Enlarge person rules question


Rules Questions


So I've looked around and can't seem to find any threads that have asked this before, but what happens when a Lapith under the effect of enlarge person changes into Centaur form? Does the spells effect fall off, stack with the transformation, or go dormant until you go back to normal assuming the spells duration is still in effect?

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Polymorph general rules:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell.

In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
VirtusMarik wrote:
So I've looked around and can't seem to find any threads that have asked this before, but what happens when a Lapith under the effect of enlarge person changes into Centaur form? Does the spells effect fall off, stack with the transformation, or go dormant until you go back to normal assuming the spells duration is still in effect?

Lapith are medium sized. They turn into a large sized creature. No size increases ever stack.

Here is what happens...
So, you are a medium lapith. You get enlarge person cast on you. You are now a large lapith. You decide to use your formshift ability and become a cetaur. You are still large, and your enlarge person is suppressed but still active. Enlarge person's duration is still ticking. If before its duration ends you change back into the lapith form, you will be large due to enlarge person reactivating.


Sapphire Onion wrote:

Polymorph general rules:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell.

In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

How does this affect things when someone chucks, say, Baneful Polymorph at you while you're under another polymorph? Or when your sorcerer rezaps you with Enlarge Person afterwards?

Scarab Sages

Qaianna wrote:
Sapphire Onion wrote:

Polymorph general rules:

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell.

In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell."

How does this affect things when someone chucks, say, Baneful Polymorph at you while you're under another polymorph? Or when your sorcerer rezaps you with Enlarge Person afterwards?

This happens, from Baleful Polymorph...

"Any polymorph effects on the target are automatically dispelled when a target fails to resist the effects of baleful polymorph, and as long as baleful polymorph remains in effect, the target cannot use other polymorph spells or effects to assume a new form."

Enlarge Person is not a polymorph spell, and so does stack with polymorph spells. It only does not stack with any size increases. And, it says, 'other spells that change your size'. Thus, if the polymorph does not change your size then a size change spell will work on you.

If the polymorph changes your size at all, bigger or small, then any size changing effect will not work on you.


Thanks for the replies, was thinking it would be suppressed and just wanted to make sure.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge person rules question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.