When can I do a swift action?


Rules Questions


Is there any limit on when I can do a swift action, like smite evil or challenge? can I do it during an attack? During a move action to move? Like enemy is around a corner and has 10ft reach. I move and when I get to the corner I see them, I'd like to smite and finish moving up to them thus getting the smite AC against the AoO. Is this allowed?

Liberty's Edge

It is on your turn. No you can not do two simultaneous actions on a turn.


On your turn. You can't do it at the same time as another action.

If you move, you are stuck "moving" until you stop, then you can take your standard or swift action. No you can't smite to get the ac bonus on the AoO.


So you can't free action draw ammo while making a full attack action? Because that's doing two simultaneous actions, a free and a full.

EDIT:
Or drop an item on the move, or talk on the move,

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Card Game, Companion, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

You can take a swift action whenever you would be able to take a free action. You can take free actions as part of other actions (such as drawing a weapon as you move). I would allow it.

There is no "during an attack" in the same sense as there is a "during a move." You could use an action before or after an attack, in the middle of a full attack action. What do you mean by this?


I agree with what most of the others have said. There are specific allowances for when you can combine different actions (drawing a weapon during a move, for example) or interrupt one action to take another then continue with the original action (Shot on the Run and Ride By Attack). I would assume that without an allowance to do so, one action must be completed before initiating another.


like during a charge, full attack, or the like.


Chess Pwn wrote:

So you can't free action draw ammo while making a full attack action? Because that's doing two simultaneous actions, a free and a full.

EDIT:
Or drop an item on the move, or talk on the move,

The rules for Free Actions specifically state they can be taken as part of another action:

"Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM."

Liberty's Edge

There is no RAW limit to the number of free actions you can take. But some gm''s might impose a limit. Also as far as I can tell smite evil dose not provoke a AOO, but I maybe wrong on that.


KingOfAnything wrote:
You can take a swift action whenever you would be able to take a free action. You can take free actions as part of other actions (such as drawing a weapon as you move). I would allow it.?

Where is that spelled out? I can't find it.

Also, drawing a weapon while you move is not a free action. Drawing a weapon is a move action. However, it has a specific exception that if you have a BAB of +1 or higher, you may draw it as a free action during a move. This is a spelled out exception, not a general rule. But, I admit, that is me picking nits.


Swordjockey wrote:
There is no RAW limit to the number of free actions you can take. But some gm''s might impose a limit. Also as far as I can tell smite evil dose not provoke a AOO, but I maybe wrong on that.

Sorry, you're not getting the situation

___E
|
|
P

this is the starting. E threatens out 10ft and I have melee sword. I can't smite since I can't see him to target him. Meaning for me to hit him I'll provoke an AoO for moving. I'd like to move up to the corner when I can see him, smite him while moving for the AC boost, and then finish my movement, which will provoke an AoO.


Saldiven wrote:
KingOfAnything wrote:
You can take a swift action whenever you would be able to take a free action. You can take free actions as part of other actions (such as drawing a weapon as you move). I would allow it.?
Where is that spelled out? I can't find it.

I found it. I reverse my opinion. Since swift can be taken when you can take free, you can take it during another action.

Combat wrote:

Swift Actions

A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. You can, however, perform only one single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action anytime you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting, activating a feat, or the activation of magic items.


So I'm good to smite during my move action? :)


Yep!


Looks like it.

Smite away!


Awesome, so that's what I thought and did in the game. When talking over afterwards the GM brought up this example.

All swift actions are allowed then in a move? So a high level spellcaster can move from behind a wall, cast a quicken spell, and then finish moving back behind the wall right? Which I said, "Looks like it". but I want to make sure no one is changing their minds now.


I would say so, yes.


Chess Pwn wrote:

Awesome, so that's what I thought and did in the game. When talking over afterwards the GM brought up this example.

All swift actions are allowed then in a move? So a high level spellcaster can move from behind a wall, cast a quicken spell, and then finish moving back behind the wall right? Which I said, "Looks like it". but I want to make sure no one is changing their minds now.

That does seem to be the way it would work.


Chess Pwn wrote:

Awesome, so that's what I thought and did in the game. When talking over afterwards the GM brought up this example.

All swift actions are allowed then in a move? So a high level spellcaster can move from behind a wall, cast a quicken spell, and then finish moving back behind the wall right? Which I said, "Looks like it". but I want to make sure no one is changing their minds now.

The caster would be subject to a concentration check, since motion is a trigger for concentration (10+spell level probably). Fairly trivial, but worth noting.


I'm quite concerned by the idea of being able to take a swift action the middle of another action. Some abilities let you attack as a swift action, and would thus act as poor man's spring attack.

Imagine spring attacking around a corner with quicked spell.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

And provoking an AoO.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
And provoking an AoO.

Against someone with a melee weapon? Not around a corner. They're using a diffent set of rules.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

If you're continuing to move after making your swift action attack, then you're provoking. The corner is no longer protecting you. And if you're stopping at the corner, you can already do that, no problem.


What lets you attack as a swift action? Quickened touch spell, sure. But the same caster could move up, swift action cast, and standard for move to move away, doing a similar thing (but taking up one more action). What else lets you get an attack for a swift?


TriOmegaZero wrote:
If you're continuing to move after making your swift action attack, then you're provoking. The corner is no longer protecting you. And if you're stopping at the corner, you can already do that, no problem.

"When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target's square goes through a wall"

"You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you."

I disagree with your statement.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

If you're talking about stopping at the corner to avoid the AoO, that is something you can do regardless of the swift action.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
If you're talking about stopping at the corner to avoid the AoO, that is something you can do regardless of the swift action.

But you can't move after unless the swift comes in the middle of movement.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

And if you're less than a move action away, that isn't a concern.


TriOmegaZero wrote:
And if you're less than a move action away, that isn't a concern.

I suppose I think its OP and you don't. That's fine.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

It's a single attack and requires specific terrain features. Of course I don't think it's OP in the land of full-attacks.


Del_Taco_Eater wrote:
"You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you."

But if youre provoking from the movement doesnt the aoo happen before you leave the square? So i step through the door and hit you with the quickened spell, then when I start to move back through the door you get your aoo before I get to cover, right? Or am i misunderstanding your point?


I think the issue they are discussing is when you stop by the wall like this
__ __
-X

instead of this
__ __
--X
Which you are talking about.
The first I can now see you and attack from cover while the second I see you and have no cover but you don't have cover either. The second will provoke if someone is there at the entryway.


Chess Pwn wrote:

I think the issue they are discussing is when you stop by the wall like this

__ __
-X

instead of this
__ __
--X
Which you are talking about.
The first I can now see you and attack from cover while the second I see you and have no cover but you don't have cover either. The second will provoke if someone is there at the entryway.

Yup, that's it. Also, depending on the spell (and quite a few are ranged) you don't have to deal with any cover.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When can I do a swift action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.