Using metamagic rods with a staff?


Rules Questions


Can I cast a spell from a staff, and augment it with a Metamagic rod? I've read up on metamagic rods, staves, and the activation types and I see no reason why I couldn't.


The problem is... I see no reason why you CAN. CANs not Can'ts, are what the rules structure of this game is built on.

Otherwise we'd have people metamagicing wand spells as well.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A Metamagic Rod gives you the ability to use a Metamagic Feat, but doesn't change what the Feat can do.

Metamagic Feat wrote:
The modifications made by these feats only apply to spells cast directly by the feat user. A spellcaster can't use a metamagic feat to alter a spell being cast from a wand, scroll, or other device.


SLAs?

Edit: nope, as per the the FAQ.


_Ozy_ wrote:
SLAs?

No. You need the SLA-specific metamagic feats to apply to those.

The SLA-specific ones are 3/day.


Tacticslion wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
SLAs?

No. You need the SLA-specific metamagic feats to apply to those.

The SLA-specific ones are 3/day.

Yeah, I was looking for metamagic rods that applied to SLAs. Guess you would have to custom build your own using the SLA metamagic feats.


Also, when you "cast" a spell from a staff, you're still activating a magic item. Just happens to be the case that the activation can very nearly duplicate your own spellcasting. So you'd be activating two magic items (the staff and the rod) at the same time. Doesn't work that well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using metamagic rods with a staff? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions