Unexpectedly in an illegal space


Rules Questions


So I am GMing again after a long hiatus, and a strange situation came up.

The characters had an opponent flanked in a narrow, 5-foot corridor, like this:

ABCXD

X is the opponent.
A is the Druid
B is the Druid's animal companion
C is a squishy, who should not have been there.

Opponent-X drops the squishy-C, who is now unconscious, at -2.
C is dying, misses save and bleeds to -3.
B moves up into C's space and attacks X.
A moves up and now is adjacent to C. Casts CLW for 6 points.

What happens now? B and C are in the same space, but it is neither's turn.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Move them to the closest legal square.


Or have them suffer squeezing penalties.


James Risner wrote:
Move them to the closest legal square.

That is what I did -- moved her 2 spaces to the left, but it seemed to be cheating to allow such a move without using an action -- and outside of her turn to boot. If the fourth player (Player E) had also moved-up, she would have been moving around a corner too.


Retcon A's actions to include dragging C back far enough to free the space as the cure light wounds takes effect?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Brf wrote:
but it seemed to be cheating to allow such a move without using an action

Wrong or not, it's the rules:

Quote:
Accidentally Ending Movement in an Illegal Space: Sometimes a character ends its movement while moving through a space where it's not allowed to stop. When that happens, put your miniature in the last legal position you occupied, or the closest legal position, if there's a legal position that's closer.

Remember the closest might be where they started.


I assumed that rule is applying to the same turn the character is moving. In that case they would be "put back" during their own turn.

Bill Dunn's suggestion makes the most sense in this situation. Being new players, we all did not think ahead. The Druid should have dragged the Squishy back before doing the CLW. I am not sure of the action-economy of doing that though.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

One is prone the other is not.

That is fine until the prone one stand, he will be moved to the closest legal square.


Story-wise, that works too.
Leave the fallen player prone in the same space as the lion until her tick comes up. The lion is preventing the opponent from attacking the prone squishy.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

You'd still be able to attack the prone target if you wanted and were adjacent. You could as a GM assign some cover bonus to the attack, but they would still gain the +4 for being prone.


Yes. That makes sense.
I would think the full-attacking lion would be perceived as a bigger threat than the fallen human.

35 years ago I would have had the opponent attack the player without hesitation, but I am past that award-winning cruelty I had in my college years.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Depends.

I've seen a scenario with two full attacking large creates in a field, with a very dangerous caster in the back.

I can't count the number of parties that played that and nearly TPK because they fought the large creatures immune to the area effect damage being rained down on them. Instead of provoking and running around to the spellcasters, then dealing with the melee brutes afterwards.

If the prone threat is a danger, sometimes you ignore the lion.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unexpectedly in an illegal space All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.