
![]() |

If I have a feat/item/class feature which expands my list of creatures I can summon with a summoning spell, does this affect my summoning options with wands of summon monster/nature's ally?
Basic example, I take Skeleton Summoner. I use my wand of Summon Monster 1. Can I use the Wand to Summon a "human skeleton" as per the feat?

![]() |

In broad strokes, I would assume that most list expanders say "when YOU cast...", and therefore don't work when an item casts a spell for you.
Is that the logic? I've always been unclear on this point. So the idea is that the Wand is casting, not the character using the wand?

Jeraa |

This is covered in the FAQ.
Items as Spells: Does using a potion, scroll, staff, or wand count as "casting a spell" for purposes of feats and special abilities like Augment Summoning, Spell Focus, an evoker's ability to do extra damage with evocation spells, bloodline abilities, and so on?
No. Unless they specifically state otherwise, feats and abilities that modify spells you cast only affect actual spellcasting, not using magic items that emulate spellcasting or work like spellcasting.