Monster "attack plus grab" mechanics


Rules Discussion


If I'm reading the rules correctly, when a creature has "plus grab" in the damage of its attack the grab is automatic on a successful hit.

The rule quote: "The monster automatically Grabs the target until the end of the monster’s next turn."

I think this means that there is no athletics check to roll vs the target's Fortitude. Am I right?

The creature spent 1 action to do the attack that lists "plus grab". Does it need to spend another action to do the automatic grab?

On it's next turn, if the creature wants to sustain the grab longer, does it simply use the generic grab action (athletics vs fort) or can it use the same "attack plus grab" action?

Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Quote:


Grab [one-action]

Requirements The monster’s last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage entry, or it has a creature grabbed using this action.

Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target until the end of the monster’s next turn. The creature is grabbed by whichever body part the monster attacked with, and that body part can’t be used to Strike creatures until the grab is ended. Using Grab extends the duration of the monster’s Grab until the end of its next turn for all creatures grabbed by it. A grabbed creature can use the Escape action to get out of the grab, and the Grab ends for a grabbed creatures if the monster moves away from it.

So, grabbing is one action after a strike. Maintaining a grab established in this way is one action to maintain on all grabbed creatures. No athletics check is involved.


Im also interested in how this works.

I’ll check bestiary when home.


HammerJack wrote:
Quote:


Grab [one-action]

Requirements The monster’s last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage entry, or it has a creature grabbed using this action.

Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target until the end of the monster’s next turn. The creature is grabbed by whichever body part the monster attacked with, and that body part can’t be used to Strike creatures until the grab is ended. Using Grab extends the duration of the monster’s Grab until the end of its next turn for all creatures grabbed by it. A grabbed creature can use the Escape action to get out of the grab, and the Grab ends for a grabbed creatures if the monster moves away from it.

So, grabbing is one action after a strike. Maintaining a grab established in this way is one action to maintain on all grabbed creatures. No athletics check is involved.

Oh ok. Weird to have the same keyword do different things for players and monsters.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Monster "attack plus grab" mechanics All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.