Ready an action to swap places


Rules Questions

51 to 100 of 101 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

My trigger doesn't ignore any rules of the game. There are no limits set as to what is or is not a "condition" for a readied action.


Melkiador wrote:
My trigger doesn't ignore any rules of the game. There are no limits set as to what is or is not a "condition" for a readied action.

your trigger doesn't exist in the game because the game doesn't account for being partially in squares. welcome to rule 0.


And if you'd like another way of doing this, a free action can be performed at any point during another action. So set a trigger to 5 foot step when my ally says "go". The ally moves into my space and just before stopping says "go". This triggers my 5 foot step off of his free action instead of his move action, and since he's already almost finished the move out by the time of his free action, he is no longer occupying the space.


N N 959 wrote:
cuatroespada wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
You keep trying to change the trigger so that it happens before T leaves his square.
false. i've done no such thing. you keep changing the triggering action. i already admitted that RAW doesn't really specify what the triggering action can be. that's why we got creative before with triggering actions, and i've never objected to you changing what the triggering action is. i've only argued that the originally presented scenario cannot be done because the triggering action there was "when D take a 5 foot step backward" and as you point out

Then I'll apologize if I've not been clear. I've never intended to defend the specifics of the OP, just that two characters can swap spots within the RAW. If you agree, then there's nothing we need to debate.

ah well yes, that's certainly doable. and i also agree that you shouldn't have to get so creative with phrasing because as soon as you do, we've clearly established a way to do it and should just let it happen.


Melkiador wrote:
And if you'd like another way of doing this, a free action can be performed at any point during another action. So set a trigger to 5 foot step when my ally says "go". The ally moves into my space and just before stopping says "go". This triggers my 5 foot step off of his free action instead of his move action, and since he's already started the move out by the free action, he is no longer occupying the space.

we've already established that there are several ways to phrase this to appease and overly pedantic GM. i was only objecting to your use of partially occupied squares.


In the absence of a partially occupied square, you would round down to 0, so the ally is not occupying any squares at the time of his move.


Melkiador wrote:
In the absence of a partially occupied square, you would round down to 0, so the ally is not occupying any squares at the time of his move.

citation?

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
cuatroespada wrote:

no, the point is RAW does not allow this, but we can all agree that any GM enforcing that is being overly pedantic.

edit: see my last post before this one for phrasing to satisfy such a GM.

RAW does allow the swap. Insisting on interpreting the rules in a way that imposes discontinuity when one would not logically exist is in violation of designers stating that the rules are to be interpreted with "common sense."

D readies an action to move before T attacks. T takes a 5' step and attacks. Neither character finishes their turn in an occupied square.

RAW don't allow it and my common sense say that you can't do it without provoking unless you have some specific training i.e. the appropriate teamwork feat).

Switching you position with another person while fighting with someone isn't easy at all. common sense say that, differently from our characters, people don't have 360° vision, so checking your ally position and movement expose you to your enemy attacks.

As was said be a few posters D would have to leave his square before T can step in it. And D can't end his move in D square he can't take a 5' step (AFAIK you can't take a 5' step in an invalid location on the basis of "but special circumstances will make it a valid location after I have moved"). So, unless there it another valid square he would have to start a normal move, so that he can reach a square behind D (if he take a 5' step he end his move in a invalid square and return immediately to the starting square).
After he has vacated his starting square T can take his readied action of "when D square is empty I take a 5' step to fill it (eventually together with a standard action)".
That action interrupt but don't end D movement, so after T has make his 5' step he can complete his movement in the square he prefer.

Liberty's Edge

Melkiador wrote:
You just ready to 5 foot step into your ally's square when he leaves his square. Then your ally begins a move through your square, then your readied action resolves and the ally chooses to end his move in your old square as a 5 foot step.

You can't decide that your move action is a 5' step after starting it as a move action.

And you can't start a 5' step if it put you in a invalid square.

You can move only 5' with a move action, but it is still a move action.

