Can you use Mage Hand to make a touch attack with an object?


Rules Questions


As if a lesser form of telekinesis, can you use Mage Hand to touch an object to a creature within 15 feet?

Not sure if this has been answered anywhere. If so, please do link.

The Reason:

If you were capable of using Mage Hand to touch an object to an enemy, you could use it to touch a pebble w/ Node of Blasting to an opponent without directly handling the object yourself. Clearly, Mage Hand is not written to be offensive- what I want to know is how much accuracy this spell was intended to have.

Since you can launch it up to 15 ft in any direction, would you say that it'd allow a ranged touch attack to reach a specific target? Would you even need to make a ranged touch attack?

Since this is a non-magical object that has had a spell cast upon it, would it be a possible target for Mage Hand in the first place?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

An unresisting creature ? Yes, you could touch one with a mage-handed object.

A creature who does not want to be touched ? No, that's an attack, and nothing in the spell description of mage hand says anything about it being capable of attacks. The best you could probably do is drop an object from above a creature's square and hope it hits them by dumb luck.

3 seconds (a move action) to move an object 15 feet isn't particularly fast.

Expect variation on that last question. It might be true that having an active spell on an object causes that object to be an invalid target for mage hand. In that case [redacted]'s Magic Aura would be enough to keep the object from being handled. However, it's been a long-standing practice to mage-hand a silenced rock to particular locations.

Use the search feature to find any of the myriad threads on the capabilities/limitations on mage hand.


in general Mage Hand cannot deliver touch spells. Spectral Hand is the first spell to do that directly. Long Arm would add 5ft reach but you are still delivering the touch spell.

We all know Mage Hand cannot pick up magical items. Does casting a spell on an object make it magical? I think the consensus would be yes, albeit temporarily. Magic Weapon works this way to specifically confer an enhancement bonus. Align Weapon, etc.
The other hint is that Detect Magic signals that the item is magical while the spell is active and has a lingering aura afterwards.

So Node of Blasting, Magic Stone, Silence(on a pebble), Darkness(on a pebble), etc all become invalid targets for the spell duration.
Usually casters put such spells on an arrow head or thrown weapon and fire it into the area (not at something hard to avoid breakage). I've also seen a familiar used to carry said object into the opponents area.

The workaround is to Mage Hand a container or string with the magicked item contained/attached.

Unseen Servant could slowly deposit an item in a square or backpack.


@Slimgauge

Yes, that was my stance with regards to using Mage Hand to perform any sort of touch attack. However, I've seen Mage Hand commonly being used by other players for more precise maneuvers obviously not described in the spell description. If a Wizard could Mage Hand a prison key directly into their hands, I figured they'd be able to touch a pebble against a guard.

I think I'll take your interpretation for the future.

I did not find a conclusive answer for Mage Hand being used to carry non-magical objects that have had spells cast upon them, nor did I have much opportunity to research at the time of posting. I figured if it were a commonly asked question that were answered, it'd come up immediately. That does not appear to be the case.

@Azothath

I don't see how touch spells are relevant. Nice thought on using Unseen Servant, but this character would not possess that spell, and an Unseen Servant is ruled not to be capable of attacks (Such as a touch attack with a pebble).

I was searching for a way to make this spell an immediate and reliable threat in combat, such as Mage Handing a single pebble out of a bag of pebbles that have already had Node of Blasting cast upon them.

So far, the back-up plan seems to be a Tube Arrow Shooter with a spell prepped on the loaded ammunition at all times.


Bane Wraith wrote:

As if a lesser form of telekinesis, can you use Mage Hand to touch an object to a creature within 15 feet?

Not sure if this has been answered anywhere. If so, please do link.

The Reason:

If you were capable of using Mage Hand to touch an object to an enemy, you could use it to touch a pebble w/ Node of Blasting to an opponent without directly handling the object yourself. Clearly, Mage Hand is not written to be offensive- what I want to know is how much accuracy this spell was intended to have.

Since you can launch it up to 15 ft in any direction, would you say that it'd allow a ranged touch attack to reach a specific target? Would you even need to make a ranged touch attack?

Since this is a non-magical object that has had a spell cast upon it, would it be a possible target for Mage Hand in the first place?

Reading Node of Blasting, would it have the Symbol of Death restriction against forcing enemies to trigger the touch trap by throwing it at them? I'm not sure if that is a magic trap ruling or only for the Symbol spells.


I'd say it not all magical traps behave as Symbol of Death, and should not draw from its text. Symbol of Death has specific wording regarding the matter. Node of Blasting simply affects whomsoever (with a mind) touches the object next (presumably including you).

Pathfinder already has plenty of traps with a more detailed activation process than that, Such as Explosive Runes not activating when you read them yourself. Unlike those spells directly referencing another spell (such as another Symbol spell referencing Symbol of Death), I see no reason to draw from another spell's description to define how Node of Blasting works.


In my games, I would rule that the phrase 'touches the object' means the creature doing the touching has to be acting. In other words, the object touching person is not the same thing as the person touching the object.

