How does the backpack work?


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


"A backpack can hold up to 4 Bulk worth of items. If you
are carrying or stowing a backpack rather than wearing it
on your back, it has light Bulk instead of negligible."

So if you wear a backpack does that mean that you can essentially carry 4 more bulk with the backpack or is it simply a way to hold things and the bulk in the backpack still counts towards your own bulk total? Either way it should probably be worded better to not be ambiguous.


I think the first line is simply stating its capacity. It doesn't actually reduce your encumbrance. The second line notes there is a 'Tax' of 1 Light for each additional Backpack you carry (as I imagine you can only wear one on your back at a time).


So if a thief steals your sack, it feels a little heavier in their arms than it does on your back.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Because "I stow my Slip (halfling) in the Backpack" is a line every slave-loving chelaxian needs to utter at least once in their lives.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / How does the backpack work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells