Intelligent Magic Items vs. Forbiddance effects


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

If an Intelligent Magic item enters a Forbiddance effect and it's master failed the will save and the item's alignment didn't match the one specified by the effect, would the item take damage from the effect as well?


forbiddance wrote:
...it damages entering creatures...

An intelligent item is not (usually) a creature, so no damage.


dragonhunterq wrote:
An intelligent item is not (usually) a creature
I beg to differ:
The Core Rulebook wrote:
Intelligent items can actually be considered creatures because they have Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. Treat them as constructs.


Good find VRMH. I stand corrected :)


I don't like the idea of automatic item destruction, though.


Hardness still applies.

I'm thinking tentatively of house-ruling that intelligent magic items count as items for physical effects and creatures for non-physical effects.

And as a halfway house you could treat them as items in as much as they take half the damage. It is, without a doubt, a sketchy interpretation of the rules, but it is there.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Intelligent Magic Items vs. Forbiddance effects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions