Flame Blade Interactions


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

So, I've looked up a few threads about flame blade, and not found any that directly address some of my questions. I'm looking at playing a Green Scourge archetype druid, with a couple of other archetypes that do cool stuff I want, but mainly this is the focus: How does flame blade work with a few things?

1) Furious Spell Metamagic. As written, I believe that Furious Spell would cause the base Flame Blade spell's damage to increase by 4(x2 Spell Level). However, the Green Scourge's "Nature's Armaments" ability says this:

Nature's Armaments wrote:
When adding weapon special abilities or increasing the enhancement bonus, the final level of the spell expended is 1 higher than the base spell level (2nd for shillelagh and 3rd for flame blade), increased by the additional special abilities’ total base price modifier (see Table 15–9 on page 469 of the Core Rulebook). For example, creating an aberration-bane vicious flame blade requires spending a 5th-level spell slot, which also counts as a 5th-level spell for purposes of dispelling.

It's the "...counts as a 5th-level spell for the purposes of dispelling," that gets me. It seems to indicate that Flame Blade, cast with those improvements using a 5th level spell slot, becomes a 5th level spell. Would it, then, gain a +10 damage bonus from the Furious Spell metamagic? I think so, but I'm not much of a spellcaster, so my rules-fu is a bit rusty.

2) Divine Fighting Technique: Sarenrae's Mercy Does a flame blade count as a Scimitar for the purposes of this feat? According to the spell, you wield it as a scimitar, which means you could, theoretically, deal nonlethal fire/cold/lightning/etc. damage, while healing you once you qualify for the advanced version. Again, given that you wield the flame blade "as a scimitar", I think it should work, but I understand that might not be accurate. Thanks!


1) Furious spell specifies that it adds "twice the spell's original level," while Nature's Armaments specifies that the spell's final level is increased. So I think you're stuck at +4 damage, unless you want to use Heighten Spell on it too. That's still not bad.

2) This is up to your GM, but I would say no. Flame Blade says "You wield this blade-like beam as if it were a scimitar." That's not the same thing as actually being a scimitar.

However, the phrasing is squishy and could be interpreted in other ways. My own take is that this phrase was originally intended to grant the caster proficiency with the weapon, because druids are proficient with scimitars. It would have been clearer if they'd just said something like "You are proficient with this weapon." Since they didn't, there's wiggle room. Ask your GM.

Lastly, you may find the feat Flame Blade Dervish interesting.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

1) I would say no on the Furious Spell metamagic, mostly because the SPELL doesn't deal any damage. It creates a blade and you attack with that blade and the blade deals the damage. The spell itself actually doesn't deal damage.

2) While I agree with you, I've brought up a similar point with our Venture Captain. He was quite adamant that flame blade is a "spell not a weapon" and therefor doesn't qualify for using things that says you can do it with a weapon.

Of course, those two begin to contradict one another. If it's a spell, then furious spell should work on it. If it's a weapon, then Divine Fighting Technique should with it.

It's a stupidly gray area, and while I originally wanted to abuse the s&~~ out of this spell, it's turned me off of every wanting to use/see it.

Scarab Sages

shalandar wrote:
1) I would say no on the Furious Spell metamagic, mostly because the SPELL doesn't deal any damage. It creates a blade and you attack with that blade and the blade deals the damage. The spell itself actually doesn't deal damage.

Everything else you guys have said is understandable, but I don't get this argument. You could equally argue that a Touch Spell (say, Shocking Grasp) doesn't deal damage, it just gives you a touch attack charge that you can expend as a free action when you cast the spell and hit with it, and the charge deals the damage, so Furious Spell wouldn't work with Touch attacks, or an ability like Spellstrike.


The "this spell creates a weapon" argument is part of the toe-tapping that goes into avoiding some really OP exploits. For example, the spell Force Sword creates "a +1 longsword of pure force". If you take that to mean that the spell is dealing force damage, then all of a sudden you have a level 2 spell that creates a weapon that not only deals full damage to incorporeal creatures, but also bypasses all forms of damage reduction including DR/epic, because nothing really protects against force damage. And because it's not a personal range spell, your wizard can hand it to the party fighter who can then power attack the bejeesus out of everything.*

If, however, you interpret that to mean that the sword is made of force but deals damage just because the shape it's in happens to be sharp, then what you have is exactly like any other +1 longsword, and it's a lot more reasonable.

Anyway! If you're playing in PFS all this may be an issue. But if it's for a home game, just sit down with your GM and hash out how it works at your table. Your GM has the final say on weird rules corner cases like this.

* Note: if you are fighting something with DR/epic at level 3, you are in big, big trouble even if your GM allows your force sword to work on it. Just sayin'.


Davor wrote:
shalandar wrote:
1) I would say no on the Furious Spell metamagic, mostly because the SPELL doesn't deal any damage. It creates a blade and you attack with that blade and the blade deals the damage. The spell itself actually doesn't deal damage.
Everything else you guys have said is understandable, but I don't get this argument. You could equally argue that a Touch Spell (say, Shocking Grasp) doesn't deal damage, it just gives you a touch attack charge that you can expend as a free action when you cast the spell and hit with it, and the charge deals the damage, so Furious Spell wouldn't work with Touch attacks, or an ability like Spellstrike.

The difference is the flame blade spell itself. The effect is: sword-like beam. It's quite clear that casting the spell itself does NOT deal damage, it creates a sword-like beam. That is why I say the spell doesn't deal damage, while shocking grasp itself does actually deal damage.


Hey everyone! I'm going to go ahead and disagree with all of you on just about all counts.

1) Sounds right to me. Furious Spell only adds damage once per creature though, regardless of how many times you hit them. +10 damage once per enemy struck is arguably not a good reason to use a higher level slot.

2) You wield it as a scimitar. If you had a magic broken bottle that said you could wield it as a scimitar, would that work?
Either way, you get the 1d6, I'd say you get the 2d6. Nonleathal Flaming Scimitar of Healing is precisely Sarenrae's bag. The precise wording is possibly arguable, but the Fluff lines up and it is not broken.


Tinalles wrote:
The "this spell creates a weapon" argument is part of the toe-tapping that goes into avoiding some really OP exploits. For example, the spell Force Sword ...

It does not say it deals force damage, so it does not. It is a [Force] spell, so it affects incorporeal/ethereal creatures as though they where not either of those things. Saying it is not a damaging spell in no way changes any of this. That is not an exploit.


1) Unsure. Does maximized flame blade cause your attacks to always deal maximal damage? How about smacking enemies with an guitar conjured by maximized summon instrument? The answer is likely the same as those.

2) Definitely. It's treated "as a scimitar", so it works with all scimitar-based abilities.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
shalandar wrote:

1) I would say no on the Furious Spell metamagic, mostly because the SPELL doesn't deal any damage. It creates a blade and you attack with that blade and the blade deals the damage. The spell itself actually doesn't deal damage.

2) While I agree with you, I've brought up a similar point with our Venture Captain. He was quite adamant that flame blade is a "spell not a weapon" and therefor doesn't qualify for using things that says you can do it with a weapon.

Of course, those two begin to contradict one another. If it's a spell, then furious spell should work on it. If it's a weapon, then Divine Fighting Technique should with it.

It's a stupidly gray area, and while I originally wanted to abuse the s!@# out of this spell, it's turned me off of every wanting to use/see it.

About reply n. 2:

FAQ wrote:

Ray: Do rays count as weapons for the purpose of spells and effects that affect weapons?

Yes. (See also this FAQ item for a similar question about rays and weapon feats.)

For example, a bard's inspire courage says it affects "weapon damage rolls," which is worded that way so don't try to add the bonus to a spell like fireball. However, rays are treated as weapons, whether they're from spells, a monster ability, a class ability, or some other source, so the inspire courage bonus applies to ray attack rolls and ray damage rolls.

The same rule applies to weapon-like spells such as flame blade, mage's sword, and spiritual weapon--effects that affect weapons work on these spells.
posted July 2011 | back to top

How far that go is open to debate.

Liberty's Edge

Davor wrote:

So, I've looked up a few threads about flame blade, and not found any that directly address some of my questions. I'm looking at playing a Green Scourge archetype druid, with a couple of other archetypes that do cool stuff I want, but mainly this is the focus: How does flame blade work with a few things?

1) Furious Spell Metamagic. As written, I believe that Furious Spell would cause the base Flame Blade spell's damage to increase by 4(x2 Spell Level). However, the Green Scourge's "Nature's Armaments" ability says this:

Nature's Armaments wrote:
When adding weapon special abilities or increasing the enhancement bonus, the final level of the spell expended is 1 higher than the base spell level (2nd for shillelagh and 3rd for flame blade), increased by the additional special abilities’ total base price modifier (see Table 15–9 on page 469 of the Core Rulebook). For example, creating an aberration-bane vicious flame blade requires spending a 5th-level spell slot, which also counts as a 5th-level spell for purposes of dispelling.

It's the "...counts as a 5th-level spell for the purposes of dispelling," that gets me. It seems to indicate that Flame Blade, cast with those improvements using a 5th level spell slot, becomes a 5th level spell. Would it, then, gain a +10 damage bonus from the Furious Spell metamagic? I think so, but I'm not much of a spellcaster, so my rules-fu is a bit rusty.

With Nature's Armanents You aren't casting a metamagiched spell. You are burning up a spell slot of 2 level to cast a Flame blade spell. You can spend a higher level slot to get extra effects, but none of those include the Furious spell metamagic and the metamagic of the spell in the used slot have no effect.

Let's put it in another way: if I am a druid and have a extended Summon natural ally I memorized in a 2nd level spell slot and use that spell slot to spontaneously casting a Summon natural ally II, that metamagic has any effect? No, I am using the slot to cast a different spell.
What matter is the spell slot used, not the metamagic on the spell in that slot.

With a normal, memorized spell with the metamagic applied, the extra damage will be applied once for each target but you can't use the other special features of nature's armaments.

Note that the spell level of a spell matter only when you are the target of a Greater Dispel Magic spell and you lose the spells starting with the highest level spells first.
Pretty strange specification. I would be more interested in knowing if the flame blade count as a 5th level spell for bypassing effects like Minor globe of invulnerability (RAI, I think it does).


Your spontaneously casting that SNA, so you can follow the metamagic rules for spontaneous casting. The same can be done with natures armaments. It just takes a full round instead of a standard action

Scarab Sages

toastedamphibian wrote:
Your spontaneously casting that SNA, so you can follow the metamagic rules for spontaneous casting. The same can be done with natures armaments. It just takes a full round instead of a standard action

^this

I hadn't thought about the damage from metamagic only being applied once per spell, or to a single target. if that were the case, Furious would either be a total waste (only dealing +4 damage once) or mostly a waste (only +10 once if it works in a strange corner case). That would likely make the feat, and investment into making it essentially free, pointless. Still, it may be worth it to grab Weapon Evoker Mastery. That plus some Deliquescent gloves could help strengthen the Shillelagh side of the archetype.

There's a question: Does Weapon Evoker Mastery work with Flame Blade if I use an archetype ability to give it Frost or Shock, or something like Deliquescent gloves? It is, techically, a "magic weapon", even though it doesn't have an enhancement bonus (though it does if you have Aberrant-Bane on it...).

Liberty's Edge

As the ability say "A green scourge can lose a prepared 1st- or 2nd-level spell in order to cast shillelagh or flame blade, respectively." and "She can instead choose to lose a higher-level spell in order to increase the enhancement bonus of her shillelagh, or to add any of the following weapon special abilities to her shillelagh or flame blade:", I am not convinced that the druid can chose to loose an higher level spell to cast a metamagiched version of shillelag or flame blade.
The text clearly say that you can use a higher level spell only for specific purposes.
The writer could have thought that it can be tacitly understood that you can cast metamagiched versions or that you can't, currently it is a gray area. GM territory.

Liberty's Edge

Davor wrote:
toastedamphibian wrote:
Your spontaneously casting that SNA, so you can follow the metamagic rules for spontaneous casting. The same can be done with natures armaments. It just takes a full round instead of a standard action

^this

I hadn't thought about the damage from metamagic only being applied once per spell, or to a single target. if that were the case, Furious would either be a total waste (only dealing +4 damage once) or mostly a waste (only +10 once if it works in a strange corner case). That would likely make the feat, and investment into making it essentially free, pointless. Still, it may be worth it to grab Weapon Evoker Mastery. That plus some Deliquescent gloves could help strengthen the Shillelagh side of the archetype.

There's a question: Does Weapon Evoker Mastery work with Flame Blade if I use an archetype ability to give it Frost or Shock, or something like Deliquescent gloves? It is, techically, a "magic weapon", even though it doesn't have an enhancement bonus (though it does if you have Aberrant-Bane on it...).

