GM credit to higher level character


Pathfinder Society

5/5 * Venture-Lieutenant, Spain—Madrid

Hello all,

I have read on Roleplay Guild Guide that you can assign DM credit to a character of lower level than the tier of the scenario you run.

But, can you do the opposite, assign DM credit to a character of higher level than the scenario tier?

For instance assign a 1-5 tier scenario to a 7th level character or a 9-11 scenario to a 16th lever character.

1/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

nope

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Chronicles may only be applied to a character within the Tier of the Adventure.

I don't have the page number but it's in the Guide.

2/5

Nefreet wrote:

Chronicles may only be applied to a character within the Tier of the Adventure.

I don't have the page number but it's in the Guide.

Game Master Rewards, page 17 of the Season 9 guide.

GMs must follow the same rules as players in assigning credit. You can apply credit immediately if the character is in the adventure's tier, or hold it for a character of lower level until they reach that tier.

Neither players nor GMs can ever apply a chronicle to a character who is of higher level than the adventure's tier.

[By the way, it's not explicitly stated on page 17 whether GMs can use the option of applying any chronicle to a 1st-level character (page 7, Applying Credit), but the last paragraph before GM Star Rewards seems to imply that's an option for GMs, because it's available to players. Am I interpreting that correctly?]

Sczarni 5/5 5/55/5 ***

Yep. GMs get the same options as players.

5/5 * Venture-Lieutenant, Spain—Madrid

So, you can assign DM credit from a 3-7 scenario to:
• A 1st level character (reducing gold earned)
• A 2nd level character (waiting until reach 3rd level to apply)con
• A 3rd – 7th level (apply normally, using our of tier amount on 5th level)

Character of 8th level or higher not allowed.

Personally I don´t understand the reason of this , as the character doesn´t gain an advantage, on the contrary, it´s a handicap because she gains less gold than their level dictates.

But rules are rules.

Liberty's Edge 4/5 5/55/55/5 ****

The reason I see is keeping with the concept that the GM is applying the credit as if the GM had played the adventure with the Character. This is why the same character can't have two chronicles from the same adventure. The character physically can't do the adventure two times.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Miguel Madrid del Ama wrote:
...on the contrary, it´s a handicap because she gains less gold than their level dictates.

That's precisely why it isn't allowed. Part of the efforts of the campaign staff is to make sure that PCs continue to proceed up the GP track just as they do the XP track. Letting a high tier character take chronicles with a lower gold cap is just as problematic as letting a low tier character take chronicles with more gold. It throws expectations out of whack, upsetting the balance of PC and scenario, which we all know is delicate to begin with.

Grand Lodge 5/5 Regional Venture-Coordinator, Baltic

Miguel Madrid del Ama wrote:

So, you can assign DM credit from a 3-7 scenario to:

• A 1st level character (reducing gold earned)
• A 1st or 2nd level character (waiting until reach 3rd level to apply)con
• A 3rd – 7th level (apply normally, using our of tier amount on 5th level)

Fixed that for you.

5/5 * Venture-Lieutenant, Spain—Madrid

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
Miguel Madrid del Ama wrote:
...on the contrary, it´s a handicap because she gains less gold than their level dictates.
That's precisely why it isn't allowed. Part of the efforts of the campaign staff is to make sure that PCs continue to proceed up the GP track just as they do the XP track. Letting a high tier character take chronicles with a lower gold cap is just as problematic as letting a low tier character take chronicles with more gold. It throws expectations out of whack, upsetting the balance of PC and scenario, which we all know is delicate to begin with.

But, since there isn´t a rule than obligates a character to spend all his money on useful items, what is the difference between a paladin (or any other LG character) donating part of his money to Big Boss victims (something perfectly legal) or decide to maintain unspent part of a character money (also perfectly legal) and voluntary decides to apply GM credit to a higher lever character earning less money?

"Auke Teninga: You are right. I forgot that option!! :D

Grand Lodge 4/5

Because the player received the gold first. We can't prevent unwise purchases, but we can prevent playing out of tier.

Grand Lodge 4/5

The meaning of tiers would stop making sense if applying lower level chronicles to a high-level character. If it could not be available then, why should it be able to take credit ? In some sense, GMing is "playing".

3/5

Auke Teeninga wrote:
Miguel Madrid del Ama wrote:

So, you can assign DM credit from a 3-7 scenario to:

• A 1st level character (reducing gold earned)
• A 1st or 2nd level character (waiting until reach 3rd level to apply)con
• A 3rd – 7th level (apply normally, using our of tier amount on 5th level)
Fixed that for you.

Question: If your character is 7th level, and you apply your GM credit to the character for a 3-7 scenario...it gets the mid tier/out of tier gold? Not the tier in which the character is?

Can you tell me where that rule is from?

Grand Lodge 4/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

No, you apply normally unless the character is 5th level, then you use the out of tier gold. A 7th level character would get the normal high tier rewards.

3/5

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
No, you apply normally unless the character is 5th level, then you use the out of tier gold. A 7th level character would get the normal high tier rewards.

Oh, I see what he wrote now. I misread it completely. Sorry (and thanks for not being a jerk about it :) )

Grand Lodge 4/5

It took me a second to find the disconnect too. :)

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / GM credit to higher level character All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.