RotR FAQ answer error

Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion

Wanted to make sure the following FAQ answer actually prescribes some play that would be incorrect.

The Question within the RotR FAQ is a follows:

Can I reveal two Belts of Incredible Dexterity over and over to add ∞ to my Dexterity?

Answer (Offending Play in ALL CAPS):

Of course not. Any specific card's power can be activated once per check or step, and then it can't do that again until the next time you do something. So you cannot reveal a single Belt of Incredible Dexterity twice to add 2 to your Dexterity check, BUT YOU COULD REVEAL TWO COPIES ONCE EACH; similarly, you cannot reveal a single Magic Shield three times to reduce a single instance of Combat damage dealt to you by 6, but you could reveal it once to reduce “before the encounter” combat damage dealt by a Scout, and then reveal it a second time to reduce Combat damage if you fail to defeat the Scout.

Resolution: On page 9 of the Rulebook, under Playing Cards, add the following sentence to the definition of Reveal: "You may not reveal the same card for its power more than once per check or step."

--- End of Answer-----

So, wouldn't revealing two copies of the belts within the same check be incorrect play? That would be playing two cards of the same type within the same check afterall.

Usually you'd be right. But you are unfamiliar with the powers of the Belt of Incredible Dexterity:

Belt of Incredible Dexterity wrote:
Reveal this card to add 1 to your Dexterity check. You may play another item on this check.

No, it is legal, here's why:

If you own a Belt of Incredible Dexterity it reads " You may play another ITEM on this check"

Since both belts are items you can reveal each, once.

This is true with most items that have the ACCESSORY trait. Basically the way I think about it thematically is: it is something you do not have to wield to use, so any or all available can be used, like a passive bonus.

So... if you are wearing two belts you can use two belts, since they are separate cards each can be used, once. Just like rings, hat or the like.



Should have done my homework.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / RotR FAQ answer error All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion