Using poison


Rules Discussion

51 to 52 of 52 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Baarogue wrote:
SuperBidi wrote:

You are mixing 2 non-correlated things. Ammunitions can be poisoned even if they are not weapons. There is a rule, which uses some mechanics with some words and then there's the in-game translation.

Like when you say that you Strike with your bow. The rules use the word strike, but in-game you shoot.

It's the same here. When you poison a bow, you obviously poison arrows.
Considering arrows as weapon only modifies the application of the rule, not the in-game actions and description.

That's actually how I read it originally. If that's what you and albadeon are arguing, I'm fine with it, provided one can poison multiple ammunition ahead of time if they choose.

Well, not quite.

I'm arguing that
- a bow is a weapon, whereas an arrow is not (but rather ammunition, a separate item type that is meant to be used as a projectile with a weapon)
- the rules (specifically the rules on injury poison) only mention weapons as the way to apply injury poison. I think this is intended to include other "piercing/slashing" injuring forms of applications, such as via arrow or trap. But as it fails to mention that, it could be read as excluding those. And if it can be read like it, someone will read it like that. Depending on your POV, that would be either an abusive GM who wants to prevent your wonderful ranged poisoner PC from working, or a horribly obnoxious player who wants to keep your traps from doing the amount of harm they are meant to do after he triggered them. Both suck :).
- until the text is clarified, I'm ruling for any table where I'm the GM that that is the RAI and apply it as such, i.e. you can apply poison to arrows/bolts even ahead of time
- using "poison the bow" as a substitute works acceptably in most cases, but needs additional clarification, i.e. one arrow per dose of poison, not continouusly poisoning all arrows shot from the "bow of poison", etc.
- The one case where this does not work is where you obtain bow and arrows as two seperate things, i.e. you get a bow, you "poison the bow", then you move to the next room, you pick up the arrows there and fire at something. Poison damage or not?
- So, really, I'm going to stay with poison being applied to the arrow, even though that is not in itself a weapon.


Baarogue wrote:
That's actually how I read it originally. If that's what you and albadeon are arguing, I'm fine with it, provided one can poison multiple ammunition ahead of time if they choose.

The "ammunitions as weapons" rule allows you to poison multiple arrows ahead of time and use them when you want.

The "ammunition are no weapons" rule allows you to poison a batch of arrows and apply poison on the first hit only.

Honestly, I don't think it changes life. One is higher in resource consumption but stronger in terms of effect.

51 to 52 of 52 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Using poison All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.