
Axoq |

This card says, "If undefeated, each character at your location is dealt 1d4−1 Combat damage and does not reset their hand." I don't understand when people don't reset their hand.
If Alain encountered it and failed to defeat it, and Enora is at the location, will Alain not reset his hand at the end of that turn, even if he continues to explore? Will Enora need to remember not to reset her hand when her turn comes? Usually when there's a lingering effect there's a duration explicitly mentioned ("Increase the difficulty of all checks by 1 until the end of the turn").

Brother Tyler |

If undefeated, each character at your location is dealt 1d4−1 Combat damage and does not reset their hand.
A problem I see is that this rule blurs the concept of Cards Don't Have Memories (or something along those lines). If undefeated, the monster is shuffled back into the location deck. After that, lacking other instructions, the character can perform any normally legal actions, so there is nothing stopping the resetting of the hand.
For the "does not reset their hand" instruction to work, the monster either has to remain displayed until the end of the turn (which is problematic) or the character's turn must immediately end. Following the latter (because it makes more sense), perhaps more clear wording would be something like:
If undefeated, each character at your location is dealt 1d4−1 Combat damage, end you turn and no character resets their hand.
(That's the vague instruction pertaining to everybody, on the assumption that there is some intent there that we haven't figured out - perhaps some boons that allows a character to reset their hand out of turn.)
Or a more "normal" version:
If undefeated, each character at your location is dealt 1d4−1 Combat damage, end your turn and do not reset your hand.
Or something like that ...?

Hawkmoon269 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Cards don't have memories, but you do. Some cards have a "Before You Act" power that increases the difficulty of all your checks for the rest of the turn, even once that card is no longer in front of you. It is something they generally try to avoid, and I don't think they ask you to remember anything for more than the duration of the turn, but it does happen.
That said, this card does strike me as a bit odd.

Storn Bladebite |

It just applies to you. Added to FAQ.
So what happens if someone else is encountering it on my turn? Because "I" wouldn't be the "you" at that point.

Hawkmoon269 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

By default, "you" in the power of a bane applies to the character that encountered it.
Powers: These special rules apply when you encounter the bane. If a bane says an effect happens if or when you do a particular thing, it applies to any character who does that thing. If it limits the things you can do, that limit applies to any character who wants to do those things; however, if the limitation is the result of an action such as playing a card or attempting a check, it applies only to the character who took that action.
The first sentence: "These special rules apply when you encounter the bane." It then gives two exceptions where it applies to more than just the encountering character (1)if an effect happens if or when you do a particular thing or (2)if it limits thing you can do.
The Stone Golem's power is neither of those exceptions.
So, if someone else manages to encounter the Stone Golem during your turn, they are the ones that don't reset their hand at the end of your turn. Which is no different than what normally happens. Then you thank that person for encountering that instead of you.
Hypothetically, what if the Stone Golem had two checks to defeat and it was your turn but someone else encountered the Stone Golem but you decided to help by taking one of the checks? Well, the rules tell us that while you attempt one of those checks, you are treated as if you were the character that encountered the card.
Only the character who encounters the card may attempt the check, save for one exception: if a card requires sequential checks, the character who encountered the card must attempt at least one of the checks, but any other checks may each be attempted by any character at the encountering character’s location. While you are attempting a check against such a card that you did not encounter, powers that would apply to the character who encountered it apply to you instead.
But that only applies while you are attempting the check and the power about not resetting your hand is a "if undefeated" power which kicks in during the "resolve the encounter" step, well after you had finished attempting the check. So you are no longer being treated as if you encountered the card at that point. So it still wouldn't apply to you.