Items and Possession


Rules Questions


If I were wearing an intelligence +6 headband for 24+ hours and I were to then cast greater possession on a creature, would I lose any benefit from the headband, such as my bonus spells, skill ranks, spell DCs etc when I cast the spell? (making it so i would need to wait 24 hours after the spell ends to regain the benefit of it?)


Yep. "You" are no longer in your original, now-vanished body; you are instead in the body of the creature you possessed. Thus, you do not benefit from any magic items* your original body was wearing.

*or other items, such as the spell component pouch and divine focus my druid/Pathfinder savant totes forgot to drop prior to possessing a boggard barbarian...


if I possess a creature that is also wearing a +6 headband, do I still lose my bonus spells and skill ranks?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber

Possession spell specifically says your mental attributes dont change.


Greedeye wrote:
if I possess a creature that is also wearing a +6 headband, do I still lose my bonus spells and skill ranks?

In this case, I would say you keep the Int score and bonus spells from having that Int score since there is no score change for any appreciable time (it's only an enhancement bonus, but I think it should count as maintaining).

The skills are only granted specifically after 24 hours though, so you would not have access to the skills in the headband on the possessed creature. I suppose a kind GM could allow you to maintain the bonus ranks if the new headband had a skill matching the old one, but that's not how it works as written.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Items and Possession All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.