| AngryPanda |
Several questions for clarification:
Firstly, does making a melee touch attack when attempting to touch attack with a touch spell (such as a Shocking Grasp) grant the +2 flanking bonus if the creature would be considered flanked for a normal melee attack? I have seen a number of other threads on various topics (mostly sneak attacks) where this question is addressed in passing generally indicating that it would, but would like a more direct discussion and answer on the topic. I see nothing in the rules that indicates it would not grant the bonus, as attempting a touch attack with a touch spell means you are considered armed (Touch Spells in Combat, p. 185, CRB), and by my reading would therefore be treated as a normal melee attack except for the defender's loss of armor, shield, and natural armor bonuses, and the lack of punching damage upon a successful strike.
Secondly, if I am reading the description of flanking right, an unarmed caster would not normally provide a flanking bonus for another character, as it does not threaten the squares around it without some additional ability (Threatened Squares, p. 180, CRB). Am I understanding this correctly?
Finally, where does the claim that a touch spell being held causes a character to be considered armed, again found in several other threads, come from? I see where the act of successfully delivering a touch spell via touch attack causes the caster to be considered armed, and by extension I would think a failed touch attack would still be considered an armed attack, but I see no clear indication that the act of holding the spell, either by choice or due to failure to make contact on a touch, unarmed, or natural weapon melee attack, would cause an otherwise unarmed caster to be armed (and therefore provide a flanking bonus or get AoO by threatening squares).
Thanks!
| Gauss |
A melee touch attack is a melee attack, so yes, you gain the +2 bonus. There is nothing to provide an exception to that.
An unarmed caster does not normally threaten unless he has a touch spell he is holding (see next point).
Yes, a creature holding a touch spell is armed.
Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
- Gauss
| Quantum Steve |
As long as you have an ally to flank with you get the flanking bonus. You don't even have to be armed or threaten to get the flanking bonus provided by an ally; you can even use an unarmed strike and receive the bonus.
However, you only provide a flanking bonus for your ally if you threaten. A held charge, while considered armed for provoking AoOs, does not actually threaten. You cannot make an AoO with a held charge, and you can't provide a flanking bonus to your ally.
| AngryPanda |
Per my reading, I am inclined to agree with Steve. Improved Unarmed Strike states that, "You are considered to be armed...," whereas the section on touch spells says, "Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack...," not that the character is considered armed. It seems odd that simply holding a spell would make the character armed, which would then enable them to threaten squares, grant flanking bonuses, and take AoOs.