Rod of Splendor's lack of command clause


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Rod of Splendor said wrote:

The possessor of this fantastically bejeweled rod gains a +4 enhancement bonus to her Charisma score for as long as she holds or carries the item. Once per day, the rod garbs her in magically created clothing of the finest fabrics, plus adornments of furs and jewels.

Apparel created by the magic of the rod remains in existence for 12 hours. However, if the possessor attempts to sell or give away any part of it, use it for a spell component, or the like, all the apparel immediately disappears. The same applies if any of it is forcibly taken from her.

The value of noble garb created by the rod ranges from 7,000 to 10,000 gp (1d4+6 × 1,000 gp)—1,000 gp for the fabric alone, 5,000 gp for the furs, and the rest for the jewel trim (maximum of twenty gems, maximum value 200 gp each).

In addition, the rod has a second special power, usable once per week. Upon command, it creates a palatial tent—a huge pavilion of silk 60 feet across. Inside the tent are temporary furnishings and food suitable to the splendor of the pavilion and sufficient to entertain as many as 100 people. The tent and its trappings last for 1 day. At the end of that time, the tent and all objects associated with it (including any items that were taken out of the tent) disappear.

According to the text, the Rod of Splendor builds the tent on command, but the lack of "Upon command" as related to the bejeweled clothes looks like a typo to me.

Does the Rod of Splendour have a different command word to clothe its owner, or to the clothes just show up at random and fade 12 hours later or whenever the owner takes any of them off, whichever comes first?

(Personally, I'd say the rod would have different command words for the tent and the clothes, but now I want to think up a homebrew adventure where an intelligent Rod of Splendor who clothes you whenever, in whatever it wants is a plot point.)


CRB, Magic Items wrote:
Command Word: If no activation method is suggested either in the magic item description or by the nature of the item, assume that a command word is needed to activate it.

"Upon command" is usually redundant in an item description, except for worn items that might otherwise be mentally activated. I'd say the rod has two command words (or one rod-dependent command word followed by a rod-independent sub-command, e.g. "frobozz garb" and "frobozz tent," which works out to the same thing for practical purposes).

But I have to say I like your interpretation of this one better :-)

Shadow Lodge

Actually, the sub-command makes a lot of sense, and I feel ashamed at not having thought of it. Also, thanks for showing me the general rule I forgot existed.

Now I feel like we don't even need this question thread any more, unless other people want to craft cursed rods that activate whenever their crafter feels like it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rod of Splendor's lack of command clause All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.