
MorningstarZero |
So, my play group started Mummy's Mask this past Sunday. And we ran into a small rules quandary.
While I felt the rules were perfectly plain, one of the players in my group was insisting that:
"When you explore, you draw the top card, Examine it, then encounter it."
Of course this would mean that anything with Trigger trait will always have it's Triggered action fire.
I'm of the opinion that in general (baring shenanigans on cards that state other wise) the game function of Examine has nothing to do with Explore action.
Can someone please clear this up for me?

skizzerz |

When you explore, flip over the top card of your current location deck. If it’s a boon, you may attempt to acquire it; if you don’t attempt that, banish it. If it’s a bane, you must try to defeat it.
If It Isn’t Called Something, It Isn’t That Thing. Every term described in the rules and on cards has a specific definition. The item Flame Staff is a staff, but it is not a weapon. A Potion of Healing may sound like it’s magical, but it doesn’t have the Magic trait. An Emperor Cobra deals Poison damage when it damages you, even if you failed a Stealth check to defeat it. Don’t make assumptions—just read the card.
The rulebook and the cards both use very precise terminology. If it says it is something, it is that thing. If it does not say it is something, it is not that thing. Nowhere in the rules for exploring does it say you examine the card. You flip it over, and either attempt to acquire or defeat it. If it wanted you to examine the card (and therefore fire off triggers), it would have said that.

zeroth_hour2 |

The rulebook and the cards both use very precise terminology. If it says it is something, it is that thing. If it does not say it is something, it is not that thing. Nowhere in the rules for exploring does it say you examine the card. You flip it over, and either attempt to acquire or defeat it. If it wanted you to examine the card (and therefore fire off triggers), it would have said that.
...as the basic blessing "Blessing of the Ancients" does. It explicitly tells you to examine the top of the deck, then to explore your location.