
Brainwave |

Hi guys!
Got some more for ya.
1) Probably the most game-affecting question here - when utilizing Traders after a scenario, are all trades considered to be simultaneous or could you use cards purchased from one trader to help buy a card sold by another Trader?
To explain a bit further - we noticed during the B and deck 1 scenarios that for the most part we're not paying any actual real cost to buy cards from traders. There's always so many excess B cards floating around after a scenario that are going back to the box anyway after we're done - that purchasing anything up through AP1 was basically free. Now that we're looking at the AP2 cards we actually had to pay more attention to whether we had AP1-2 cards available to buy those cards with.
HOWEVER, if you could buy a couple AP1 cards that we don't actually want off the traders with some random B cards we don't want, and then use those cards to purchase an AP2 card... it's going to continue to make the cost of buying stuff from Traders kind of trivial.
Or is there no trading allowed during the trader step so you couldn't use a card to pay for another card because no trading and each character can only buy one card.
So I'm curious how this is supposed to work. And as a side note, would love an official answer (which I don't believe we ever got) to the previous thread where we were asking for a more comprehensive breakdown of how end of turn stuff is supposed to work, specifically with regards to traders (before or after excess cards back to the box, before or after buried cards returned to decks, etc).
2) So my understanding is you're not supposed to be able to explore outside of the explore step of your turn. What about the power on the Blessing of Horus that allows you to move, then you may explore. Can you discard the Horus to do this outside of your turn? Can you just get the move, but not the explore?
3) In the first adventure of AP2, you win the scenario based on the number of cards in decks. Is the scenario immediately over when this happens (I would kind of assume yes, since usually whenenever you fulfill winning conditions it's immediately over) or can you continue the scenario once you've reached the winning requirement?

Frencois |

IMHO
1) Each character selects the trader he wants to visit at the same time, then each character visit a trader at the same time (if you see what I mean). There is no trading between characters while visiting traders. So no, you cannot use the result of one trading with a trader to trade with another.... well until the end of the next scenario of course.
2) "never" trumps everything and you can never explore out of your turn so...
3) whenever you reach a winning condition, you end the current turn and the game is over at the end of that turn.
However that raise a nice side question an I will open a thread on it.

Brainwave |

Thanks, was pretty sure about 2 and 3. Not so much about #1 but yeah that's how we played it. (I'd rather it played that way honestly, it seems too easy to get good cards for free otherwise).
Btw did we ever get a confirm that you still have all the excess cards from the scenario to work with (and purchase cards with) when visiting traders?

Brainwave |

Btw regarding #2, I noticed there's a FAQ entry for the Bewilder spell (which apparently gives an explore after letting you evade your current combat) so that you can still use it when not exploring and it just makes the exploration available only if you were already exploring.
Is this possibly relevant to using a Blessing of Horus to move when it's not your turn (you can get the explore if you're exploring, if you're not then you don't get that part of the card power)?

Longshot11 |

What about the power on the Blessing of Horus that allows you to move, then you may explore.
If this is indeed the wording, since it says "MAY explore" - yes, absolutely, you can discard it out of turn to move, without executing the explore ("ignore impossible instructions").
If it was "discard to move, then explore" - there could be an argument that you're not allowed to play it out of turn, if 'move and explore' is one whole effect, and you're aware you won't be capable to execute it in its totality.
OTOH, the word "THEN" may incline you to think you're again allowed to move, then ignore the second (impossible) part of the instruction.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Hmmm. I thought for 1) you could use the results of one trade for another trade. I haven't looked at the rules closely though.
As I recall, it goes something like this:
After the rewards bit of After The Scenario, people may trade cards freely.
Then everyone selects the Trader they wish to visit (each character may only visit one trader).
Then you pull out the boons for which the characters may trade.
Then each character may select up to one card for which they may trade.
Then they pay The Price(tm).
Since each character may only trade with one Trader for one card, and swapping cards with other players all happens BEFORE the Trader phase, I don't see a way that someone could get a card from a Trader, swap it to someone else, and have them use it to grab a different card from a Trader.
However, I also don't have the rules in front of me.