All of the martial adepts get the ability to swap maneuvers starting at initiator level 4 and then every 2 levels from then on. Let's say you are a multi-class adept or you entered a prestige class and hit an even numbered initiator level (4, 6, etc) but took a level in a class that does not receive maneuver swaps, for instance if you were an 11th level Stalker who took your 12th level in Umbral Blade, or you were a Fighter 1 / Zealot 3 and took your 5th level as a Fighter. Does your Zealot, Warden, Stalker, etc maneuver swap mechanism still kick in?
"Upon reaching initiator level 4th, and at every even numbered initiator level thereafter (6th, 8th, 10th, and so on), the (insert class name here) can choose to learn a new maneuver in place of one she already knows. In effect, she loses the old maneuver in exchange for the new one. She can choose a new maneuver of any level she likes, as long as she observes the restriction on the highest-level maneuvers she knows; the (________) need not replace the old maneuver with a maneuver of the same level. She can swap only a single maneuver at any given level."
This will apply to all classes even prestige classes and Martial Templates. This change was released in Path of War Expanded. And is different than what was originally released with Path of War.
Do you have a source for that WabbitHuntr? Near as I can tell it only appears in the main classes (and by extension archetypes) and martial templates. That paragraph doesn't appear in any of the prestige classes and it is class specific, it does not appear to be a transferable ability.
...the (insert class name here) can choose...
restricts it to the named class.
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
At every even-number level, an awakened blade gains new maneuvers known from any discipline he has access to (either from a martial disciple class or from the Martial Training feat). Additionally, he may choose to access either Riven Hourglass or Sleeping Goddess - if he does not have that discipline’s associated skill as a class skill, he gains it as a class skill.
He must meet a maneuver's prerequisites to learn it. The character adds his full awakened blade levels to his initiator level to determine his total initiator level and his highest-level maneuvers known.
At 3rd, 6th, and 9th levels, he gains additional maneuvers readied per day, and 2nd, 5th, and 8th levels he may exchange a known maneuver for a different maneuver that he qualifies for.
Originally exchanges were based on CLASS level. Now they are based on INITIATOR level removing the need for maneuver exchange text in the prestige classes.
An awakened blade adds either Riven Hourglass or Sleeping Goddess to his list of available disciplines. If he does not have that discipline’s associated skill as a class skill, he gains it as a class skill. At every even-number level, an awakened blade gains new maneuvers known from any discipline he has access to (either from a martial disciple class or from the Martial Training feat). He must meet a maneuver’s prerequisites to learn it. The character adds his full awakened blade levels to his initiator level to determine his total initiator level and his highest-level maneuvers known.
At 3rd, 6th, and 9th levels, he gains additional maneuvers readied per day.
But now that I think about it it's probably best to give you the link to Path of War errata on the dreamscarred press site..
Maneuvers and Stances Known: When a prestige
class adds a maneuver or stance to a character, they
choose which of their maneuver progressions to add it to.
If the character only has one maneuver progression, they
automatically add it to that progression’s maneuvers and
stances known. If the initiator has multiple maneuver
progressions, they choose which progression to add
to. They can only add a maneuver or stance up to the
maximum level they have available for that progression
when they do so in this way. For example, a stalker 6/
warlord 4/umbral blade 5 could add their new maneuver
known to their stalker maneuvers, with a maximum
level of 7th. If they wanted to add the maneuver to their
warlord maneuvers, the maximum level would be 6th.
The same goes for stances. When determining whether
or not a character meets a maneuver’s prerequisites,
they count all of their maneuvers and stances known,
regardless of which maneuver progression they come
Maneuvers Readied: When a prestige class adds a
maneuver readied to a character, they choose which of
their maneuver progressions to add it to, exactly as with
Page 137: Awakened Blade Maneuvers
Remove the following passage: “and and 2nd, 5th, and
8th levels he may exchange a known maneuver for a
different maneuver that he qualifies for.”
Maneuver exchanges text is no longer included in prestige classes because they advance the base classes initiator levels and therefore exchanges occur at every even initiator level after 4th.
It doesn't specifically state that the removal of the passage for Umbral Blade maneuver swaps has anything to do with all prestige classes simply just automatically receiving it.
Without the Maneuver swaps however, the Prestige classes would seriously be lacking in maneuvers known though so it would make sense.
How does everyone else play this in their campaign?