Sanguine Angel Question


Rules Questions


I have a question about the Armored Angel class feature.

Armored Angel:

At 3rd level, a sanguine angel gains the armor training class feature, treating her class level as her fighter level while wearing Gray Maiden plate†. If the sanguine angel has levels in another class that grants the armor training class feature, the levels stack to determine its benefits, but only when she is wearing Gray Maiden plate

So... is that saying that the levels stack PERIOD, or only for the purpose of Armor Training? IE, for a Fighter 5/ Sanguine Angel 5 could the character take the Advanced Weapon Training feat once or twice?


"The levels stack to determine its benefits," not all benefits, so just for the purpose of armor training.


It also says "treating her class level as her fighter level while wearing Gray Maiden plate." The sentences are completely separate in that regard. Is there any other ability worded similarly?


Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

It only functions while wearing Gray Maiden plate and your effective fighter level is only in regards to the Armored Angel ability. You can't snip at the commas, particularly when you're only looking at the part that doesn't contain a verb.

"At 3rd level, a sanguine angel gains the armor training class feature, treating her class level as her fighter level while wearing Gray Maiden plate. If the sanguine angel has levels in another class that grants the armor training class feature, the levels stack to determine the benefits, but only when she is wearing Gray Maiden plate."

Here's the logic flow:

3rd level: wearing Gray Maiden plate? If yes, armor training with Sanguine Angel level = fighter level for benefit (i.e. read the fighter version of the ability, substituting your Sanguine Angel level). If no, no armor training.

Armor training from another class? If yes and Gray Maiden plate is worn, add Sanguine Angel level to other class level for effective total. If yes and no Gray Maiden plate, use only the other class level and disregard the Sanguine Angel levels.

Here are a couple scenarios to illustrate:

  • Cavalier 5, Sanguine Angel 3, no Gray Maiden plate: armor training at effective fighter level 0. It provides no benefit at all.
  • Cavalier 5, Sanguine Angel 3, Gray Maiden plate: armor training at effective fighter level 3.
  • Fighter 5, Sanguine Angel 3, no Gray Maiden plate: armor training at effective fighter level 5.
  • Fighter 5, Sanguine Angel 3, Gray Maiden plate: armor training at effective fighter level 8.


The printed wording is complicated and full of opportunities to parse language. It looks like Serisan has a pretty good handle on things here.

Thoughts From The Author:
I do not possess rules authority in any official capacity. I'm just the writer.

For those curious about authorial intent, the idea was simply "you have armor training, but only for Gray Maiden plate" (not entirely unlike the Hellknight ability). So I intended that the benefits should stack neatly, even with advanced armor training; you just have to use this very specific armor.

In any case, I'm glad folks are taking an interest. ^_^


Awesome, thank you guys :D. I absolutely love this class, btw. It and Hellknight are really helping my... Illidari esque homebrew organization.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sanguine Angel Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.