
![]() |

In a full attack action, probably. You'd three attacks, one of which you may use as a melee touch attack. Activating the ring by command word is a free action (I believe, shoot me if I'm wrong).
Full round action is a bit of a different story typically. I don't think your talking about that, I think you mean specifically a full attack action? The full round action of the Magus Spellstrike, for example, gives you attacks and is it's own kind of full round action.
The only thing preventing said use in a full attack action would be whether or not your spell discharges when you touch your weapon...

![]() |

To answer your question, you cannot use one of your three attack actions to activate a magic item.
Good news is that Ring of the Grasping Grave doesn't require an action to active. Much like you don't need to activate a Ring of Protection +1.
I would not use Magus Spellstrike as an example as that is a VERY corner case.
Have fun!

Shimesen |

yes, you can do this, but how you do it might be the issue. in order to make a melee touch attack with your normal iterative attacks, you have the first drop whatever weapon you are wielding in your main hand. OR you could use your off-hand to make the touch attack, but this would be considered two-weapon fighting and you would need to take the appropriate penalties to all of your attacks for that round. either way you are looking at doing something you probably dont want to do just to activate that ring. its better off for you to just use a standard action another standard action to get 1 attack.

Weables |

yes, you can do this, but how you do it might be the issue. in order to make a melee touch attack with your normal iterative attacks, you have the first drop whatever weapon you are wielding in your main hand. OR you could use your off-hand to make the touch attack, but this would be considered two-weapon fighting and you would need to take the appropriate penalties to all of your attacks for that round. either way you are looking at doing something you probably dont want to do just to activate that ring. its better off for you to just use a standard action another standard action to get 1 attack.
This is completely incorrect. The only time two weapon fighting applies is when you make an additional attack on top of your bab. At level 6, a fighter can have a shortsword in each hand, and attack once with each without it being considered two weapon fighting.

Redneckdevil |

Shimesen wrote:yes, you can do this, but how you do it might be the issue. in order to make a melee touch attack with your normal iterative attacks, you have the first drop whatever weapon you are wielding in your main hand. OR you could use your off-hand to make the touch attack, but this would be considered two-weapon fighting and you would need to take the appropriate penalties to all of your attacks for that round. either way you are looking at doing something you probably dont want to do just to activate that ring. its better off for you to just use a standard action another standard action to get 1 attack.This is completely incorrect. The only time two weapon fighting applies is when you make an additional attack on top of your bab. At level 6, a fighter can have a shortsword in each hand, and attack once with each without it being considered two weapon fighting.
Where is that at by chance? Because from what im reading is that ur attacks are with ur main hand at bab and then because u have that other weapon, the free attack is with that one. Same with a fighter that is using a sword and shield. He gets the bab off his main hand and doesnt suffer any minuses UNTIL he decides to use his shield his his offhand which then applys the minuses to bab with the attacks.
The feat states that even without the feat u get an extra attack BC u have a weapon in ur offhand and u suffer the minuses. The feat is there to just lessen the minuses and then with greater ones give u yet another attack instead of just 1 with your offhand.Least thats the way I understood it and I maybe wrong which I may very well be, but where can I find the answer to that at?

![]() |

Multiple Weapons, Extra Attacks, and Two-Weapon Fighting: If I have extra attacks from a high BAB, can I make attacks with different weapons and not incur a two-weapon fighting penalty?
Yes. Basically, you only incur TWF penalties if you are trying to get an extra attack per round.
Let's assume you're a 6th-level fighter (BAB +6/+1) holding a longsword in one hand and a light mace in the other. Your possible full attack combinations without using two-weapon fighting are:
(A) longsword at +6, longsword +1
(B) mace +6, mace +1
(C) longsword +6, mace +1
(D) mace +6, longsword +1
All of these combinations result in you making exactly two attacks, one at +6 and one at +1. You're not getting any extra attacks, therefore you're not using the two-weapon fighting rule, and therefore you're not taking any two-weapon fighting penalties.
If you have Quick Draw, you could even start the round wielding only one weapon, make your main attack with it, draw the second weapon as a free action after your first attack, and use that second weapon to make your iterative attack (an "iterative attack" is an informal term meaning "extra attacks you get from having a high BAB"). As long as you're properly using the BAB values for your iterative attacks, and as long as you're not exceeding the number of attacks per round granted by your BAB, you are not considered to be using two-weapon fighting, and therefore do not take any of the penalties for two-weapon fighting.
The two-weapon fighting option in the Core Rulebook specifically refers to getting an extra attack for using a second weapon in your offhand. In the above four examples, there is no extra attack, therefore you're not using two-weapon fighting.
Using the longsword/mace example, if you use two-weapon fighting you actually have fewer options than if you aren't. Your options are (ignoring the primary/off hand penalties):
(A') primary longsword at +6, primary longsword at +1, off hand mace at +6
(B') primary mace at +6, primary mace at +1, off hand longsword at +6
In other words, once you decide you're using two-weapon fighting to get that extra attack on your turn (which you have to decide before you take any attacks on your turn), that decision locks you in to the format of "my primary weapon gets my main attack and my iterative attack, and my off hand weapon only gets the extra attack, and I apply two-weapon fighting penalties."
see spoiler.