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
cuatroespada wrote:
right; a GM can allow something the rules as written don't allow... but that doesn't change that RAW there is no way to do what you're talking about. a GM can rule that it's fine, but anything that goes back to rule 0 is a thing you can expect table variation on.

The rules do allow it. I'll repeat the steps that are 100% RAW.

D readies a backward 5' step before T attacks E.

T takes a 5' step and then attacks E.

D's readied action is triggered after T's 5's step, but before T actually attacks.

Neither character ends their turn in an occupied square.

PRD wrote:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.

Movement, not turn!

Liberty's Edge

O'Mouza wrote:

So... by the rules:

1) Two PC in a closed room 10x5 can't swap their place. They will be forever in the square they are in the beginning. Right?

You miss a few words: "During combat", "without any way to leave the room" and "without provoking".

The right phrase is:

"During combat Two PC in a closed room 10x5 without any way to leave the room can't swap their place. They will be forever in the square they are in the beginning."

The question is who or what they are figthing. A swarm?


Diego Rossi wrote:


Movement, not turn!

Nobody ends their movement in an occupied square. That's already been covered. There is no rule that says a character can't initiate movement into an illegal square. RAW says you can't "end movement." If you want to be hyperpedantic, then the rules work against you.


Diego Rossi wrote:


RAW don't allow it and my common sense say that you can't do it without provoking unless you have some specific training i.e. the appropriate teamwork feat).
Switching you position with another person while fighting with someone isn't easy at all. common sense say that, differently from our characters, people don't have 360° vision, so checking your ally position and movement expose you to your enemy attacks.

None of this is based on RAW, so you're entitled to your opinion.

But for the record, athletes in team sports frequently swap positions in less than 50 square feet of space, it's called switching a screen in basketball and that happens in less than a 10' square. Football defensive line men perform"stunts" in which they swap places after the ball is snapped. The corresponding offensive linemen sometimes do the same swap. So common sense says it's not an issue for trained soldiers. You don't need 360 degree vision to hear/feel/sense someone is behind you. Characters don't fill up a 5'x5' square, they tactically control it. So T has plenty of room with which to enter D's square unless D is a gelatinous cube, proven by the fact that I can move through an ally occupied square without issue, regardless of what direction I am approaching or whether the ally is engaged in combat.

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


RAW don't allow it and my common sense say that you can't do it without provoking unless you have some specific training i.e. the appropriate teamwork feat).
Switching you position with another person while fighting with someone isn't easy at all. common sense say that, differently from our characters, people don't have 360° vision, so checking your ally position and movement expose you to your enemy attacks.

None of this is based on RAW, so you're entitled to your opinion.

But for the record, athletes in team sports frequently swap positions in less than 50 square feet of space, it's called switching a screen in basketball and that happens in less than a 10' square. Football defensive line men perform"stunts" in which they swap places after the ball is snapped. The corresponding offensive linemen sometimes do the same swap. So common sense says it's not an issue for trained soldiers. You don't need 360 degree vision to hear/feel/sense someone is behind you. Characters don't fill up a 5'x5' square, they tactically control it. So T has plenty of room with which to enter D's square unless D is a gelatinous cube, proven by the fact that I can move through an ally occupied square without issue, regardless of what direction I am approaching or whether the ally is engaged in combat.

A playing field is "a little" more safe than a battlefield and way smoother, but players are still tripping, losing the ball or having it stolen. And how many hours of training they do playing together exactly those moves? That is special training in doing exactly that. Most team players have the equivalent of several teamwork feats.

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


Movement, not turn!
Nobody ends their movement in an occupied square. That's already been covered. There is no rule that says a character can't initiate movement into an illegal square. RAW says you can't "end movement." If you want to be hyperpedantic, then the rules work against you.

You read "Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space" as a permission of moving in a illegal square. You are really incredible.


How about the trigger, "After D has entered my square, step forward 5' and attack (or whatever standard action he can do)".

T readies
D 5' steps back into T's square.
T ready action goes off BEFORE D ends his move and T steps forward
D movement ends


Diego Rossi wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


Movement, not turn!
Nobody ends their movement in an occupied square. That's already been covered. There is no rule that says a character can't initiate movement into an illegal square. RAW says you can't "end movement." If you want to be hyperpedantic, then the rules work against you.
You read "Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space" as a permission of moving in a illegal square. You are really incredible.

as far as i know, there is nothing that stops you from declaring your intent to move into a square that is currently occupied if you know that it won't be when you get there. it, admittedly, gave me pause, but unless you can cite the RAW that forbids it, it's legal.


Declaring something that you can not do is either not legal or has not effect.

If a turtle falls over a cliff, and declares she flies, the GM should say 'Ok." and she will keep falling. The same way, if a character declares she moves into someone's square, as that is not a valid option of movement, she will move as much as the falling turtle flew, nothing.

On the other hand, I do not think it is valid to ready an action that includes the own trigger. In other words, declaring "I Ready A when A happens" should not be accepted. In this case at hand: someone readies to move when herself has moved, or in the case of the OP, I ready to move there when she moves here, but in order for that to happen I have to move there.

A recursive trigger should not be valid.

====

So back to the former question. I believe that the character in the back can perfectly get into the forward position with a Ready action, what I think it can't be done is for the retreating character to move just a 5-Feet step, and in the absurd case both declare that they ready an action for the other to move first, obviously, none move.

====

To accomplish the "Swap places" feat, get the Feat.


unless you're tired of Paizo making feats to let you do things you were already doing before there was a feat for it... in which case, just swap places.

there's really no good reason (especially since you can talk on anyone's turn) that two characters shouldn't be able to coordinate and accomplish this.


Valandil, what Diego tried to explain is the meaning of the term "Illegal Space".

An occupied space is an "Illegal Space" regarding movement ending; at this point we all should agree that the consequences of being illegal are that it is not elligible as a space to move into. Even the rules cover what to do when you end your movement there because an unexpected situation -lets say a turtle falls on your place, and the impact does not disable you nor the turtle-.

So it is obvious that D can not declare a 5' step because it is Illegal and not elligible, and thus the trigger never happens because D never leaves her place.

At this point, as we tried to explain before, the options for D are:

- Get the feat "Friendly Switch".
- Move more than 5' and declare a elligible spot, and thus provoking.
- Wait for T's square to be unoccupied.


cuatroespada, as you said before, if I'm not wrong, we are not here to discuss rule 0.

The RAW answer to the OP is: no, get the Feat or get the AoO.


i'm sorry; i must have missed the part of the RAW that insist that the ruleset is strictly permissive and that this isn't a thing you can do. the inference that a feat allowing you to do it means per RAW you can't is exactly that. inferences aren't RAW.

and i didn't say we weren't here to discuss rule 0. i said that this falls to rule 0. if that's true, the discussion is over. you're insisting it is not rule 0 territory.


The feat doesn't have much to do with this. The feat allows you to swap places on your turn, where the readied action requires you to wait until your ally's turn. They are not the same.


Q: Is it legal to end your movement in an occupied square?
A: No.

[Check Combat Section, Ending Your Movement section][It reads: You can't end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.] Period. No exceptions.

Corollary (1):
Q: Is it legal to declare an illegal action?
A: No.

Corollary(2):
Q. Is it legal to declare to move into an illegal square?
A: No.

Corollary(3):
Q: Is it legal to take a 5-Feet step into an occupied square?
A: No.

Corollary(4):
Q: Can 'D' -under OP scenario- declare to step back 5-feet?
A: No.

===

Some people argue that there is a fold in space between squares where creatures exist while they move. Maybe that fol exists, but it is not RAW. I've never seen it written in any publication.

In other words: you can not declare I start moving when my friend is crossing the space/time fold, but before she arrives my square. Your friend is either at her starting square, so you can not occupy it, or in your square, which is illegal by the rules.


Melkiador, the people who is against this action have no problem with the Ready, the problem is that D can not declare to move into an illegal square.

T can perfectly declare with no problem "when D's square gets unoccupied I move forward".

What we are against up is for D to declare "I move into T's square and finish my movement there" (because it is a 5-Foot step, and you can only perform a 5-Foot step if you do not move anymore in your turn, which will imply that D pretends to finish her movement into T's square, which is occupied by T, making her decision illegal).


Actually this discussion is complete nonsense. Anguish pointed out the best -in therms of being tactically right and rulewise correct- option. T delays, D withdraws, T makes a 5-Foot step and whacks.

If OP intention was that D got a Full-attack and then a 5-Foot step, sorry, that is not valid.


Diego Rossi wrote:
You read "Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space" as a permission of moving in a illegal square. You are really incredible.

I don't know what alter reality you're operating in, but the player declares they are taking a 5' step ahead. When that character's move ends, the character is standing in an unoccupied square. The character can legally move into an occupied square, it cannot end its movement in an occupied square. Nothing is violated per RAW.

Claiming that a player can't declare a 5' step into an occupied square isn't RAW...it's Rule 0. Claiming that a player can't initiate a movement into a square that is occupied is false, demonstratively false as I can move into an occupied square as I move through an ally's square.


Numarak wrote:

Declaring something that you can not do is either not legal or has not effect.

If a turtle falls over a cliff, and declares she flies, the GM should say 'Ok." and she will keep falling. The same way, if a character declares she moves into someone's square, as that is not a valid option of movement, she will move as much as the falling turtle flew, nothing.

That's a disanalogy. An accurate analogy is the turtle flaps its arms and then suddenly finds it can fly. T initiates a 5' step into D's square. Before T's movement ends, the square is unoccupied. Nothing illegal happens.

Numarak wrote:
To accomplish the "Swap places" feat, get the Feat

The feat is not simply for swapping places. 1 - the ally moves as an "immediate" action, and 2 - the movement doesn't count against the ally's movement for that round. Neither of these is true without the feat.

Just as the Two-Weapon fighting feat isn't needed to fight with two weapons, the Swap Places feat is not needed to swap places, it simply allows you to do it with less cost/penalty.

Liberty's Edge

cuatroespada wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:


Movement, not turn!
Nobody ends their movement in an occupied square. That's already been covered. There is no rule that says a character can't initiate movement into an illegal square. RAW says you can't "end movement." If you want to be hyperpedantic, then the rules work against you.
You read "Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space" as a permission of moving in a illegal square. You are really incredible.
as far as i know, there is nothing that stops you from declaring your intent to move into a square that is currently occupied if you know that it won't be when you get there. it, admittedly, gave me pause, but unless you can cite the RAW that forbids it, it's legal.

You need a RAW that say that you can't voluntarily move to a invalid square?

The checks is simple:
- when you move the target square is a valid square for teh kind of move you are takin?
- reply: No, it is not a valid target for a 5' step as it is occupied. It is a valid target for the first square of a regular move as you can continue your movement after entering it.

Look how it work:
D take a 5' step in T square
T has a readied action to move in T square as soon as it is empty
D complete its 5' step, verify if the movement is valid, it isn't, and he is moved back to his starting square
Even if T has a readied action to move to D square as soon as it is empty, that square become empty only after D 5' step has been completed, but the completion of D move is the check if he end his movement in a valid square, so D starting square is never empty.

Now bot D and T go to D starting square

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
Numarak wrote:

Declaring something that you can not do is either not legal or has not effect.

If a turtle falls over a cliff, and declares she flies, the GM should say 'Ok." and she will keep falling. The same way, if a character declares she moves into someone's square, as that is not a valid option of movement, she will move as much as the falling turtle flew, nothing.

That's a disanalogy. An accurate analogy is the turtle flaps its arms and then suddenly finds it can fly. T initiates a 5' step into D's square. Before T's movement ends, the square is unoccupied. Nothing illegal happens.

Numarak wrote:
To accomplish the "Swap places" feat, get the Feat

The feat is not simply for swapping places. 1 - the ally moves as an "immediate" action, and 2 - the movement doesn't count against the ally's movement for that round. Neither of these is true without the feat.

