Threatened Space & Wielding Two Weapons versus Attacking with Two Weapons


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

So, here's a question; there are one-handed weapons which threaten outside of 5 ft. For example, scorpion-whips and nets in the hands of net adepts.

Now, I am wondering, if I were using a regular one-handed weapon without reach in one hand and another one-handed weapon in the other hand... What happens? Can I make attacks of opportunity with a weapon that I have been holding back and do those attack of opportunities threaten the full reach of the off-hand weapon?

  • I am wielding and attacking with any one-handed weapon in my main hand and simply wielding and not attacking with a scorpion whip or a net (with Net Adept feat) in my off-hand. I have not made any two-weapon attacks.

Does this mean;

  • 1. Because I intend to use it to make attacks of opportunity (in other words, I have it ready to strike), I still take penalties for two-weapon fighting as normal. I threaten the space within it's reach for that weapon. (TWF penalty, 10 ft threatened space)

  • 2. Because I have not attacked with it yet, I don't take penalties for two-weapon fighting. But because I haven't used a ready action, I'd have to spend an action to 'draw' it, which negates the possibility of an attack of opportunity. (No TWF penalty, no AoO with off-hand)

  • 3. I don't take penalties and I do threaten the space in the reach of that weapon. (No TWF, 10 ft threatened space)

  • 4. I take penalties for having my off-hand occupied, but I don't threaten the space around me either, because I'm holding back.(TWF penalty, no AoO with off-hand)

What do you think...?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

3. 2 weapon fighting rules only apply in your round when you gain an extra attack. It has no language stating that the penalties last until your next turn, as compared to say Power Attack.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

3 - No penalties and you threaten.

TWF penalties do not apply to AoO. Only to attacks made with two weapons during a full attack action on your turn.

Threat only requires the ability to attack... which you have when you've got the weapon in hand.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

1) If you only attack with one weapon, you don't take TWF even if you have another weapon in the other hand.

2) If you are holding it, you don't need to draw it.

3) Yes

4) Don't take the penalties.

Your #3 is the best fit.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You only take TWF penalties when you make a full attack and make more attacks than normally allowed by your BAB. Attacks of opportunity have nothing to do with that.

It is worth noting though that you can use a weapon that doesn't threaten at that range to make the attack of opportunity. I.e. the whip threatens at 10+ ft, you can't use the longsword in your other hand to hit someone during the AoO unless they provoke within 5ft.

Grand Lodge

I think this FAQ may help answer your question

So, wielding two weapons imposes no penalties on attacks, until and unless you use them to get attacks above-and-beyond what your BAB would allow.

Wielding two weapons, whether you attacked with only one of them during your turn, or both of them, would allow you to take an AoO with either weapon, as long as the AoO is provoked in the area threatened by that weapon.

For example:
I have a fighter with two polearms, one medium and one small. As a medium sized character, he can wield either one and threaten the non-adjacent squares, albeit at a -2 penalty to hit with the small sized polearm. Because of the way the rules work, however, the small sized polearm becomes a one-handed weapon for him, so he can also pull out a rapier in his other hand, allowing him to threaten the adjacent squares, as well.

During his turn, he could make his attacks with either or both weapons, as long as he made no more attacks than his BAB allows. Also, because the rules allow it, he could start with a polearm trip, 5' step adjacent, and continue his attacks on his prone opponent with the rapier.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Threatened Space & Wielding Two Weapons versus Attacking with Two Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions