Grazzle's healing -- how does it work, exactly? And is it broken?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

51 to 67 of 67 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

+1 to Longshot.

If Grazzle's Bog Medic power read:

Alternative Grazzle Bog Medic power wrote:
At the start of your turn, you may discard any number of cards from the top of your deck to heal other characters for up to twice the number of cards you choose to discard. (□ If any of the cards you discard have the Divine trait, you may recharge them instead.)

then it would work like Seelah's power, and like blessings you can recharge when they match the top blessing on the blessings discard pile -- and, frankly, like a lot of other powers in the game.

But, in Grazzle's case, that would be much TOO powerful. So, Grazzle's power is deliberately worded differently from most powers in the game -- so that it will work differently from most powers in the game.

Grazzle Bog Medic wrote:
At the start of your turn, you may discard any number of cards from the top of your deck. (□ If any of those cards have the Divine trait, you may recharge them instead.) Each other character may shuffle random cards from his discard pile into his deck; the total number of cards shuffled must not exceed (□ 1 plus) (□ 2 plus) (□ 3 plus) twice the number of cards you discarded.

FIRST, you discard OR recharge cards.

THEN (a second action), other characters can heal cards; the number they can heal depends on the cards actually discarded.


I think that the argument that Grazzle is too powerful is not really related to what his powers are. He is super powerful, that doesn't mean his powers suddenly work differently to everything else in the game.

You insert the word ATTEMPT into Seelahs power to show what it means, lets try that with Grazzle. "...the total number of cards shuffled must not exceed (□ 1 plus) twice the number of cards you ATTEMPTED TO discard."

There are many many powers in the game that refer to discarding cards, but then later gain the ability to recharge instead. None of them work the way you think Grazzle does. Thinking that Grazzle is too powerful is fair enough, but don't feel the need to convince yourself that he works in a totally unique way quite unlike everything else in the game just to nerf him a bit. You really must think that who ever wrote his power did so in an intentionally obtuse way.

Stating that it is too powerfull does not change it. Just say that you think he should be changed. That sounds fair enough. Enjoy playing it the way you enjoy playing it.

Lone Shark Games

2 people marked this as a favorite.

It sounds like we should probably avoid mechanics worded like this one in the future.

Just to be extremely clear: It is neither written nor intended that Grazzle Bog Medic can discard his entire deck, recharging the 10 or so spells and blessings that are Divine, healing the party for 20-ish cards every turn, and incidentally learning the exact order of his cards. In addition to - and separate from - that being wrong, that is also too powerful. If it were written that way, I'd want that card errata-d already.

As always, though, please play the game as you best enjoy it.

Designer

I recently started playing this guy and our group also assumed it worked like Keith and Vic said.

He's still extremely powerful, though the limitations of the oracle class deck actually can curtail him at early levels and keep him a bit more reasonable (only one cure in there to patch myself back up and thus a huge danger if I discard it off the top of my deck by accident, but we had unlocked the special merchant boon from Season of the Mummy finale to help grab a second cure, much to the chagrin of my allies who were hoping I'd grab remove curse).

We also realized that our giant brutish half-orc is the most reasonable-looking PC in our party (goblin alchemist, lizard oracle, and him).


Keith Richmond wrote:
It sounds like we should probably avoid mechanics worded like this one in the future.

Probably for the best. I know when I first saw it in the character sheets I assumed it worked like every other similar power and didn't care about the eventual destination.


Keith Richmond wrote:
Just to be extremely clear: It is neither written nor intended that Grazzle Bog Medic can discard his entire deck, recharging the 10 or so spells and blessings that are Divine, healing the party for 20-ish cards every turn, and incidentally learning the exact order of his cards. In addition to - and separate from - that being wrong, that is also too powerful. If it were written that way, I'd want that card errata-d already.

To be *extra* extremely clear, that's an *official ruling*. Repeated from earlier in this very thread, actually. (Lone Shark Games are the designers of PACG, for those who don't know.)

I'm not understanding why posters are chiming in and saying that the ruling is in dispute, when it is not....

Lone Shark Games

Keith Richmond wrote:
I purposefully qualify my statements, since Vic and Mike are the true rules arbiters.

Truthfully, there's only one true rules arbiter, and that's the one true Vic. I give him advice, but he makes the rulings.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Sigh. Slightly contradicted by the Master of Puzzles....

One last try, rewriting the inestimatable Longshot : RotR Seeah's power is like many in the game:

RotR Seelah wrote:
You may discard the top card of your deck to add 1d6 (_+1) to your check. If the top card was a blessing (_ or spell), recharge it instead of discarding it.

When Seelah uses this power, and she chooses to recharge the card instead of discarding it, then she never discarded the card. Any location power, for example, that says 'When you discard a card, something happens', would NOT be triggered. This is consistent with the rulebook, FAQs, and official forum rulings.

However, the cost to add the d6 to Seelah's check *has* been paid, and the d6 *is* added. Effectively the power in this instance acts as if it read:

Effective RotR Seelah wrote:
You may recharge the top card of your deck to add 1d6 (_+1) to your check, if that card is a blessing (_ or spell).

But, in contrast, look at Grazzle's Bog Medic power:

For the last time - really - Grazzle Bog Medic wrote:
At the start of your turn, you may discard any number of cards from the top of your deck. (□ If any of those cards have the Divine trait, you may recharge them instead.) Each other character may shuffle random cards from his discard pile into his deck; the total number of cards shuffled must not exceed (□ 1 plus) (□ 2 plus) (□ 3 plus) twice the number of cards you discarded.

If Grazzle has the first power feat, and discards 3 cards from the top of his deck, but chooses to recharge all of those cards (because they have the Divine trait), then he did not discard the cards. As with Seelah's power, any location power that occurs when a card is discarded would not occur.*

Effectively, it is as if in this instance the Bog Medic power was as follows:

Effective Grazzle Bog Medic wrote:
At the start of your turn, you may recharge any number of cards from the top of your deck, if those cards have the Divine trait. Each other character may shuffle random cards from his discard pile into his deck; the total number of cards shuffled must not exceed (□ 1 plus) (□ 2 plus) (□ 3 plus) twice the number of cards you discarded.

Just like a location power, the healing power cares about whether you actually discarded the cards. In other words, replacing "discard" with "recharge" in the first sentence does not change the last term of the power. That's because this isn't a "Do X to do Y" power. Instead it is a power that says "Do X. Now, for every Z, do Y." Y only happens if X=Z. (Um... my apologies for the algebraic explanation to any math-phobic readers). So, in my example, the number of cards healed by other characters would be zero.

The Bog Medic power was very deliberately written this way for game balance reasons. But: I concur with Keith. Obviously the language has created a lot of confusion. In the future, powers such as this need to be written more clearly.

* Not to open the can of worms whether discarding a card from the top of your deck, whereas cards are usually discarded from your hand, triggers location powers that regard discarding cards.


elcoderdude wrote:
Effective Grazzle Bog Medic wrote:
At the start of your turn, you may recharge any number of cards from the top of your deck, if those cards have the Divine trait. Each other character may shuffle random cards from his discard pile into his deck; the total number of cards shuffled must not exceed (□ 1 plus) (□ 2 plus) (□ 3 plus) twice the number of cards you discarded.

If the card said that it wouldn't make any sense at all, and that's making it hard for me to understand what you're trying to say.

Though I think your basic point is that even though the second part of Grazzle's power seems inconsistent with e.g. Seelah's power, it is actually consistent with how e.g. locations which trigger on discarded cards would interact with Seelah's power. So think of the second part of Grazzle's power as an entirely separate sentence (which indeed it is)?

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Irgy wrote:
So think of the second part of Grazzle's power as an entirely separate sentence (which indeed it is)?

That.


elcoderdude wrote:

If Grazzle has the first power feat, and discards 3 cards from the top of his deck, but chooses to recharge all of those cards (because they have the Divine trait), then he did not discard the cards.

I just got my role card with Grazzle and wanted to ask a follow-up to this thread. Sorry to reopen the can of worms, but we did have to defeat a Worm That Walks get the role card, so maybe it is appropriate.

If Grazzle has the Bog Medic feat discussed in this thread, and has power feats allowing him to heal 2N + x cards when he discards N cards from the top of his deck, does he get to heal x cards if he recharges ALL the cards he discarded from his deck?

For example, let's say my Grazzle heals 2N + 1 when I discard N cards and I took the infamous Bog Medic feat. I choose to discard 1 card from the top of my deck, but it's my precious cure! So I choose to recharge the cure instead of discarding it. In this situation, I initially chose to discard 1 card (which I think gets around the "any number" issue referenced in the FAQ), but the total number I ACTUALLY discarded is 0. Do my allies get to heal (2*0 + 1 =) 1 card (total, not each)?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

You heal for the number of cards actually discarded. If you recharged every card, then N is 0 so you heal 2*0 + 1 = 1 card total.


Ok, thanks!

Another question that occurred to me: is the number of cards Grazzle chooses to discard off his deck at the start of turn chosen only once per turn, or can it be changed as long as he is still in the process of discarding?

For example, Grazzle's allies really need to heal 16 cards collectively (they get a little reckless when Grazzle is around...), so Grazzle rolls his eyes and says he will discard 8 cards off the top of his deck. But the first two cards are both cures! Grazzle wants to recharge these with his Bog Medic feat, but he still wants to actually discard 8 cards total in the end. Can Grazzle change his mind and discard another 2 cards (making 10 total off the top of his deck) to "replace" the cures he wants to recharge, or does he have to stop discarding at 8 and then do some hand-wringing (cures before bros!?)?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

No. Once you choose 8 you’re stuck with it, even if you recharge 2 of them. See this post on page 1.


You can't change your mind during discarding them. You call how many you'll discard and that's what you'll do.

ProTip:
As a house rule suggested by Vic, you might recharge cards face up during play, with the caveat that you put them face down again if you shuffle your deck. The idea is that you shouldn't have an advantage by memorizing the order of the cards recharged into your deck, so you might do this to keep track of which cards ends up where. THis way, you'll have a better idea what's on top of your deck when the next healing comes around, and it doesn't bypass the rule stated above.
Of course, this houserule isn't very fun when you play characters that shuffle often, or cure yourself all the time, since it becomes busy work; however, for characters that only recharge cards it's quite nice.


Ok. Thank you skizzerz! Apologies if I repeated questions already answered above, I had a hard time getting my head around some of the details.


@ AbarabkA - It's not your fault. The wording on Grazzle's ability could be confusing given the standard of how similar abilities/mechanics worked. There was plenty of confusion with experienced players.

51 to 67 of 67 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Grazzle's healing -- how does it work, exactly? And is it broken? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion