How many Curse of Poisonings can one character have?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Drelm has no armor cards in hand and encounters a Bonecrusher Wizard (1 damage before you act, 1 damage after you act) at the Hall of Blessed Rebirth (any damage changed to 1 poison damage). If Drelm loses the combat, would he display three Curse of Poisoning cards, or can you only have one of each curse at a time?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

One curse of each.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

While most of the Scourges say that if you have (this Scourge) already displayed you banish the new one, Curse of Poisoning has no such restriction. One character could, if unlucky, have all of the Curses of Poisoning available in the box displayed in front of them.

Note, however, that Poison is just a type of damage like Cold, Force, Combat, and so on. By itself taking a Poison damage and having to discard a card to pay for it doesn't give you a Scourge. Some other game effect would have to do that.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Parody is correct; the answer is “all of them in the box” for that curse, but the situation you describe doesn’t give out any curses. You need to be told to suffer a scourge or explicitly take curse of poisoning in order to gain that card. (If told to suffer a scourge you roll on the scourge table and take the appropriate curse, so that might not be poisoning)

Give the things to keep in mind towards the back of the rulebook another read. Cards do what they say and don’t do what they don’t say. Don’t invent abilities or restrictions that aren’t written down on the card or in the rulebook even if it “makes sense” to have it.

Scarab Sages

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Sorry, I didn't include that we are in Half Dead City which has the rule that any poison damage not reduced by at least one point results in Curse of Poisoning (I am paraphrasing from memory because I don't have the card with me).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ah, gotcha. Then yes, you'd get stuck with three of them (or as many as are available).


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Outch... well I should read the card before ansverings. I was quite sure that all cursed did have the same wording. My bad!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / How many Curse of Poisonings can one character have? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion