Does changing grip provoke an attack of opportunity ?


Rules Discussion


I am wielding a katana in one hand and a shield in the other. If I drop my shield as a free action, take an action to change my grip to hold katana in 2 hands, does that count as a "manipulate" action ? I can't seem to find a clear answer. Thank you for any help.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
BonesXIII wrote:
I am wielding a katana in one hand and a shield in the other. If I drop my shield as a free action, take an action to change my grip to hold katana in 2 hands, does that count as a "manipulate" action ? I can't seem to find a clear answer. Thank you for any help.

I recall seeing a table saying that it is an "Interact" action. I don't recall seeing whether or not that action has the "Manipulate" trait.


I recall seeing a table saying that it is an "Interact" action. I don't recall seeing whether or not that action has the "Manipulate" trait.

Yes, that is all that I could find. It gives manipulate as an example in interact, but it is not clear to me, so I was looking to see if there was any more information. Hopefully someone will point out a rule I missed.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
BonesXIII wrote:
I am wielding a katana in one hand and a shield in the other. If I drop my shield as a free action, take an action to change my grip to hold katana in 2 hands, does that count as a "manipulate" action ? I can't seem to find a clear answer. Thank you for any help.

Yes. To change your grip requires an "Interact Action." Interact Action's" have the manipulate trait (see page 470). Traits with the Manipulate trait trigger an AoO (pr page 142).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So does quick draw and hilariously, parry.

Its a good thing that AoOs are less common, because very silly things generate them.


OK, Thx for the replies, I will read those sections again.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You need to strap shields to your arm, so they can't just be dropped with Free action.
The standard rules for detaching shields (in the table for 'changing equipment') states detaching a shield uses interact action.
(that Buckler description mentions strap and other Shields don't, is unhelpful but RAW seemingly assumes all Shields must be detached/unstrapped)

Although it makes sense for Shields to also need Interact action to Strap them ON in addition to "Drawing" it, that is less clear.
(I'm not actually even clear on how long/ how many actions it takes to put on a suit of armor... is that in rules somewhere?)

Changing grip from 2H to 1H is a free action while 1H->2H is an interact to properly wield it with 2H.


This leads me to an interesting scenario. Can you wield a 2H weapon and have a shield "equipped"? Obviously you could not use the Raise a Shield action while wielding a 2H weapon. The rules do state that you can "hold" a 2H weapon in 1H but not wield it.

So if I can "equip" a shield, let's say bigger than a buckler, and wield the Bastard Sword in 2H then I can have the Shield "at the ready" to do something like 2H Strike, 2H Strike, Release Action (Free) to remove 1H, then Raise a Shield.

This would mean that next round I could only use that Bastard Sword in 1H unless I took an action to "change my grip".


No, because you're describing how a Buckler works,
in fact the entire crux of why anybody would ever use Buckler vs normal Shield in first place.
Unlike normal Shields a Buckler doesn't occupy your hand except immediately when Blocking with it.
Normal Shields do block that hand (preventing 2H wielding) until they have been detached/unstrapped with an action.
And it's reasonable to think they also require an extra action to attach them, although that isn't spelled out in RAW.


Buckler specifically states you can hold small non-weapons in hand while using it.


Default Shield Rules
"Your character must be wielding a shield in one hand to make use of it, and it grants its bonus to AC only if they use an action to Raise a Shield."

One hand occupied, even before optional action to Raise Shield to gain AC/Blocking benefit.

Buckler Rules
"You can Raise a Shield with your buckler as long as you have that hand free or are holding a light object that’s not a weapon in that hand."

They didn't state this as clearly as they could have, but for "that hand" (buckler hand) to even have the POSSIBILITY of being free, the Buckler itself must not be occupying the hand like normal ...ONLY occupying it when Raising Shield (which still allows light non-weapons to be held). This probably is Errata candidate to clearly directly state you can treat buckler arm as free hand to wield weapons (except when Raising Shield) or for other tasks.

But whatever Buckler does or doesn't do, doesn't affect that normal Shields DO occupy a hand, preventing 2H weapon from being wielded. So if you are wielding a 2H weapon you are not wielding a normal Shield, and thus cannot Raise it with just 1 action.


Use a gauntlet or Spiked Gauntlet in your buckler hand/arm and you can raise your buckler and have two weapons.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Does changing grip provoke an attack of opportunity ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Discussion