Dispel magic vs effects from items


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If I were to cast dispel magic against an magic effect from an item, would the effect be dispelled even though the source is from an item?

For example, I see an enemy using falling extremely slowing. I cast dispel magic against that enemy, naming feather fall as the spell effect I'm trying to dispel. If I make the spell casting check, is the effect dispelled even though the feather fall effect is from a ring of feather falling?


Either the effect is a continuous emanation from the item or is a spell cast by the item.

A continuous emanation might be suppressed for a round (or it might have to be manually reactivated) whereas if the spell is cast by the item it would have to cast it again.

So the effectiveness of the tactic depends on exactly how the effect is produced.

To know, I would need to know what the item that generated the effect is.

That being said, in the case of feather fall it should result in the enemy falling before they can do anything about it, unless they have another feather fall prepared.

Edit: Just realized it's specifically a ring of feather fall.

You wont get the result you want ever.

The ring cast feather fall anytime the wearer falls more than 5 ft.

You could only actually get them to fall by dispelling magic on the ring (suppressing it's magic for at least 1 round) and then also dispelling magic on the active magic spell Feather Fall that was cast on the wear. You have to suppress the ring or else it will just cast again.

Dark Archive

Your explanation is totally on point regarding the Ring of Feather Fall. Thank you.

That being said, Ring of Feather Falling was a bad example. I guess my question needs more clarification....

In order to use the targeted dispel option of Dispel Magic, the caster must name the specific spell to be dispelled.

Will Dispel Magic still work if I name an active spell on the target, even if that spell effect is from an item?


An active spell is an active spell regardless of whether it is cast on the person from their own spell slots or an item. It's still a spell effect on them. You have to beat the caster level of caster (which is why items have Caster Levels).

But you would need to target the ring specifically once, and the Feather Fall spell active on the person.


Claxon wrote:
An active spell is an active spell regardless of whether it is cast on the person from their own spell slots or an item.

I don't know if that's the best ruling. As I remember it, dispel magic suppresses a magic item for 1d4 rounds. That should have a tangible effect, in suppressing whatever the item does.

If effects remain on a creature despite the originating item being suppressed (or indeed not present), we open things like a party passing around a ring of invisibility. Sure, you lose three rounds passing it around, but that still leaves 26 rounds of invisibility for the whole party. I'm sure there are worse examples.

I could be completely wrong here, of course, but it seems to be that it only makes sense for a dispelled magic item to no longer provide the effects its designed to provide.


I agree with Anguish. A ring of invisibility doesn't actually cast invisibility on you, it just turns you invisible. And a ring of feather falling doesn't cast feather fall on you, it just makes you fall slowly. Suppress or remove the item, the effect goes away immediately.

Conversely, you can't target the "spell effect" from a ring of whatever with dispel magic because there isn't one---you must target the item to have any effect. How do you tell that they're falling slowly because of an item and not a spell? Probably a Spellcraft roll.


Anguish wrote:
Claxon wrote:
An active spell is an active spell regardless of whether it is cast on the person from their own spell slots or an item.

I don't know if that's the best ruling. As I remember it, dispel magic suppresses a magic item for 1d4 rounds. That should have a tangible effect, in suppressing whatever the item does.

If effects remain on a creature despite the originating item being suppressed (or indeed not present), we open things like a party passing around a ring of invisibility. Sure, you lose three rounds passing it around, but that still leaves 26 rounds of invisibility for the whole party. I'm sure there are worse examples.

I could be completely wrong here, of course, but it seems to be that it only makes sense for a dispelled magic item to no longer provide the effects its designed to provide.

He's right. The item itself being suppressed has no bearing on the spell getting the same benefits.

Dispelling the item shuts it down for 1d4 rounds. The rules make no exceptions for spells from items. It flat out says ____ happens to spells.


So the question is does the Ring of Feather Fall cast the spell on you on just activate a feather fall effect.

The way I read it, it cast the spell on you.

But I could see interpreting it the other way.

However, if the ring casts the spell on you it would be no different than if the spell were cast from a scroll of wand, or by the person.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dispel magic vs effects from items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions