Deadly Aim Combat Trick


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Deadly Aim Combat Trick reads:

When using this feat, you can spend 4 stamina points to reduce the penalty to attack rolls imposed by the feat by 1 until the beginning of your next turn. You can't reduce the penalty below 0.

Should it be:

When using this feat, you can spend 'up to' 4 stamina points to reduce the penalty to attack rolls imposed by the feat by 1 'per stamina point spent' until the beginning of your next turn. You can't reduce the penalty below 0.

The "You can't reduce the penalty below 0" line makes no sense in the RAW trick.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Not necessarily. You could, in theory, spend four stamina points multiple times.

Though that is a very massive stamina cost.


It undoubtedly should be and the GM should houserule that it is. Unless you're in PFS, in which case you lose.

Saethori, as written it only allows you to spend the 4 once.


It could be meaning that if there are other ways that reduce the deadly aim penalty (I can't think of any off the top of my head though) that this ability still can't reduce it to below 0. The intent would be to prevent someone who has a 1 point penalty, reducing it by 2, resulting in a -1 penalty, or effectively a +1 bonus. This caps the reduction at 0 always.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Deadly Aim Combat Trick All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.