Battle Host Occultist With Butterfly Swords?


Rules Questions


Since Butterfly Swords come in pairs, how does that work with a Battle Host's Panoply Bond? Does a Battle Host have to pick which sword he is bonded with, or is he bonded with both? If he is bonded with both, does that mean that he suffers if he is not weilding both at the same time?

Scarab Sages

You can wield both butterfly swords as a single weapon in one hand, so it should be fine to join them if you needed your other hand for something.

That said, it's technically two items, not one, so I don't think it's a valid choice for Panoply Bond.


The description suggests to me that, although they are sold in pairs and can be drawn as a single weapon, each sword is actually a separate weapon and is treated as such for other purposes.

Quote:

These short matching swords come in pairs, cleverly nested together to appear as a single blade. Both weapons can be drawn at the same time, and they can be separated as a free action and wielded in both hands to make wickedly effective chops and slashes.

...

If you add magical enhancement bonuses or properties to a butterfly sword, treat each sword in the pair as a separate weapon (for example, adding a +1 magical enhancement bonus to a pair of masterwork butterfly swords costs 4,000 gp).

So I would say you pick one to be your bonded item.


Imbicatus wrote:

You can wield both butterfly swords as a single weapon in one hand, so it should be fine to join them if you needed your other hand for something.

That said, it's technically two items, not one, so I don't think it's a valid choice for Panoply Bond.

You only get one weapon for free, so that could be a problem. Perhaps you could just get one with Panolpy Bond, but pay to have a matching one made.


Alas, it does seem that I would be better off just choosing my armor as my bond. The rules get too complicated otherwise. Thank you everyone.


For (non magic) purchasing purposes butterfly swords are essentially one item, they are only sold as a paired item and you don't even need to pay separately to have them both masterwork.

I'd say you get the pair, but only one becomes bonded.

I know it's unfair, like choosing your favourite offspring...

If it were my game, I'd let you bond to the pair and split your implement and focus between the two.


Nohwear wrote:
Alas, it does seem that I would be better off just choosing my armor as my bond. The rules get too complicated otherwise. Thank you everyone.

Having a single hands-free Implement is really nice.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Battle Host Occultist With Butterfly Swords? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions