persistent spell on Black tentacles


Rules Questions


Simple question.
DM says that since its not a save from the spell itself, but an effect the spell does (grapple), i cannot use persistent spells - i disagree.

What is the official verdict?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Black Tentacles doesn't allow a save, so Persistent Spell does nothing for it.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Black Tentacles
School conjuration (creation); Level sorcerer/wizard 4
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (octopus or squid tentacle)
Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Area 20-ft.-radius spread
Duration 1 round/level (D)
Saving Throw: none; Spell Resistance: no

No save....no Persistent Spell feat.


To be precise, you could Persistent Spell it, but that would only kick in when somebody needed to make a save against, which would never happen, so you've just used a sixth-level spell slot to exactly the same effect as a fourth level spell slot.


Although persistent dazing black tentacles can be a thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / persistent spell on Black tentacles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.