Training and Double Weapons


Rules Questions


I haven't seen any threads specifically calling this out so here it is:

Training Weapon Special Ability:
Popular among those who seek to impersonate skilled warriors, a training weapon grants one combat feat to the wielder as long as the weapon is drawn and in hand. The feat is chosen when this special ability is placed on the weapon. That feat cannot be used as a prerequisite for any other feats and functions for the wielder only if she meets its prerequisites. Once chosen, the feat stored in the weapon cannot be changed.

If you are holding a double weapon with the training enchantment on each end do you gain the feat on both ends? Do you gain both feats when not using it as a double weapon? (such as using it as a two-handed weapon)


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

As written, if the double weapon is "drawn and in-hand", then yes, both function. That is, unless this eventually gets ruled a "use-activated" property like Defending, in that case only the end in use would function.


SlimGauge wrote:
That is, unless this eventually gets ruled a "use-activated" property like Defending, in that case only the end in use would function.

Lets hope not. It would suck to have Weapon Finesse that only activates AFTER you've made your attack...

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

This now has like 4 active threads asking the same question.

I'd think of it as use activated by "intend to use".
So if you hold it out of combat, you have the feats.
If you don't intend to use it as a double weapon you don't get both feats.

I see the "drawn and in hand" as "going to be used in combat soon".


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
graystone wrote:
SlimGauge wrote:
That is, unless this eventually gets ruled a "use-activated" property like Defending, in that case only the end in use would function.
Lets hope not. It would suck to have Weapon Finesse that only activates AFTER you've made your attack...

Well, it would activate for that attack. That is, the DECLARATION of the attack would be enough to activate it, so you would get the benefit of finesse for that attack.

Let me also restate that, as currently written, I believe that "drawn and in-hand" is currently the only activation requirement. Many of our discussions boil down to "Is this particular case covered by 'drawn and in-hand'?".


SlimGauge wrote:
Well, it would activate for that attack. That is, the DECLARATION of the attack would be enough to activate it, so you would get the benefit of finesse for that attack.

That's not how it works though. If you declare an attack and are somehow prevented from making that attack you have to go back in time and revoke that feat you tried to use because you haven't 'used' the weapon as intended YET. The defending FAQ is really, really bad...

James Risner wrote:
I see the "drawn and in hand" as "going to be used in combat soon".

I see it as 'able to attack if given the chance'. "Going to be used in combat soon" is a bit metagamey and is using a metric that you can't possibly know for activation. For instance, why does my swords abilities stop working because I have to use a thrown weapon at a flying creature the sword can't hit? Now what about the off hand weapon I'm "going to be used in combat soon" if I'm disarmed or I charge and can only make an attack with the main weapon? Looking for intent instead of actual tangible events leads to screwy results...


I think the wording probably should be changed, i can just imagine an alchemist taking all the extra appendage discoveries to hold weapons and gain feats. Now make them all quarterstaves and he's got potentially two or three characters worth of extra feats... Expensive as hell, but entirely possible.

Liberty's Edge

The goal of the "drawn and in hand" wording was likely to limit it to one or two active training abilities per normal humanoid character (assuming it doesn't work like 'bane' with each feat from training treated as a separate special ability and thus stackable on a single weapon).

Thus, allowing it on each end of a double weapon held in both hands would likely be a reasonable implementation.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

graystone wrote:
Looking for intent instead of actual tangible events leads to screwy results..

I'd put intent at "use it it be better in combat" and not intended to "hold this to be better than that"

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Training and Double Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions