Bloodrager Questions with answers that are probably more obvious than I think.


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I have a draconic bloodrager for a game I'm in and I'm little unclear on certain elements.

Do I only get the claws when I bloodrage? How about the energy resistance? A sorcerer gets the energy resistance all the time. How about the natural armor bonus? Can I only use the breath weapon when I'm bloodraging?

The shorter version of the question, I guess, is, "Do only the abilities that say 'when you bloodrage,' you get x, apply when bloodraging?" Some of the abilities with some of the bloodlines have that, some do not.

My character is a white dragon bloodline bloodrager in the Reign of Winter adventure path and I wonder if I'm going to have to bundle up against the chill through the whole of my level progression or if I'll get my cold resistance for good at some point.


'Fraid not.

When a bloodrager enters a bloodrage, he often takes on a physical transformation influenced by his bloodline and powered by the magic that roils within him. Unless otherwise specified, he gains the effects of his bloodline powers only while in a bloodrage; once the bloodrage ends, all powers from his bloodline immediately cease, and any physical changes the bloodrager underwent revert, restoring him to normal.

Why they so often feel the need to specify this redundantly in the individual powers I don't know, it just confuses things.

But hey, by strict RAW you'd've had to bundle up anyway, since cold/fire resistance (or even immunity) don't prevent the normal effects of very cold/hot environments!


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:

'Fraid not.

When a bloodrager enters a bloodrage, he often takes on a physical transformation influenced by his bloodline and powered by the magic that roils within him. Unless otherwise specified, he gains the effects of his bloodline powers only while in a bloodrage; once the bloodrage ends, all powers from his bloodline immediately cease, and any physical changes the bloodrager underwent revert, restoring him to normal.

Why they so often feel the need to specify this redundantly in the individual powers I don't know, it just confuses things.

But hey, by strict RAW you'd've had to bundle up anyway, since cold/fire resistance (or even immunity) don't prevent the normal effects of very cold/hot environments!

Here's an example for you. It's the level 20 bloodline power for the draconic bloodline.

Advanced Class Guide, pg. 20 wrote:
Power of Wyrms (Su): At 20th level, you gain immunity to paralysis, sleep, and damage from your energy type. You also gain blindsense with a range of 60 feet. You have these benefits constantly, even while not bloodraging.

I bolded the important part. None of the other draconic bloodline powers have that particular text to them. Therefore, you get the immunities and blindsense at all times but none of the other powers unless you're bloodraging.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bloodrager Questions with answers that are probably more obvious than I think. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.