Do Mounts count as Characters?


Rules Questions


Because of this feat:

Steadfast Slayer (Combat) wrote:

You stand alone against creatures far larger than you.

Benefit: If you are the only character threatening an opponent and you successfully attack the opponent with a two-handed melee weapon, for each size category larger than you that opponent is, you gain a +2 bonus on your melee damage roll.

If I'm mounted, does my mount count as a "character" for the purposes of this feat? I can work around that if so, such as by wielding a reach weapon or using Lunge, but I'd like to know.

Also, if I DO take Lunge and my mount charges the enemy, do I get to make my attack the moment I threaten the enemy (I.E. 10 feet away) and still get the charge benefits even if my mount has to be adjacent?

Sovereign Court

I think it would, yes. "Character" and "creature" are basically interchangeable terms in Pathfinder.

However, reach and lunge would help you out there. But your mount might not get to attack as well, due to the mysteries of the charge rules.

Liberty's Edge

Yes, your mount counts as a character for that feat.

You can take the Heroic Leader feat to make your mount NOT count for purposes of Steadfast Slayer and similar feats.

Mounted charges are generally treated as both the mount AND rider charging. So, the mount would have to end adjacent to the target (unless it has reach), but you could attack from further away with Lunge.


^
since there area feats and abilities that let your mount not count it means it does count.


I'll have to think about how to build this, then. Thanks. It's a feat tax I can chew.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do Mounts count as Characters? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions