
![]() |

Came up in game, GM ruled favorably, but I'm curious what others think:
Earth Wizard School, 2nd power, Acid Cloud (Su). Says it creates a cloud of acid vapor for 1 round. Two questions regarding this ability.
1st: Does it do damage immediately, then a second time if the creature doesn't move before the start of my next turn (1 round duration)? If only one time, which (when used, or if they don't move away)?
2nd: Does this count as a cloud effect (like fog, obscuring creatures more than 5ft in, and so forth)?
GM ruled that it would do damage twice and counted as a cloud effect, but I'm unclear if they were being nice for expediency. This was for PFS, so I'll not likely have that GM next time.

![]() |
"Acid Cloud (Su): As a standard action, you can create a 5-foot-radius cloud of acid vapor within 30 feet that lasts for 1 round. This cloud deals 1d6 points of acid damage + 1 point for every two wizard levels you possess to all creatures in the cloud and sickens them for 1 round. A successful Fortitude save negates the sickened effect and halves the damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 your wizard level + your Intelligence modifier. Creatures that begin their turn inside the cloud can move out that turn without penalty, but those that enter the cloud are affected. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Intelligence modifier."
I think since normally damage ticks on your turn, but the cloud goes away before you can take your turn, damage only happens once, when you use it or if they enter it before it ends.
Since it doesn't say it obscures, I would vote no, but it's definitely debatable.

![]() |

I think since normally damage ticks on your turn, but the cloud goes away before you can take your turn, damage only happens once, when you use it or if they enter it before it ends.
Since it doesn't say it obscures, I would vote no, but it's definitely debatable.
It doesn't actually say when the damage takes place. It also mentions them taking damage if they move into the cloud on their turn, so it certainly could affect creatures on more than just my turn.
As for being a cloud, yeah, it doesn't directly state how "cloud-like" it is, regarding obsuring things. Can't seem to find the rules specifically governing cloud effect, either.
Anyway, I'm not really pushing an angle here, even with a weak interpretation, I like this ability just because it generates AoE damage without needing a hit roll or concentration check (Supernatural ability). Mostly hoping for a more consistent understanding on what I can expect this one to do each session.

![]() |
blashimov wrote:I think since normally damage ticks on your turn, but the cloud goes away before you can take your turn, damage only happens once, when you use it or if they enter it before it ends.
Since it doesn't say it obscures, I would vote no, but it's definitely debatable.
It doesn't actually say when the damage takes place. It also mentions them taking damage if they move into the cloud on their turn, so it certainly could affect creatures on more than just my turn.
As for being a cloud, yeah, it doesn't directly state how "cloud-like" it is, regarding obsuring things. Can't seem to find the rules specifically governing cloud effect, either.
Anyway, I'm not really pushing an angle here, even with a weak interpretation, I like this ability just because it generates AoE damage without needing a hit roll or concentration check (Supernatural ability). Mostly hoping for a more consistent understanding on what I can expect this one to do each session.
Hmmm, I'll need to look more but I could swear there was some general guideline that 1/rn damage just ticked on the caster's turn...

Wraithlin |
Actually the spell does state when damage is dealt: either when you cast the spell or when a creature enters the cloud. Since it only last 1 round (NOT 1 round/level) it only deals 1 set of damage, hence there is nothing in the spell as written about what happens on later rounds: the spell will have expired by then. If the spell lasted 1 round/level then the general rule is that it ticks at the start of the casters turn.
It doesn't state that it works like solid fog or obscuring fog, so I would rule it doesn't have any "fog" effects.