Rules for wielding a creature as a weapon?


Rules Questions


I was wondering if there was an official rules for wielding a creatures as a weapon. Does the creature being wielded take damage? Is this something up to the DM?

Dark Archive

Given that there are multiple abilities that specifically let you use creatures as weapons means that, unless you have an ability that lets you do so, you may not. That is my take on the official rules.

Now the abilities that let you do such damage, do in fact cause the creature to take damage=to the damage dealt. Thus i would say if the GM is allowing you to weld the gnome as an improvised club, that he would take the damage as well as the orc that you just bludgeoned.


I know of barbarian rage power Body Bludgeon. What other abilities there are?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Once, I played a flind gnoll ranger who killed a goblin guard by throwing another (deceased) goblin into him. We (my bugbear partner and I) were trying to bluff our way into an underground goblin town by claiming the dead goblin I had slung over my shoulder needed healing. The guard didn't fall for it, but he fell when I threw his deceased brethren at his head and crushed his skull.

This doesn't help at all as far as rules go. I just like telling that story.


Use standard improvised weapon rules for corpses. The corpse of a small creature would likely be a two-handed improvised weapon for a medium creature.

Using a living creature as an unwilling weapon would likely not work barring specific abilities.


What abilities are there that allow for the wielding of enemies as weapons?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rules for wielding a creature as a weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.