
Excaliburproxy |

I was flipping through the wizard again and I just realized that I have no idea how the Spell Combination feat is supposed to work when you are combining spells with different types of/different number of actions.
If I want to caste true strike (1 action verbal component) and longstrider (2 action verbal and somatic) on myself, am I using one, two, or three actions to do that?
If I want to combine true strike (1 action verbal component) and jump (1 action somatic component), what type of action am I using here?
I know level 20 abilities are all kind of silly and don't matter but there should probably be a ruling on this somewhere.
It is also a unclear on how this kind of combined spell handles range if the two spells have different ranges.

Edge93 |
Okay, so the True Strike + Jump one I can't answer for sure, but I'd lump most of this under the "If either spell has further restrictions...you must abide by all of those restrictions" bit.
So for True Strike plus Longstrider I'd say 2 actions because that's the more restrictive.
For True Strike and Jump I'd say it has the Manipulate and Auditory traits, with any problems like AoOs and Deafness issues that arise from either.
For different ranges I'd say use the shortest, again most restrictive.
Could use some clarification for final printing but I think it all works under the umbrella of that clause, thought it is open to other interpretation.

Excaliburproxy |

Okay, so the True Strike + Jump one I can't answer for sure, but I'd lump most of this under the "If either spell has further restrictions...you must abide by all of those restrictions" bit.
So for True Strike plus Longstrider I'd say 2 actions because that's the more restrictive.
For True Strike and Jump I'd say it has the Manipulate and Auditory traits, with any problems like AoOs and Deafness issues that arise from either.
For different ranges I'd say use the shortest, again most restrictive.
Could use some clarification for final printing but I think it all works under the umbrella of that clause, thought it is open to other interpretation.
I believe that you extrapolate too much from that rule especially if your read the rule with its parenthetical example:
"If any spell in the combination has further restrictions (such as targeting only humanoids or only living creatures), you must abide by all restrictions."The parenthetical seems to specifically discuss the types of creatures you can target which is similar to the previous sentence about how you can only target a single creature.
Furthermore, if we indeed say that any given restriction is carried over from each spell then perhaps it makes sense that you must perform ALL actions required by each spell (which I think is also a possible reading of these proceedings if not what I suspect was the initial intent).
The worst or most limiting option is almost always the right answer.
That would be the classic GM ruling:
True Strike + Longstrider would be 3 actions, 2 verbal actions and 1 somatic action.