Touch Attack Action


Rules Questions


I was in a PFS game once where a player cast a spell and missed with his touch attack. On his next turn he hit with his touch attack, declared that making a touch attack in and of itself (i.e. without casting a spell or using an ability) was a move action, and cast another spell. The GM agreed with this, but I can't find it anywhere in the rules. Is this true?


SodiumTelluride wrote:
I was in a PFS game once where a player cast a spell and missed with his touch attack. On his next turn he hit with his touch attack, declared that making a touch attack in and of itself (i.e. without casting a spell or using an ability) was a move action, and cast another spell. The GM agreed with this, but I can't find it anywhere in the rules. Is this true?

A touch attack is just a normal attack that targets Touch AC instead of regular AC. All of the normal limits on making an attack still apply to touch attacks. As such, making a touch attack is a standard action (or part of a full attack), the same as a normal attack.

As for proof, it is all there in the Combat chapter. You have the general rules that apply to all attacks. There would need to be a specific written rule saying making a touch attack is a move action. There is none.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Per FAQ, it is a standard action: "Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack."


Ok that's what I thought. Odd part was, we were playing a tier 4-5 game so who knows how long that guy had been doing that. I hope someone straightened him out eventually. Thanks!


I would like to point out that this is a very recent FAQ, but even before that, touching an enemy required an attack, so a standard action. There was also the option of making an unarmed attack, which discharged the spell on an hit, again standard action, or part of a full attack.
In any case, it was never a move action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Attack Action All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions