Pathfinder Savant (Arcane Savant) Dispelling Master + Arcanist


Rules Questions


So, I was looking through some prestige classes, and I came up with what I think is an interesting interaction that I'm not sure on.

The Pathfinder Savant's 7th-level ability Dispelling Master, reads as follows:

Dispelling Master wrote:


Starting at 7th level, if the savant prepares and casts spells like a wizard, he can spontaneously convert any prepared spell into dispel magic or greater dispel magic as a good cleric converts prepared spells into cure spells. If he casts spells as a sorcerer, he adds dispel magic and greater dispel magic to his spells known. Every time he successfully uses either of these spells to make a targeted dispel or counterspell, he heals hit points equal to the caster level of the effect dispelled or counterspelled.

Given that the Arcanist has to prepare spells as a Wizard but casts as a Sorcerer, does he gain the spontaneous conversion part of the ability, or does he add dispel magic and greater dispel magic to the spells he has memorized, outside of his normal amount?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Wizards prepare and cast specific spells. Sorcerers and Arcanists instead have a set of 'spell slots' which they can use to spontaneously cast any spells they know.

Thus, Dispelling Master would add dispel magic and greater dispel magic to the list of spells which the arcanist can spontaneously cast each day.


Okay, thank you very much for satisfying my curiosity.


CBDunkerson wrote:

Wizards prepare and cast specific spells. Sorcerers and Arcanists instead have a set of 'spell slots' which they can use to spontaneously cast any spells they know.

Thus, Dispelling Master would add dispel magic and greater dispel magic to the list of spells which the arcanist can spontaneously cast each day.

Wrong. Arcanist prepare spells like a wizard ans casts like a sorcerer.

Id argue they get to convert spells to dispel magic because they have límites spells learnt per day like a wizard does.


Letric wrote:
CBDunkerson wrote:

Wizards prepare and cast specific spells. Sorcerers and Arcanists instead have a set of 'spell slots' which they can use to spontaneously cast any spells they know.

Thus, Dispelling Master would add dispel magic and greater dispel magic to the list of spells which the arcanist can spontaneously cast each day.

Wrong. Arcanist prepare spells like a wizard ans casts like a sorcerer.

Id argue they get to convert spells to dispel magic because they have límites spells learnt per day like a wizard does.

Convert what, though? The "prepared" (known) spell for the day? So they can permanently dump one of their prepared spells for dispel magic as soon as they decide? So if I have fireball in a prepared slot I can at any point decide to replace it with dispel magic, but after that I can only cast more dispel magic and not more fireballs?

I think it makes more sense to treat dispel magic as a bonus spell known/prepared all the time.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Letric wrote:
CBDunkerson wrote:

Wizards prepare and cast specific spells. Sorcerers and Arcanists instead have a set of 'spell slots' which they can use to spontaneously cast any spells they know.

Thus, Dispelling Master would add dispel magic and greater dispel magic to the list of spells which the arcanist can spontaneously cast each day.

Wrong. Arcanist prepare spells like a wizard ans casts like a sorcerer.

...and Dispelling Master specifically works off of how they cast spells;

"If he casts spells as a sorcerer".

Which, you just agreed, they do.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pathfinder Savant (Arcane Savant) Dispelling Master + Arcanist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.