
Minigiant |

Hello everyone
I hope someone can help.
The Misfortune Revelation from the Dual Cursed Oracle Archetype
"Misfortune (Ex): At 1st level, as an immediate action, you can force a creature within 30 feet to reroll any one d20 roll that it has just made before the results of the roll are revealed. The creature must take the result of the reroll, even if it’s worse than the original roll. Once a creature has suffered from your misfortune, it cannot be the target of this revelation again for 1 day."
I have two questions
1) Does it require line of sight?
2) NPCs get a Will save against this?

Ryze Kuja |

1) Does it require line of sight?
There are a lot of Supernatural and Extraordinary abilities that don't require Line of Sight but instead require Line of Effect. However, this ability requires a creature as a target, so I'm going to say yes (but I'm not 100% positive on that). It makes me wonder if this ability could be used vs. an invisible creature, or if the Oracle has been blinded, or if the target has total concealment.
2) NPCs get a Will save against this?
Yes.
Unless otherwise noted, the DC to save against these revelations is equal to 10 + 1/2 the oracle’s level + the oracle’s Charisma modifier.

awbattles |

I have a different question: how are you supposed to know when you should use this ability without metagaming it? Particularly if your DM rolls behind a screen?
You can't. Ideally, you get to see the roll itself, but without any knowledge of the bonuses attached to it. E.g. "The enemy attempts to trip you..." rolls a 19, and you decide THAT is something you want re-rolled, because it's a good roll. If he rolled a 12, that would be a much more difficult call, because it's entirely possible that a 12 is already a miss, and the reroll would give him a chance to succeed instead.
As an alternative, if the GM really doesn't want to share the results of the dice, I feel like it could be reasonable to just say that the enemy gets "disadvantage" (aka, rolls twice and takes the worse option). On the one hand, that's technically a better effect for the player than "takes the second, regardless of what it is", but on the other, it's used blindly; normally you would never use the ability if the enemy rolled a 5 or lower, but with this method it's entirely possible that the first roll is very low and you forced a re-roll unnecessarily.
Some interpret "the results of the roll" to mean the end result (succeeding or not) and some as the actual die number. If your GM is one of the latter...well, that's unfortunate, and almost certainly not RAI since it would make both Fortune and Misfortune virtually worthless, but I've had a GM who ruled things that way.

David knott 242 |

By RAW, you should at least know the number rolled on the d20 if this ability could be used. If the GM is really nice, he would be announcing (for example) the adjusted attack roll against a PC and waiting for the PC to say whether the attack hit or miss. Hopefully, you have trained the other players to look at you before announcing that they were hit.