Wizard (Exploiter archetyle) Arcanist to Occultist archetype?


Rules Questions


So, I've got this player.... I love him, partially because he spends so much time in the rule books that he comes up with some really awesome ideas. Here's his latest pitch:

He wants to build a wizard, with the exploiter archetyle, so that he can take arcane knacks to then access the Occultist archetype of Arcanist, so that he can have Conjurer's Focus for spontaneous summoning while maintaining his Wizard spell progression.

Now, this guy is either brilliant and has found an awesome loophole in the rules.... or I'm missing something very, very important here.

Silver Crusade Contributor

An arcanist archetype is an arcanist archetype, whether you can trade out all the right things or not.

Is his class arcanist? If not, then he can't take an arcanist archetype (barring houseruling on your part).

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can only take a class archetype if you are of that class.

Period. Full stop.

This? This right here is munchkin.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Furthermore, abilities that allow you to take a class feature of a given class do not extend to the abilities of archetypes of that class, even if they do quack like a duck.


I agree. Conjurer's Focus is a class ability, but not an exploit, and hence the exploiter archetype doesn't grant access to it.


Yeah, your player either doesn't understand the rules or is trying to pull a fast one on you because nothing about that idea is even close to working legally.


He can play a Wizard with the Exploiter archetype, or an Arcanist with the Occultist archetype. He cannot play a Wizard with an Arcanist archetype.

So basically as everyone else has said, this isn't even a loophole, it just flat out doesn't work.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard (Exploiter archetyle) Arcanist to Occultist archetype? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.