Just as the Two-Weapon fighting feat isn't needed to fight with two weapons, the Swap Places feat is not needed to swap places, it simply allows you to do it with less cost/penalty.

If D space is empty before T move end, T starting square is not empty has T hasn't yet moved from it.

2 characters 2 occupied spaces.

Scarab Sages

Regarding using readied move or 5' step actions to swap places with other characters:

I think the GM would probably allow it, if you asked. PFS or otherwise, it's just a reasonable request in most situations.

That said, I also think it is very technically against the rules. There are feats for this, if you want to do it within the rules.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:

That said, I also think it is very technically against the rules. There are feats for this, if you want to do it within the rules.

cuatroespada wrote:
the inference that a feat allowing you to do it means per RAW you can't is exactly that. inferences aren't RAW.

Scarab Sages

cuatroespada wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:

That said, I also think it is very technically against the rules. There are feats for this, if you want to do it within the rules.

cuatroespada wrote:
the inference that a feat allowing you to do it means per RAW you can't is exactly that. inferences aren't RAW.

Unrelated. I think it is technically against the rules to attempt swap places normally via readied actions. I also think just about any GM would allow it, if asked, despite this minor technicality.

Regarding the feats, I think if you don't want to have to ask the GM, you can use the feats. Asking the GM is within the rules, and the issue isn't one of logic, but one of rule technicalities. The issue is turn order and occupying space, as use of readied actions temporarily can interupt an ally, but cannot actually occupy the same instance. So the spaces are always going to be occupied each time the player tries to move, as it will halt the other player's turn.

It's really not much different than dancing with another person, but the combat rules don't really allow this sort of thing. It's a technicality within the rules, but not really an intended thing to ban. So, as before, just ask the GM. The GM will very likely allow it.

And specifically regarding Swap Places, there is no readied action here. You move as a move action and the ally with the feat moves as an immediate action. So, it really isn't the same thing. But, if you were very opposed to asking the GM, this would be your option for swapping places.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:


That said, I also think it is very technically against the rules. There are feats for this, if you want to do it within the rules.

"Technically" it's not against the rules.

1. The rules unequivocally state that you cannot end your movement in an illegal space.

2. Technically, the rules don't stop you from beginning a move into an occupied space, the rules stop you from ending your move in an occupied space.

3. Technically, the readied action allows D to interrupt T after T has started moving into D's square, but before T stops moving.

4. Technically T is in D's square but D moves into T's vacated square before T ends T's movement because that's exactly what the Readied action can do, as demonstrated by interrupting spell casters after they start casting the spell, but before they complete it. It is the very example of using the Readied Action to disrupt a spell that allows us to technically swap places be having D move before T technically stops moving.

Technically, the rules allow this. GMs can ignore this technicality and invent rules like claiming that trying to move into an occupied space is illegal, because technically, there is no rule that states this. This action does not duplicate the feat. The feat allows D to swap places by expending an immediate action while retaining full movement. Without the feat, D has to use a Standard action and cannot move beyond the 5' step.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:


Unrelated.

It is unrelated, and that's what Cuatro is essentially saying. The existence of the Swap Places feat does not preclude swapping places without the feat. Some of the posters in this thread seem to be implying, if not out right stating, that the existence of the feat means that's the only way to do it.


Diego Rossi wrote:

Look how it work:

D take a 5' step in T square
T has a readied action to move in T square as soon as it is empty
D complete its 5' step, verify if the movement is valid, it isn't, and he is moved back to his starting square
Even if T has a readied action to move to D square as soon as it is empty, that square become empty only after D 5' step has been completed, but the completion of D move is the check if he end his movement in a valid square, so D starting square is never empty.

Now bot D and T go to D starting square

As far as I know, there is no RAW for exact order of operation as you describe. So I disagree with "D complete its 5' step, verify if the movement is valid, it isn't, and he is moved back to his starting square". Why couldn't a readied action interrupt D's turn between the action of movement and the determination of it ending in an illegal square? What RAW prevents it?

As for those who say you can't declare an illegal move. If my character declares he is taking a 5' step to a square which contains an invisible creature (that my character is unaware of), is my 5' step used up or not?


Valandil, read a bit further. Two paragraphs ahead: accidentally ending your move on an occupied space -as per not seeing an invisible whatsoever-.

So yes: your 5' step would be used and you will get back to your former square.

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:


That said, I also think it is very technically against the rules. There are feats for this, if you want to do it within the rules.

"Technically" it's not against the rules.

1. The rules unequivocally state that you cannot end your movement in an illegal space.

2. Technically, the rules don't stop you from beginning a move into an occupied space, the rules stop you from ending your move in an occupied space.

3. Technically, the readied action allows D to interrupt T after T has started moving into D's square, but before T stops moving.

4. Technically T is in D's square but D moves into T's vacated square before T ends T's movement because that's exactly what the Readied action can do, as demonstrated by interrupting spell casters after they start casting the spell, but before they complete it. It is the very example of using the Readied Action to disrupt a spell that allows us to technically swap places be having D move before T technically stops moving.

Technically, the rules allow this. GMs can ignore this technicality and invent rules like claiming that trying to move into an occupied space is illegal, because technically, there is no rule that states this. This action does not duplicate the feat. The feat allows D to swap places by expending an immediate action while retaining full movement. Without the feat, D has to use a Standard action and cannot move beyond the 5' step.

Technically there isn't a time in which T square is empty but he hasn't moved in D square.

So all you argument is invalid.


Numarak wrote:

Valandil, read a bit further. Two paragraphs ahead: accidentally ending your move on an occupied space -as per not seeing an invisible whatsoever-.

So yes: your 5' step would be used and you will get back to your former square.

which doesn't change that they legally declared an illegal move. so... you can do that.

Scarab Sages

N N 959 wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:


That said, I also think it is very technically against the rules.

"Technically"

You keep dwelling on that phrase. My use of it is just because although I do believe it is against the rules as a technicality, I also think that reasonable GMs would allow it in most situations. So I'd consider it a blue law in respect for the rules.

The reason you can't do it is more a byproduct of combat being "turn-based" and less about any logical reason it can't be done.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:


You keep dwelling on that phrase. My use of it is just because although I do believe it is against the rules as a technicality, I also think that reasonable GMs would allow it in most situations. So I'd consider it a blue law in respect for the rules.

I understand. I am simply trying to make the counter-point that when we examine the rules with a magnifying glass and focus on being hyper-technical about what the rules allow and don't allow, the rules allow it.

Think of it this way:

- We both agree that two characters should be able to swap places in a round given some combination of actions.
- You're pointing out that the technical and limited nature of the rules would actually prohibit this.
- I'm pointing out that if you truly get technical, to an absurd level, the rules allow it.


Diego Rossi wrote:

Technically there isn't a time in which T square is empty but he hasn't moved in D square.

So all you argument is invalid.

On the contrary, your statement is what "technically" allows T and D to swap places. Why? Because "technically" D can use the Readied action to complete D's move into T's empty square before T complete's T's movement. It's precisely because the Readied Action can create a space between spell start and and spell complete, regardless of the spell's actual casting time, is why I can complete an action before T stops moving, but after T has left T's square. "Technically" there are infinite points in time before the completion of Trigger action in which a Readied Action can complete.

Scarab Sages

N N 959 wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:

Technically there isn't a time in which T square is empty but he hasn't moved in D square.

So all you argument is invalid.
On the contrary, your statement is what "technically" allows T and D to swap places. Why? Because "technically" D can use the Readied action to complete D's move into T's empty square before T complete's T's movement. It's precisely because the Readied Action can create a space between spell start and and spell complete, regardless of the spell's actual casting time, is why I can complete an action before T stops moving, but after T has left T's square. "Technically" there are infinite points in time before the completion of Trigger action in which a Readied Action can complete.

So, your logic is that player 1 moves into player 2's space which is occupied, but then the readied action permits player 1 to "hang there" while player 2 uses a readied move action to move into the now unoccupied space? Then player 1 "finishes" their move by remaining in the now unoccupied space.

In reading the readied action rules, I don't think they permit you to allow characters to "hang" in illegal spaces just because their action was interrupted. I think having an official rule here creates a dangerous precedence.

I would leave this one as an "ask the GM" answer because while swapping places is reasonable, I can certainly see ways that officially allowing "incomplete" moves could create problems in a game mechanic capacity.


I would probably just 'ready an action' to perform the "Reposition" maneuver, and the other guy allow himself to be moved. Then the other guy base his 'ready action' on being moved with reposition.

The result is virtually the same, and I don't see a problem with either interpretation.

YIDM

Scarab Sages

YIDM wrote:

I would probably just 'ready an action' to perform the "Reposition" maneuver, and the other guy allow himself to be moved. Then the other guy base his 'ready action' on being moved with reposition.

The result is virtually the same, and I don't see a problem with either interpretation.

YIDM

Except re-position is a standard action. They want to do it as a free action via 5' step. Doing it as readied move action also creates the same issues.

Liberty's Edge

N N 959 wrote:
Murdock Mudeater wrote:


You keep dwelling on that phrase. My use of it is just because although I do believe it is against the rules as a technicality, I also think that reasonable GMs would allow it in most situations. So I'd consider it a blue law in respect for the rules.

I understand. I am simply trying to make the counter-point that when we examine the rules with a magnifying glass and focus on being hyper-technical about what the rules allow and don't allow, the rules allow it.

Think of it this way:

- We both agree that two characters should be able to swap places in a round given some combination of actions.
- You're pointing out that the technical and limited nature of the rules would actually prohibit this.
- I'm pointing out that if you truly get technical, to an absurd level, the rules allow it.

They can do it, what they can't do is to do that while both using a 5' step to move.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:


So, your logic is that player 1 moves into player 2's space which is occupied, but then the readied action permits player 1 to "hang there" while player 2 uses a readied move action to move into the now unoccupied space? Then player 1 "finishes" their move by remaining in the now unoccupied space.

In reading the readied action rules, I don't think they permit you to allow characters to "hang" in illegal spaces just because their action was interrupted. I think having an official rule here creates a dangerous precedence.

Player 1 isn't being "permitted" to do anything. RAW states that the readied action "interrupts." The spell casting example shows us that the interruption can occur int the middle of any act of unknown length to the interruptor. The interruptor has noway of knowing how long the spell is going to take to complete, but all the player needs to declare is that they are going to attack if the caster casts a spell. In this case, D declares that he is going to act before T stops moving, and D thus interrupt's T's movement and by RAW, D's movement completes before T's movement ends. That's RAW. And honestly, if PF didn't want people doing these types of things with Readied Actions, then they could have put some limitations on what is a valid trigger, and there are virtually none.

Now, you can Rule 0 that you can't interrupt a 5' step, or that you can't declare a 5' step into an occupied square (even if the character knows it won't be occupied at the end of the step), or that D has to interrupt before T moves out of T's square, but then you can Rule 0 anything.

Scarab Sages

Murdock Mudeater wrote:
YIDM wrote:

I would probably just 'ready an action' to perform the "Reposition" maneuver, and the other guy allow himself to be moved. Then the other guy base his 'ready action' on being moved with reposition.

The result is virtually the same, and I don't see a problem with either interpretation.

YIDM

Except re-position is a standard action. They want to do it as a free action via 5' step. Doing it as readied move action also creates the same issues.

Lol, my mistake here. I always forget this bit:

Quote:
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).

So even if you intend a 5' step, it is still a standard action to ready it.

Functionally, the Reposition maneuver is the most appropriate rule option for swapping places as a readied action. YIDM has it right.


Quote:

You can ready a standard action, a move action, a swift action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, anytime before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character's activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.

You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don't otherwise move any distance during the round.

you can ready some other standard action and still 5 ft. step.

101 of 101 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ready an action to swap places All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.