Limited telepathy range after extended telepathy feats and psychic booster item


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So if I have a racial Limited telepathy of 30ft with the feat extended telepathy (Pact world p.191) and the Psychic Booster (core book p.227), what will be my telepathy range 120 ft or 90 ft?


I would say 90 feet, under the assumption that the items effect your base telepathy as opposed to stacking.

So, you'd double 30 from the booster, to 60, and then add 30 from the feat, ending up with 90.


I'd assume you apply the feat first and then the booster since the feat is a permanent effect that changes your range.

So they do stack and your range is 120ft.

the Psychic Booster also calls out all telepathy, whereas the feat calls out Limited Telepathy specifically. So my instinct is to apply the specific one first.


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I am inclined to say that multipliers should not multiply each other, so to speak. However, if a difference of 30 feet between the two interpretations makes a huge difference in actual play, I'd be very much surprised.


Extended Telepathy isn't a multiplier though, it's a static addition. It doesn't double your range, it just extends it by 30ft.

I'd also assume you add static bonuses before multipliers as well in cases like this.

And yeah, 30ft. range increase on limited telepthy is rarely gonna matter. And when it does i'd be very surprised if it breaks the game.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Limited telepathy range after extended telepathy feats and psychic booster item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.