It seem it is primarily meant for area spells.

Scarab Sages

Diego Rossi wrote:

As the ability say "A green scourge can lose a prepared 1st- or 2nd-level spell in order to cast shillelagh or flame blade, respectively." and "She can instead choose to lose a higher-level spell in order to increase the enhancement bonus of her shillelagh, or to add any of the following weapon special abilities to her shillelagh or flame blade:", I am not convinced that the druid can chose to loose an higher level spell to cast a metamagiched version of shillelag or flame blade.

The text clearly say that you can use a higher level spell only for specific purposes.
The writer could have thought that it can be tacitly understood that you can cast metamagiched versions or that you can't, currently it is a gray area. GM territory.

Regardless of the meaning of the text, you are spontaneously casting a spell, and casting a spell spontaneously follows all the normal rules for spontaneous spellcasting. There are lots of little things that I find a bit confusing, but this one seems pretty cut and dry.


Tinalles wrote:

The "this spell creates a weapon" argument is part of the toe-tapping that goes into avoiding some really OP exploits. For example, the spell Force Sword creates "a +1 longsword of pure force". If you take that to mean that the spell is dealing force damage, then all of a sudden you have a level 2 spell that creates a weapon that not only deals full damage to incorporeal creatures, but also bypasses all forms of damage reduction including DR/epic, because nothing really protects against force damage. And because it's not a personal range spell, your wizard can hand it to the party fighter who can then power attack the bejeesus out of everything.*

If, however, you interpret that to mean that the sword is made of force but deals damage just because the shape it's in happens to be sharp, then what you have is exactly like any other +1 longsword, and it's a lot more reasonable.

Anyway! If you're playing in PFS all this may be an issue. But if it's for a home game, just sit down with your GM and hash out how it works at your table. Your GM has the final say on weird rules corner cases like this.

* Note: if you are fighting something with DR/epic at level 3, you are in big, big trouble even if your GM allows your force sword to work on it. Just sayin'.

It is subject to a target's SR on the 1st strike, so regardless of interpretation, it does have some limits.


I think most people are saying:

Home game: Talk to your GM.

PFS: Then expect a different interpretation for each GM you play with. I would highly recommend talking to the GM ahead of time on what you plan on doing with the character. And then be prepared to not be able to do what you wanted/had done previously with the character.


Nature's Armaments wrote:
This ability alters spontaneous casting.
Metamagic Feats wrote:
Spontaneous Casting and Metamagic Feats: A cleric spontaneously casting a cure or inflict spell, or a druid spontaneously casting a summon nature’s ally spell, can cast a metamagic version of it instead. Extra time is also required in this case. Casting a standard action metamagic spell spontaneously is a full-round action, and a spell with a longer casting time takes an extra full-round action to cast. The only exception is for spells modified by the Quicken Spell feat, which can be cast as a swift action.

Prepared divine casters casting spontaneously can apply metamagic feats. The class feature does not need to call this out, it is included in the metamagic rules already.

Weapon Evoker Mastery? Sure, you could. Probably. I would say that Burning Amplification seems like more fun.


An old thread, I know, but for any still looking at this idea, I have a few questions about the way this spell acts and how to get some more out of it.

Diego Rossi showed an FAQ that says "effects that affect weapons work on these spells" referring to weapon spells like Flame Blade. What about Warpriest and his Sacred Weapon?

Halfling Warpriest8/Green Scourge12:
Favored Class Warpriest 8lvls (+2 Warpriest lvl for Sacred Weapon Damage)
Lvl 6 Druid spells/Lvl 3 Warpriest spells

As "effects that affect weapons work on these spells" includes Weapon Focus (linchpin of Warpriest's Sacred Weapon) does that mean the Flame Blade becomes 1d10 damage with a +2 enhancement bonus that can be used for a few special qualities not on the Green Scourge's list? Could you even take the Fire Blessing and use the minor blessing to give the weapon an extra 1d4 Fire damage? Or the Strength Blessing to get 1/2 your lvl (+4) added to your attacks with it?

Sorry to bring this back up, but I have been looking at something similar and was curious just how far "effects that affect weapons work on these spells" actually goes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Flame Blade Interactions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.