Reveal effect and card type limit


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Just wan to check out some questions.
If you reveal a card. For example an ally and use a reveal efect From that ally, you can not play another ally.

But if a character card has a power that is activated by revealing an ally, does that count?
So in this case you use your character ability first by revealing an ally and then use ally card to give its own bonus in the same check?

Same with recharge abilities, I supose.

The next question, if above is right. How many times you can use different abilities/powers From character card to one check. Ones or unlimited times?

Then one hypothetical question. Lets say that you have for example an item, a spell, character card, a weapon, a blessing etc. That all requires you to reveal spesific card type (for example an ally) Can you use the same ally to all cards to power them in the same check and even then use that allys own power, If it is relevant to that check?

Just asking these to see what "one card per type per check" really means...


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Hannibal_pjv wrote:

So in this case you use your character ability first by revealing an ally and then use ally card to give its own bonus in the same check?

Correct.

Hannibal_pjv wrote:
Same with recharge abilities, I supose.

I don't see how it could be the same with recharge - once you recharge the ally for the hero's power, you obviously can't recharge it anymore for its own power, and vice versa.

Hannibal_pjv wrote:
The next question, if above is right. How many times you can use different abilities/powers From character card to one check. Ones or unlimited times?

Once, unless the power is triggered by conditions, that happen multiple times. For example, if you have a power "When characters play blessings on your Melee check, add d12 instead of the normal die" and 4 characters play blessings on your check - then that power will apply 4 times.

Hannibal_pjv wrote:
Lets say that you have for example an item, a spell, character card, a weapon, a blessing etc. That all requires you to reveal spesific card type (for example an ally) Can you use the same ally to all cards to power them in the same check and even then use that allys own power, If it is relevant to that check?

Yes, because by revealing the ally you're playing the power of that other card, not the ally itself.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

If I read correctly your ansver. If you have two different powers that can be used in the same check in you character card, you have to chose one?
For example. If character cards have power a. Discard a weapon to add d4 to your check and power b. Recharge an ally to add d4 to your check, you can not use both, because They come From the same card?
Are you sure? Because Many characters have melee skill, and a power that ads dies to the combat check. Or is the limit only for powers, not the skills?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Hannibal_pjv wrote:

If I read correctly your ansver. If you have two different powers that can be used in the same check in you character card, you have to chose one?

For example. If character cards have power a. Discard a weapon to add d4 to your check and power b. Recharge an ally to add d4 to your check, you can not use both, because They come From the same card?
Are you sure? Because Many characters have melee skill, and a power that ads dies to the combat check. Or is the limit only for powers, not the skills?

The limit is only to powers, not skills, but the limit is ONCE PER POWER, not ONE POWER PER CHECK.

Normally, you can play any power once per check, never mind that they technically come from the same "card" (your Hero card); in this regard, you may imagine that each of your character powers is printed on a different card in your hand, if that makes it easier. So for your example - yes, you can play both of those powers to add 2d4, but you can't, for example, recharge 2 allies to add 2d4.

I'm sure someone will soon swoop by with the relevant Rulebook quotes also :)


Using a card to power another card or a character power is not playing the card and does not count towards the limit of cards you can play.

Wrath Rulebook p.9 wrote:
Playing a card means using a power on that card by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card or by performing another action specified by that card.

So if you have a non-ally card which requires you to reveal an ally to use the non-ally card's power, you can still play that ally card on the same check.

Regarding character cards -- using a power on a character card is not considered to be playing the character card. You can use any number of character powers on a check, but only use a power once per check, unless it is triggered by an event.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game, Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Longshot11 wrote:

The limit is only to powers, not skills, but the limit is ONCE PER POWER, not ONE POWER PER CHECK.

Normally, you can play any power once per check, never mind that they technically come from the same "card" (your Hero card); in this regard, you may imagine that each of your character powers is printed on a different card in your hand, if that makes it easier. So for your example - yes, you can play both of those powers to add 2d4, but you can't, for example, recharge 2 allies to add 4d4.

I'm sure someone will soon swoop by with the relevant Rulebook quotes also :)

The only time you can use a power like you mentioned is when it says something like "for each ally you recharge, you add 2d4". In that case, the power can be activated multiple time.

And like elcoderdude mentioned above, don't think of using powers on a character or role card as counting towards the limit of card types played. You may use as many powers on your character and/or role card as you have the ability to. And you may only use the same power multiple times on a check if the power allows you to. (As I mentioned in the paragraph above.)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Ok. Many thanks!


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Theryon Stormrune wrote:

....

The only time you can use a power like you mentioned is when it says something like "for each ally you recharge, you add 2d4". In that case, the power can be activated multiple time.....

Hi Theryon,

I fully agree, but I would rather say it this say IMHO :

Actually you can only use ONCE any power, but in your example, it's that ONE usage that clearly involves multiple recharge.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Reveal effect and card type limit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion