Cover provided by creatures


Rules Discussion

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Card Game, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

CRB p447 says "The GM can quickly decide whether your target has cover...or greater cover if the obstruction is extreme."

Also, "If cover is especially light, typically when it's provided by *a* creature (singular), you have lesser (+1)..."

It doesn't state how to adjudicate multiple creatures obstructing your target. Say there are 8 creatures between you and your target (spellcaster perhaps), all in a 5' wide hallway for example.

Players cite it's lesser cover (provided by a creature or (multiple creatures), GM thinks it is all but impossible.

How do you rule?


I mean, it is GM adjudication at this point. If they are in a straight line from where the projectile would travel then it would upgrade to regular cover for sure. At this point you figure the character is shooting from above them so "Greater" cover might be a bit much unless there's large creatures in said line.

GM shouldn't feel guilty for ruling a more punishing penalty if the player is honestly trying something like this and then trying to rules lawyer you.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Card Game, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I agree. I played at a table once, where a player expected to shoot through 4 other players in a 5' wide hallway, and also expected the GM to grant the target only +4 AC cover (1st edition PF). I honesty thought that was ludicrous. I was pleased to see the GM actually "stacked" cover, making it almost impossible.

Imagine having to time a shot between the shifting combat movements of 4 other players just to get a chance to hit your target.

To me that is just difficult to suspend my disbelief. There are other aspects of the game where we suspend our disbelief for the enjoyment of the game, or can easily say "this isn't realism, it's fantasy, a game", but when it comes to taking a ranged attack from behind 4 other players in the way, +4 to AC just doesn't cut it.


The rules as written allow the gm to adjudicate as they need. It was one change that I cheered at reading in the crb, the playtest forced it to be +1 and only +1.

GM fiat as some would say, but that is what differentiates a pnp rpg from a board game in many ways.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Cover provided by creatures All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.