Scions of the Sky Key Question--Blade of the Open Road


Pathfinder Society


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Blade of the open road:

Blades of the open road are longswords specifically crafted to strike against the Aspis Consortium. A lesser blade of the open road is a +1 longsword with a Glyph of the Open Road stamped into its hilt. A blade of the open road is a +1 Aspis bane longsword. Against agents of the Aspis Consortium and creatures directly employed by the Aspis Consortium, the weapon’s enhancement bonus is 2 higher than its actual bonus, and the weapon deals an extra 2d6 points of damage. A greater blade of the open road has all of the properties of a blade of the open road and gains the ominous and heartseeker weapon special abilities against Aspis Consortium agents and the Consortium’s employees.

Any wayfinder the wielder carries grants a +2 circumstance bonus on all Survival checks, not just checks to avoid becoming lost. A blade of the open road and greater blade of the open road increase this bonus to +4 or +6, respectively. Between scenarios, the wielder can enhance a lesser blade of the open road to become a blade of the open road and later into a greater blade of the open road by paying the difference in price between the two items.

So I GMed Scions of the Sky key and applied the GM credit to a tier 1-2 character, so I had the lesser blade of the open road on my chronicle sheet, with the blade of the open road crossed off. This character is in the Exchange, so I want to eventually buy the lesser blade with the faction card discount.

If I later on, in between scenarios, upgrade the blade, does it count as buying something on a chronicle sheet for the faction card discount? I ask because the regular blade is crossed off and technically not on my chronicle sheet, but the text that says I can upgrade IS on the chronicle sheet.

5/5

Looking at the Qadira trade prince vanity in the FAQ. Upgrading an item is not a purchase.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

Can you even buy the regular blade, if its crossed off on the chronicle sheet? It's not available through any other route than via that chronicle.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Brian Lefebvre wrote:
Looking at the Qadira trade prince vanity in the FAQ. Upgrading an item is not a purchase.

Thanks!

Ascalaphus wrote:
Can you even buy the regular blade, if its crossed off on the chronicle sheet? It's not available through any other route than via that chronicle.

Well, on the chronicle sheet it says: "Between scenarios, the wielder can enhance a lesser blade of the open road to become a blade of the open road and later into a greater blade of the open road by paying the difference in price between the two items."

It seems I should be able to buy the lesser blade and then enhance it in between scenarios, no?

Scarab Sages

mbauers wrote:
Brian Lefebvre wrote:
Looking at the Qadira trade prince vanity in the FAQ. Upgrading an item is not a purchase.

Thanks!

Ascalaphus wrote:
Can you even buy the regular blade, if its crossed off on the chronicle sheet? It's not available through any other route than via that chronicle.

Well, on the chronicle sheet it says: "Between scenarios, the wielder can enhance a lesser blade of the open road to become a blade of the open road and later into a greater blade of the open road by paying the difference in price between the two items."

It seems I should be able to buy the lesser blade and then enhance it in between scenarios, no?

You are correct. You need not buy the greater sword over the lesser, you can build up to it.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

Just checked out the Chronicle sheet and the FAQ. There's two different issues here:

1) Normally you wouldn't be able to buy something from a chronicle sheet that's been crossed out (like the 'medium' blade). And the block of text for such an item normally only describes what the item does, while the tier blocks on the bottom describe how you can buy it.

However, this sheet talks about upgrading even unto a Greater blade, which is not available in any other way, and is also not listed in the subtiers. This leads me to conclude that in this case the intent is that you can freely upgrade from Lesser to normal and eventually Greater.

2) Uprading an item is not the same as buying an item. Any discounts you have related specifically to buying something do not apply to upgrades. This includes the Exchange faction journal award.

FAQ wrote:

How does "Master of Trade" prestige award actually work?

The wording of the vanity indicates that the discount only applies towards purchases, which would not include upgrading items. As an example you buy a +2 mithral breastplate in a single purchase you get the disount on the full cost of the item. If you bought a non-magical mithral breastplate with the discount. You would have to pay the full 1000gp difference of upgrading it to a +1 item.

Master of Trade wrote:

Master of Trade (Fame 20, 4 PP)

Using faction contacts and mercantile experience, you can always get yourself
the best deal when buying goods. Once per game session,
you may make any single purchase you could normally
make at a 10% discount. This discount is not available on
spellcasting services or material components.

The same logic should apply to the Faction Journal awards:

Exchange Faction Journal wrote:

INVESTOR (2+ goals): Once per game session, you may purchase an item found on one of

your Chronicle sheets at a 5% discount (maximum 15% discount).

Going with the conservative reading, you're allowed to buy a Lesser blade off the chronicle and then upgrade it to normal and Greater. But because the normal blade is crossed out, you can't buy that directly (and save money). You have to get it through upgrading.

---

P.S. I'm still surprised this topic wasn't about the pricing weirdness on the medium blade.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thanks for your helpful replies! Yeah, the medium blade seems way overpriced. It's not like you fight THAT many Aspis consortium enemies.

I'm trying to see if it's worth it, though, because my character uses Survival for Day Job checks. A static +4 would be nice.

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden aka Ascalaphus

Most likely the medium price is a mistake; there's occasional murmurs to have it fixed.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Scions of the Sky Key Question--Blade of the Open Road All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society