
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Andrew Christian wrote:But if you CAN buy it, is that (and the skill) enough to let you brew it?You can't craft a poison unless you could buy it.
I don't believe so. You must be a poisoner rogue, alchemist or (per further forum discussion) investigator.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Additionally, except for specific examples
cited in this guide or the Pathfinder Society
FAQ, crafting of mundane items is not
allowed in Pathfinder Society.
The specific exception is that Alchemists and Poisoner Rogues with the Master Poisoner class ability may craft poisons
How do poisons work in Pathfinder Society Organized Play?
Any character with the Poison Use class ability can purchase and use poisons. For now, they are the only classes that have a list of “always available poisons” (those noted below)—no other class may purchase poisons unless they appear on a chronicle sheet. Alchemists, ninja, and poisoner rogues may only purchase the following poisons from the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook:Giant wasp poison
Large scorpion venom
Medium spider venom
Shadow essence
Small centipede poisonPaladins, per their code of conduct, may not use poisons, but they don’t necessarily view the use of poisons as an evil to be opposed—it’s simply something their code prohibits them from doing themselves.
Alchemists and rogues with the poisoner archetype and the Master Poisoner ability can use Craft (alchemy) to produce poisons (see "How can alchemists craft in Pathfinder Society Organized Play?").
I don't believe so. You must be a poisoner rogue, alchemist or (per further forum discussion) investigator.
Can I get a link to that? I don't remember Poisons coming up on that discussion, just alchemical items; Poisons in PFS fall under a separate rule.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Starglim wrote:I don't believe so. You must be a poisoner rogue, alchemist or (per further forum discussion) investigator.Can I get a link to that? I don't remember Poisons coming up on that discussion, just alchemical items; Poisons in PFS fall under a separate rule.
Fair point, it's a separate question and was specifically addressed (per blog, not the forum, my apologies).

![]() ![]() ![]() |

But they CAN brew those? Not just purchase them, but brew them themselves for half price?
Sorry, I was unclear. You can buy what's on your chronicle. Vishkanya cannot brew poisons unless they take class levels in something that allows them to do so. Their racial ability doesn't give them any benefit whatsoever that allows them to brew poisons.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

But they CAN brew those? Not just purchase them, but brew them themselves for half price?
(I could easily be wrong on the following)
No, "Vishkanya cannot brew poisons unless they take class levels in something that allows them to do so" - in other words "Alchemists and rogues with the poisoner archetype and the Master Poisoner ability" -
Now for the part I felt needed to be addressed.
If one is able to craft items in PFS (see above), Craft Alchemy allows the creation of alchemical items (and I would think poisons) at one third (1/3) cost, not one half (1/2).

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

The Toaster wrote:Hmmm...my Alchemist owes himself some money, in that case.
If one is able to craft items in PFS (see above), Craft Alchemy allows the creation of alchemical items (and I would think poisons) at one third (1/3) cost, not one half (1/2).
Perhaps he just made more stuff?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Is it 1/3rd rounded up, or down?
Also, he has several Chronicles where he got a lower Day Job roll result than he ought to have since he learned crafter's fortune (around level 2 or 3, and he's now level 7) - would it be kosher to give myself the extra money I should have gotten from them?
Nope - it would not be kosher.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Is it 1/3rd rounded up, or down?
It's a Craft check for a non-magical item, so the cost of materials is 1/3 the price of the item. Cost is paid in gold, silver and/or copper pieces. I'd round up any part of a gold piece, or better yet, craft three items of the same type so it works out exactly, but if you care how much silver and copper you have, you can make change.
Note that if you can't make the Craft DC by taking 10, there's a chance you'll lose the materials, so in that case your Craft checks would have to be witnessed by a GM.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I'm Hiding In Your Closet wrote:Is it 1/3rd rounded up, or down?It's a Craft check for a non-magical item, so the cost of materials is 1/3 the price of the item. Cost is paid in gold, silver and/or copper pieces. I'd round up any part of a gold piece, or better yet, craft three items of the same type so it works out exactly, but if you care how much silver and copper you have, you can make change.
Note that if you can't make the Craft DC by taking 10, there's a chance you'll lose the materials, so in that case your Craft checks would have to be witnessed by a GM.
though I have had some Judges rule that I can't take 10 on this check. "Distracted by the chance of failure..." and all that. So for them, I just craft those items I can get with a "Take 1".