Polymorph any object


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


I have a question for any GM or Developers out there. I have a group of adventures, four in total. All around level 16. One is a wizard, who would like to cast "polymorph any object" on all the party members including herself. This is with permission of the party. They would like to be polymorph into pureblood azlanti. Then they would like to have permanency cast on themselves. I would like to know if this can be done. To me it seems like it can. Based off "polymorph greater" and "polymorph any object". The party is three humans and one half elf. I would like to know if anyone has run across this. Or what others think. Thanks!


Yes and no. Any maybe.

PAO can definitely be cast on any willing target. Depending on how you interpret this passage:

"Unless otherwise noted, polymorph spells cannot be used to change into specific individuals. Although many of the fine details can be controlled, your appearance is always that of a generic member of that creature’s type. Polymorph spells cannot be used to assume the form of a creature with a template or an advanced version of a creature."

...you could argue that Azlanti are advanced humans, but I think that refers to the advancement line in the Bestiary entries, rather than anything that is better. If you would allow elves to be polymorphed into drow (and I would), then this should work too.

OTOH, I would rule that they would need to know a little about the Azlanti (what they looked like at least) before you could polymorph someone into one. After all, the spell is Transmutation not Diviniation.

You cannot make permanent with permanency, but that does not matter because PAO will be naturally premanent on its own (assuming you consider half-elves to be mammals).

All that said, what are they hoping to achieve by doing this? I don't have my books in front of me and cannot find the Azlanti package online, but IIRC the main thing they have going for them is better than normal stat boosts, which PAO will not grant anyway. Unless I am missing something nothing in PAO, Greater Polymorph, or Polymorph changes anything about what ability score mods humanoid forms get, so it all comes back to what Alter Self grants.

It seems to me that all they would gain for their trouble would be a +2 size bonus to Strength and funky purple eyes. Oh and de facto immunity to Balefull Polymorph (but also Enlarge Person).

_
glass.


And depending on how literal the gm took the phrase 'like an "average" member' the gm goes for they might look like a set of not quite quadruplets/brothers or sisters.

Permanency is also not truly permanent (even if PAO was a legal usage) ... you are one Dispel or Disjunction from the Permanency going bye bye.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Polymorph any object All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.