on villains escaping. You count the number of unguarded locations and take that many blessings minus one from the vault. Shuffle those blessings and the villain together, then shuffle one card from that stack into each unguarded location without looking at them.

If you failed to defeat the villain, do the same thing except grab the blessings from the hourglass instead of the vault (aka you just lost a bunch of turns).

You only encounter the danger when an effect tells you to. You’ll probably never face the danger in most scenarios.


Skizzerz, how long have you played this game? Do you think that PAIZO will continue to make more expansions? I have enjoyed playing many games but this is the most awesome. By talking with you I have gone from totally confused to playing rather easily now!~!

You are THE MAN! And everybody else in this community!


When starting a new adventure and have a fighter with 20 cards already from a former game do we still give him 15 cards in addition?


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

There will almost certainly be more expansions in the future, but nothing new has been announced yet. They're taking a break to see how Core/Curse go before announcing any future plans. One of the issues pre-Core was the incredibly fast pace of content releases which overwhelmed some stores with tons of product to stock and made it very confusing for some customers to tell which products they actually needed to play the game vs which were expansions. By taking a slower approach, they can better gauge the market and react accordingly.

When starting a new adventure path (for example, you finished Dragon's Demand and wish to start Curse of the Crimson Throne), you should begin with a brand-new character: no feats, no role card, 15 card deck consisting entirely of level 0 cards. There are rules for carrying over a character from Dragon's Demand and into Curse, but I personally recommend against them. There are literally hundreds of characters, give a different one a try ;)

Within a single Adventure Path, moving scenario to scenario, your deck size is whatever it says on the back of your character card. You can never start a scenario with more cards in your deck than your deck list allows. So, no, you don't add more cards. The only way to get more cards in your deck is to spend hero points on card feats, and you'll have at most 6 of those. So, your max deck size will be 21 cards by the end of your character's career, after having played 16+ scenarios.


I thought you could take the discard pile at the end of an adventure and put it in your deck and use it on the next adventure.


Well that kind of puts a damper on things because I like to keep a character and watch him grow and get more powerful.


I have another question,,,,,,,what if all characters are scourged? I checked the rule book and found nothing.


SKIZZERZ, SORRY FOR ALL MY QUESTIONS. How long does a scourge last? Is the character incapacetated until a special card comes along?


Like almost everything in this game, a scourge lasts exactly as long as it says it lasts.

If a card tells you to remove it, you remove it. If the scourge says something like "when you heal, you can instead remove this scourge" then, when you heal you can remove the scourge. Otherwise, it stays on the character and has an effect on that character.

And regarding the decks, what I said was that at the end of the scenario you get to pick up all of your cards (deck, discard, bury, hand) and combine them into a single pile, that you then use to rebuild your new deck. But you still need to meet the deck guidelines before you start your next scenario (which at Level 1 starts as 15 cards, broken down between card types based on the character card). So if you acquired 2 items, a spell, and a weapon during your first scenario then you'll probably need to remove 2 items, a spell, and a weapon from your deck when you do the rebuild. You can keep the ones you picked up (since they might be better than what you started with), but you still need to remove that number of cards to make space for them. So if your deck has 1 weapon in it, and you started with a Light Crossbow. Then during your first scenario, you manage to acquire a Deathbane Light Crossbow along the way. When you rebuild your deck at the end, you can only pick 1 weapon to start the next scenario in your deck. The Deathbane Light Crossbow is an improvement on the plain non-magical Light Crossbow, so you put the Light Crossbow back in the Vault, and keep the Deathbane in your deck. So your gear will be gradually improving over time as you find better gear, but you can't just keep constantly growing your deck to immense sizes, you need to keep it trimmed down based on your character's card list.


Maelwyso---an a character scourged do anything at all?


I meant CAN a character scourged take any action?


I thought I could pick and choose what I pick for my new deck. Like if I have 5 cards left at the end of an adventure I could pick what I wanted. So you are saying I choose based on what weapons spells and whatever I had on the back of the character card?


I just looked over the scourges---I understand now---like you said---it says so right on the card. Do blessings remove scourges or just HEALS?


I think I understand-----when getting ready for a new game each characters personal deck has to have all the same cards specified on the back of the character card. So if it says 2 weapons then I pick 2 weapons and if it says 3 armor I pick out 3 armor cards and discard whatever is not listed on the back of the character card!


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Exactly what it says on the card. If it says that it can only be removed with a heal, then only powers that heal you work. Nothing else.


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
JOHNATHAN FINFINIS wrote:
I think I understand-----when getting ready for a new game each characters personal deck has to have all the same cards specified on the back of the character card. So if it says 2 weapons then I pick 2 weapons and if it says 3 armor I pick out 3 armor cards and discard whatever is not listed on the back of the character card!

No. You only build a deck from the vault for your very first scenario. After that, your deck is your deck for the life of your character. You can upgrade it via the cards you acquire during the scenario, and then you keep that deck separate from all the other cards when storing it.

In D&D after getting your starting equipment, that’s set in stone and you only get new stuff by looting it or buying it. You don’t get to re-pick your equipment every session. Your deck in PACG works the same way (where “looting and purchasing” in D&D translates to “acquiring cards from a location” in PACG).


So if my character starts with a longsword then in the next game he gets the longsword again?

So I take my discards after I win a scenario I pick whatever is mine(so if the longsword is in the discard pile I take it back)?

51 to 100 of 267 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Playing weapon, spells, and ally cards All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.