Obviously in some sense, if you are touching something (or it is touching you) the reverse it always true, despite this though, we typically understand the initiating act to be significant in regards to touching (as many parents could attest to from repeated hearing of the phrase 'He is touching me' emanating from backseats.)

I freely admit that this is just an opinion though and a personal interpretation, and their are not strong rules for it either way as far as I know (i.e. you could decide that X touching Y is the same as X touching X or you could view touching as only a verb, something a person does in this case).


Dave Justus wrote:

In my games, I would rule that the phrase 'touches the object' means the creature doing the touching has to be acting. In other words, the object touching person is not the same thing as the person touching the object.

Obviously in some sense, if you are touching something (or it is touching you) the reverse it always true, despite this though, we typically understand the initiating act to be significant in regards to touching (as many parents could attest to from repeated hearing of the phrase 'He is touching me' emanating from backseats.)

I freely admit that this is just an opinion though and a personal interpretation, and their are not strong rules for it either way as far as I know (i.e. you could decide that X touching Y is the same as X touching X or you could view touching as only a verb, something a person does in this case).

That's the way I was leaning as well. Traps in general aren't meant to be used actively. I could see it interpreted both ways though, it's up to GMs unless there is a FAQ on this.


Dave Justus wrote:
X touching Y is the same as X touching X

As per the ruling about holding charges of touch spells and other spells like Defensive Shock, it does matter who is initiating the "touch" and who is recieving it.


I might actually be partial to that opinion, Dave Justus, and suggest it in the future if I found a player abusing it. However, I'd argue that it is actually counter to the RAW and possibly even RAI to suggest 'touching' requires some form of intent or initiation, and I think it muddies the waters. If you cast this spell on a moving object, and your character is fully capable of avoiding such an object, what happens when your character simply stands in the way? If you fall into a pit containing (Node of Blasting affected) spikes, but were aware of the danger and have the ability to fly, does the spell activate?

For now, perhaps it'd be better to stick to the original question and avoid further discussion about the nature of traps... There can be multiple other instances where using Mage Hand to touch an object to a creature can be useful. So far, SlimGauge's post seems to answer it best. Since this spell does not mention any capability of making a touch attack, then any action that would require a touch attack would not be a possibility. (Though I'd still argue that against a Colossal or Gargantuan opponent, it might be a possibility... )

Edit: @ Kyoni: Holding a touch spell, you are still able to accidentally discharging the spell by touching anything. Defensive Shock's description does not seem to help the matter either, having no wording one way or another to suggest the touch needs to be initiated a certain way... Can you possibly come up with something more concrete?

Perhaps it'd be best to make a separate thread about the issue, since so far nobody has referenced a clear answer...


Bane Wraith wrote:
Holding a touch spell, you are still able to accidentally discharging the spell by touching anything. Defensive Shock's description does not seem to help the matter either, having no wording one way or another to suggest the touch needs to be initiated a certain way... Can you possibly come up with something more concrete?

You can only discharge a touch spell when you touch something/somebody, whether on purpose or by accident. If somebody touches you, the charge doesn't go off: it's not about intent, it's about who initiates the touching.

You can't "rub yourself" on your enemy to trigger Defensive Shock on them.

You could push somebody into a trap (Node of Blasting, classic old pit, ...) and his movement (forced, but still his movement) would then trigger the trap.

Beguiling Gift is another good example for this consistent Pathfinder rule.

Liberty's Edge

Bane Wraith wrote:

@Slimgauge

Yes, that was my stance with regards to using Mage Hand to perform any sort of touch attack. However, I've seen Mage Hand commonly being used by other players for more precise maneuvers obviously not described in the spell description. If a Wizard could Mage Hand a prison key directly into their hands, I figured they'd be able to touch a pebble against a guard.

Those are two very different thing.

Mage hand wrote:
You point your finger at an object and can lift it and move it at will from a distance. As a move action, you can propel the object as far as 15 feet in any direction, though the spell ends if the distance between you and the object ever exceeds the spell's range.

By that description you can easily pick a keyring from its hook and move it toward you. You can't attack someone that is aware of the moving item.

Mage hand essentially is like having a very long and weightless rod with and hook or patch of glue at the end. You can retrieve items or propel them toward a position, but anything mobile can easily dodge them (if aware of them).


now im just imagining a caster using mage hand to throw tiny spell storing armors with shocking grasp put onto them to deal damage


Kyoni wrote:


You could push somebody into a trap (Node of Blasting, classic old pit, ...) and his movement (forced, but still his movement) would then trigger the trap.

I'll do a bit of research, and if found wanting, make another thread. Thank you for your input, though right now I remain unconvinced.

As for the original question... Alright. It seems generally accepted that Mage Hand can't be used to deliver an object unto someone else against their will, granted they have the ability to avoid the object at all. Seems like a fair call for a cantrip, for everything except the more extreme scenarios (I still doubt a Colossal creature can avoid an object going 15 feet into their space). But that's what the most important rule is for.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you use Mage Hand to make a touch attack with an object? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions